News Articles – 1944

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 21, 1944
Carl J. Josenhans, 60, veteran civil engineer, died at the Bulluck Hospital in Wilmington. He designed the Carolina Beach highway bridge across that section of the Intracoastal Waterway known as Snow‘s Cut. WILM.STAR, 1-22-1944.

 

January 25, 1944
A ground-breaking ceremony was held for the Carolina Beach Baptist Church. The Robinson Brothers, Inc., of Asheville, started construction on the $13,750 building which was to be constructed of cinder block veneer, 87 1⁄2 feet by 37 feet, with a seating capacity of 300. WILM.STAR, 1-26-1944.

 

February 17, 1944
E.A. Reynolds, realtor and operator of a bowling alley, was appointed to the board of aldermen of Carolina Beach to succeed C. M. Kelley at a special meeting. Kelley resigned his position as alderman, effective January 31st, because of ‘press of other business.’ He was aldermen in charge of water and sewer department. WILM.NEWS, 2-18-1944.

 

March 18, 1944
Private Miller has started pilot training at Keesler Field, Biloxi, Mississippi. He recently spent a furlough with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. L.V. Miller. Private Miller has been in the service two years, stationed at Curacao, N.W.I. WILM.STAR, 3-18-1944

 

March 24, 1944
Three Floors of the Bon Air apartment house, on the northern extension of Carolina Beach, were destroyed by fire. With an estimated damage to be $8,000. The blaze was started by an oil stove explosion on the second floor of the building. The lower floor of the building was damaged by water. Fire Chief R.H. Byrd, Sr., of Carolina Beach, called out the Fort Fisher department to help fight the blaze. WILM.STAR, 3-26-1944.

 

March 24, 1944
The $49,135 sewer project at Carolina Beach was completed. It was announced by C.F. Churchill, the Federal Works Agency engineer. The work consisted of completing the sewer system started by the WPA in 1942. It was necessary in the job, which started October 11, 1943, to complete sewer mains, house connections, and the pumping station on the northern end of the beach. The project was completed with town funds and a grant from the Federal Works Agency for $30,431. WILM.STAR, 3-18-1944.

 

May 31, 1944
A city-owned fire bell was to soon call members of the Carolina Beach Baptist Church to services. The bell weighed 450 pounds and was in the fire house tower at Fifth and Castle Streets, Wilmington, and had not been used for years. The church is responsible for removing the bell from the tower under the supervision of the city engineer. WILM.NEWS, 5-31-1944.

 

June 7, 1944
Nancy Leiner, head lifeguard at Carolina Beach, was attending the 23rd session of the National Aquatic School of the American Red Cross at Camp Carolina, Brevard, N.C. Miss Leiner was sent for the additional training by the local chapter of the Red Cross. The session ended June 17th. WILM.NEWS, 6-5-1944.

 

July 10, 1944
Real Estate Transfer: C.B. Parmele to J.W. Thornburg, lot 13, block 71, Carolina Beach. WILM.NEWS, 7-11-1944.

 

July 14, 1944
Leslie Boney, architect, announced that application had been made to the War Production Board for a priority for critical materials to construct a $5,000 Presbyterian Chapel at Carolina Beach. The Church committee contemplated building a 30 by 60 feet cinder-block structure. The one-storied building was to contain an auditorium and two classrooms. 7-13-1944. WILM.NEWS, 7-14-1944.

 

July 24, 1944 …. Carolina Beach
Leslie Boney, architect, announced that private owners were contemplating construction of a 3-storied cinder- block apartment building. The building, which was to contain six 3-room apartments, was to be built at a cost of about $6,500. The owners were E.S. Williams, of Wallace, N.C., and George F. MacMillan, of Greensboro, N.C. WILM.NEWS, 7-24-1944.

 

August 1-3, 1944 …. Fort Fisher, Kure Beach
The commanding officer of the Fort Fisher army base announced that 90mm. anti-aircraft shot problems would be held between 1 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. target practice. The danger areas were 20,000 seaward, from Masonboro Inlet to Cape Fear, the maximum ordinate being 40,000 yards. All concerned were cautioned to remain within the safety limits. WILM.NEWS, 7-25-1944.

 

August 2, 1944
Carolina Beach Chief of Police Bruce Valentine issued a warning to all sight-seers to stay away from the beach, and that all persons entering the beach would be required to have a pass proving residence on the beach. He took this action as sight-seers and curiosity seekers hindered the clean-up work (from the hurricane of August 1st) by causing unnecessary congestion and confusion. The possibility of looting was another factor involved. WILM.STAR, 8-3-1944.

 

August 14, 1944
W.G. Fountain, Mayor Pro-tem, Carolina Beach, announced that the 1944-45 fiscal year budget would total $47,652.60. The largest single item was the police dept. budget set at $14,135. WILM.STAR, 8-15-1944.

 

August 20, 1944
The first services at the new Carolina Beach Baptist Church, which had been under construction since January 25th of this year, were conducted. today. The church was organized approximately four years earlier and services were formerly held twice a month in the Carolina Beach Community Church. Since work began on the new building, services had been held each Sunday in the City Hall.
The building, costing about $30,000, was a colonial-type structure with a capacity seating of 300 persons. It was built of cinder block with brick veneer. The Rev. L. E. Ludlum was pastor of the church. WILM.STAR, 8-20-1944.

 

October 31, 1944
Carolina Beach received $20,653.85 from the Federal Works Agency for the second payment for the replacement of boardwalks and resurfacing of streets damaged by the hurricane on August 1st. The first payment from the agency, $8,325, was received September 28th. The project is expected to cost $33,300. C.F. Churchill was the FWA representative. WILM.STAR, 11-1-1944.

 

December 13, 1944
Lucy M. Witherspoon died. Age 64 years. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

 

December 30, 1944
The finishing touches to repairs of damages to Carolina Beach inflicted by last August‘s hurricane were applied recently, when city workers completed the restoration of broken sewerage fixtures. Town Clerk Henry G. Fennell announced the end of the work, which was started on September 19th. It involved $33,000 in Federal Funds, granted August 28th, and dispensed under the supervision of Federal Works Agency officials. (RWA) WILM.STAR, 12-30-1944.

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1945

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 14, 1945
James Hayes, manager of Hotel Royal Palm at Carolina Beach, was critically injured about 4 o‘clock Sunday morning when he fell down the ?-foot elevator shaft of the hotel , breaking his back in two places, his left arm, receiving deep laceration over right eye and being paralyzed in the right side.

Police Officer Clayton Faulk said that the accident occurred as Hayes, without knowledge that the elevator was on the third floor, unlocked the lobby entrance to the elevator to carry two Marines to an upper floor, stepped sideways and fell into the basement shaft.

Hayes, who was unconscious when police arrived, was removed to the lobby by the two Marines, assisted by three other military men. He was carried to James Walker Memorial Hospital by Officer Faulk upon Dr. S.R. Jordan‘s advice. His condition was later disclosed as satisfactory.

Hayes was a native of Ohio and became manager of the hotel in the spring of 1944. WILM.POST, 1-15-1945

 

January 27, 1945
The general news from Carolina Beach was as follows:

  • The Western Union reopened after two weeks due to a shortage of operators. Mrs. Eunice Grishaber accepted the managership and resumed operation.
  • Mr. and Mrs. Warren K. Pennington, Sr., were notified recently that their son, Pfc. Warren K. Pennington, Jr., was missing in action somewhere in France. He was with Patton‘s Third Army, serving as automatic rifleman. Prior to this he had been wounded and had resumed his duties in the line of service. He was the only child. His father was the genial proprietor of the Pennington Flying Service at Carolina Beach. There were thoughts of starting a businessman‘s club at the beach.
  • Mr. and Mrs. A.J. Kraus had returned from a trip to Florida.
    The First Baptist Church had just completed their new building located on the highway entering the beach. Their finishing project was the installation of a hot air coal stoker. The cost of the church was estimated at $31,000.
  • The Carolina Beach police dept. had added E.L. Marshburn, formerly of the Ethyl-Dow plant, to its staff. Clayton C. Faulk and J.W. Millinor, former policemen, left for induction in the service. Faulk to the navy, and Millinor to the army.
  • James L. Longworth, manager of the Wave theatre, returned from a vacation in his home town, Winston-Salem. R.G. Westbrook was acting manager during his absence.
  • Mrs. R.C. Fergus had recently returned from her vacation in Mexico City.
  • A.S. Grady had been appointed justice of the peace for Federal Point township by Gov. Gregg Cherry for a 4-year term. He was an old resident and retired lawyer.  WILM.POST 1-27-1945

 

February, 1945
The Carolina Beach police force reported an active month of January with 21 arrests. The fines collected for the month were $41. The fire department reported only one fire during the same month, at 11th avenue and Canal Drive. Chief of Police Bruce Valentine issued an order that all dogs which had not been vaccinated or do not have city tags would be picked up. Dr. Huffman from Wilmington was to come to the beach to vaccinate dogs at the city hall on February 14th.

Personal Items:

  • Mrs. C.L. Snipes returned from Florida where she spent a 3-weeks‘ vacation.
  • Mr. and Mrs. T.E. Blanton were the proud parents of a new 8 1⁄4 pound boy born on February 3rd at their home on the beach.
  • Mrs. F.L. Ludwig and daughter, Ramona, were visiting in Atlanta, Ga. And were expected home this weekend.
  • Pfc. and Mrs. Floyd R. Swagerty returned from Texas and New Mexico where they spent their honeymoon. Mrs. Swagerty was the former Miss Dora Frances Brown, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. J.S. Brown, of Carolina Beach. Pfc. Swagerty returned to Fort Jackson, S.C. where he was stationed.
  • D.M. Greer, ex-fire chief, was admitted to a Wilmington hospital with pneumonia recently.
  • The condition of E.E. Jordan was improving after several days‘ confinement at his home with influenza. WILM. POST, 2-10-1945.

 

February 3, 1945
The general news from Carolina Beach was as follows:

  • The traffic lights had been turned on indicating the beginning of an early season.
  • Miss Helen Johnson, former employee of the beach post office, had accepted a position with the Hyman Supply Company in Wilmington.
  • QM 3-C Robert J. Robinson, son of Mr. and Mrs. C.E. Robinson, was home on a 30-day furlough. He had been serving on an escort vessel in the European theatre for 14 months. He was awaiting reassignment.
  • Mrs. Florence Jean Fields was transferred on Jan.26th from the post office at Carolina Beach to the Wilmington office. She was the daughter of Dr. and Mrs. S.R. Jordan of the beach.
  • Mrs. A.P. Peay, wife of the beach mayor, was a patient in James Walker Memorial Hospital.
  • Miss Janie Newton, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. J.E. Newton, was married January 22, 1945 in the naval chapel in San Francisco, to S 1-C George Henniker, Jr., of Wilmington.
  • Beginning February 3, 1945 every dog owner on the beach will be required to buy a license and have his dog vaccinated. Carolina Beach was to have a dog catcher.
  • The Teen-Age Club of Carolina Beach met January 31st at the City Hall. Miss Marie Williams was president.
  • The Pennington Flying Service had two students to solo. They were Hugh Kelley of Carolina Beach, and H.E. Louder of Maffitt Village, formerly of Carolina Beach.
  • Jim Longworth, manager of the Wave Theatre, thanked his patrons for their cooperation in the March of Dimes campaign. WILM.POST, 2-3-1945.

 

 

February 12, 1945
Construction of a new Presbyterian church in the downtown area of Carolina Beach was begun. The building materials had been ordered and work was to begin as soon as they arrived. John McLeod, student at the Union Theological Seminary, Richmond, Va., preached for the Carolina Beach congregation in the Methodist church building. WILM.STAR, 2-9-1945.

 

 

February 16, 1945
LOCAL MISC. NEWS —-

  • Cpl. J.W. Sanderson, USMC, was in town on a 10-day furlough from Cherry Point.
  • Mrs. W.E. Creech spent a few days at her home in Whiteville.
  • Mrs. George R. Sifritt left for San Francisco to join her husband, Lieut. Sifritt, Army Air Force, who had just returned from overseas duty in the Pacific. She was the former Miss Mavis Murrell of Carolina Beach.
  • Cpl. Bill MacDonald, Air Force gunner, after a 13-day furlough at Carolina Beach, reported back to his station in Tampa, Fla.
  • Mrs. W.F. Posey went to High Point to visit her mother, Mrs. G.C. Caldwell.
  • Mrs. Neil Kelly, Jr., joined her husband in Sanford, Fla. Ensign Kelly was with the Navy Air Force and Mrs. Kelly was the former Miss Charlotte Hinnant, who had worked at the beach post office.
  • Mrs. James P. Walton visited her mother in Norfolk, Va.
  • Mason Greer was recuperating from pneumonia.
  • James Hayes, manager of the Royal Palm Hotel, who was hurt in an accident there on Jan. 14, was in fair condition at a Wilmington hospital. WILM.POST, 2-16-1945.

 

February 16, 1945
Carolina Beach was preparing for a big summer despite the war and its travel curb. George B. Applewhite, a veteran real estate man, predicted a good season from the continued fresh painting and repairing which was going on at the beach. James Longworth, manager of the WAVE theatre, was preparing for the new season. He was boasting that his theater had collected $179 for the March of Dimes by means of the Boy Scout collections, and he also assisted in the War Bond drive. Another sign of warmer weather approaching, was the beautification of the Baptist and Methodist Churches. They were planting new shrubs and bushes, grass and flowers. WILM.POST, 2-26-1945.

 

February 28, 1945
Fifty-four sets of bids, most of them by Wilmingtonians, for the buildings on the Carolina Beach Recreation Area, the first military camp of any size to be declared surplus and offered for sale in North Carolina, were opened in the office of Walter F. Williams, project manager, in Raleigh.

Williams said it would be several days before a list of successful bidders could be drawn up. It was explained that the 141 structures on the area to be sold would have to be moved by the buyer, as the land does not belong to the government. Among the structures for sale was gas stations, storehouses, post exchange, administration building, headquarters building and guard house.

The Carolina Beach area was originally set up and constructed for a recreation area for troops and later used as quarters for a combat team. WILM.STAR, 3-1-1945; 2-13-1945

 

March 1, 1945
A new fire engine, equipped with a 750-gallon-a-minute pumper, manufactured by the American LaFrance Fire Engine Company, was delivered to Carolina Beach. It was delayed due to war orders. WILM.POST, 1-27-1945.

 

March 23, 1945
The recently completed All Saints Episcopal Church at Carolina Beach was to be used for the first time on the next Sunday morning. The land for the new building, located on Canal Drive, was given by Mrs. Etha L. Murrin. The structure was a combination church and parish building. The frame was covered with oyster white asbestos shingles and the interior was finished in cream buff masonite walls. Fred W. Smiley was the contractor and Paul Stone was the builder. WILM.POST, 3-23-1945.

 

March 25, 1945
The All Saints‘ Episcopal Church, recently completed at Carolina Beach, was used for the first time with the opening service including celebration of the Holy Communion and sermon by the Rev. Thomas P. Noe.
Land for the new building, located on Canal Drive, was given by Mrs. Etha L. Murrin. The erection of the edifice was made possible by gifts from church organizations. The structure is a combination church and parish building. The frame is covered with oyster white asbestos shingles and the interior is finished in cream buff masonite walls. Fred W. Smiley was the contractor and Paul Stone was the builder.
Episcopal church services have been held at Carolina Beach for several years. The first was in the Community Church building and for several months they have been conducted in the Baptist church building. WILM.STAR, 3-23-1945.

 

March 25, 1945
Father Michael J. Begley, rector of the Immaculate Conception Church at Carolina Beach was the main speaker at the monthly meeting of the Carolina Beach Civitan Club. He shared a number of humorous stories and added new definitions to some old ones.
Tom Benge and his ukulele provided a brief musical interlude. Cameron Sinclair was welcomed as a new member. C.G. Vanlandingham, the newly-elected president of club presided at the meeting. Mike Hall, the outgoing and charger president of the club, was presented with a watch as a token of appreciation of his services during the club‘s first year. WILM.STAR,

 

April 1, 1945
The third annual Easter sunrise service was held at Carolina Beach at 7 a.m. The service was held on the boardwalk at the end of Harper Avenue. There was a choir of 50 voices under the direction of Mrs. A.C. Cole. The ministers participating were: Rev. Paul Carruth, Rev. Thomas P. Noe, Rev. H.J. Wilson, Rev. Lewis E. Ludlum. Other participants were C.F. Johnson and Mrs. J. Homer Lingle, and Rev. James B. McQuere, chairman of the program committee. WILM.POST, 3-30-1945.

 

July 7, 1945
William S. Thompson died. Born 3-13-1882. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

 

September 15th, 1945
Stepin‘ Fetchit, a black comedian from Hollywood appeared in person at the Carolina Beach Auditorium. In the same shows was Frank Humphries and His Trumpet and Orchestra, and Sammy Price, the world‘s best Boogie- Woogie Pianist, and Laura Horne, the screen‘s latest sensation. The show was sponsored by the Booster‘s Club. WILM.NEWS, 9-13-1945.

 

August 18, 1945
Sam L. Morton, Jr. son of Mr. and Mrs. S.L. Morton, died. Born August 15, 1945. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

 

July 25, 1945  
E.V. Leonard had been named chief of police at Carolina Beach. SPP 7-26-95.

 

September 18, 1945 …. Kure Beach
A $20,000 commercial building, now under construction at Kure‘s Beach, is expected to be opened on November 1st by Lewis Weinberg, of Wilmington. The one-story structure will house a drug store and sandwich shop, and a market and tackle shop, and a spacious auditorium for bingo, dancing and private parties. Of concrete and steel construction, the structure is being erected by the Home Builders Company of Wilmington. It is 60 by 80 feet in size. WILM.NEWS, 9-18-1945.

 

October 3, 1945
Mike Soulias, 68, a Carolina Beach merchant, died after a short illness. He was a member of the Greek Orthodox Church and his remains were sent to Port Huron, Michigan, for interment. He was survived only by a niece, Mrs. Mary Manis, of Port Huron. WILM.POST, 10-4-1945.

 

October 19, 1945
With the sounds of hammers and saws it was convincing that Carolina Beach was setting a fast post-war pace for itself. Mayor W.G. Fountain, owner of the 70-room Royal Palm Hotel, was busy adding a 4-story brick 50-room annex to his hotel. He boasted that he already had had a grand season, the greatest in the history of his hotel, and he was preparing for another even grander season. T.A. Croom, the mayor pro-tem, said other buildings will go up here faster than you can count them. The town was starting work on street work in the Northern Extension preparatory to the opening of a large real estate development. WILM.POST, 10-19-1945.

 

November 9, 1945
Carolina Beach Real Estate Transfers:

  • J.E.D.Clark, et ux, lot 1-8, Wilmington Beach
  • Wilmington Savings & Trust Co., Tr., to Annie L. Harriss, Pt.7-A, Carolina Beach.
  • W.L. Farmer, et ux, to D. Carl Winner, lot 4-81, Carolina Beach; lot on St. Joseph Street, Carolina Beach, lot 3, Moore property, Carolina Beach, lot 4, Efird property, Carolina Beach.
  • J.E.D. Clark, et ux, to Carl A. Pfofl, et ux, lot 22-15, Sec. A., Fort Fisher Sea Beach…WILM.NEWS 11-9-1945.

 

November 15, 1945
The Grove Park Tea Room re-opened on Carolina Beach Road at Snow‘s Cut. They announced the addition of a new modern Oyster Roast. WILM.NEWS, 11-16-1945.

 

December 7, 1945
Boy Scout leaders who attended the recent training course will have an outing tonight at Camp Carobee, Carolina Beach. Troop 21 Scouts under the leadership of Scoutmaster J.M. Thomas, will set up a demonstration camp. Other Scouters will pitch tents and ditch them, make camp gadgets and cook supper. Scouters expected to attend included Bob Howard, J.M. Thomas, Courtland Baker, Carroll Tinsley, Joe Barnes, C.W. Smith, W.G. Winn, Thurston Davis, J.B. Harris, Jack Craig, C.W. Garrett, J.V. Stanley, F.M. Southerland, E.M. McEachern, Sammy Jolly, G.E. Goodkoontz, B.L. Prince, John Conway and E.Z. Blanton.  WILM.POST, 12-7-1945.

 

December 9, 1945
The cornerstone of the Carolina Beach Presbyterian Church was laid. The structure, now under construction, was designed by Leslie N. Boney, of Wilmington. Work was begun in July of this year. WILM.STAR, 12-9-1945.

 

December 9, 1945
The cornerstone of the Carolina Beach Presbyterian Church was laid. Dr. William Crowe, pastor of the first Presbyterian Church of Wilmington was the principal speaker. Others taking part in the program were H. McC. Biddle, chairman of the Bldg. committee, Ira Hines, the contractor, and the pastor, Rev. John MacLeod. The contents of the stone were cancelled notes, a list of charter members, and a history of the church written by Mrs. D.S. Orrell, and other papers of historical importance.

The Carolina Beach church was organized by the Wilmington Presbytery in November, 1943. Services were held for a time in the Town Hall and later in the Methodist church. The pulpit was supplied for many months by defense service pastors furnished to the community by the Presbyterian Church, USA. The church served the servicemen then located at Fort Fisher. When the servicemen left the area, attention was fixed on a permanent place of worship for the congregation. Actual construction began in July, 1945, it was designed by Leslie N. Boney, of Wilmington.  WILM.POST, 12-8-1945.

 

December 21, 1945
Construction was on the march at Carolina Beach – $250,000 worth of it. The new construction underway included a new ice plant, a 50-room addition to the Royal Palm Hotel, two new restaurants and 20 new residences, including several rooming houses. Walter Blair, a special town representative, declared that Carolina Beach was ‘well on its way’ to becoming a year-around residential center. WILM.NEWS, 12-21-1945.

 

December 21, 1945
The Carolina Beach Restaurant opened in the building recently occupied by the post office at Carolina Beach. J.C. Messick was the manager. It was to be open all year round – a family restaurant – no beer served. Strictly American Foods. WILM. NEWS, 12-10-1945. The formal opening was on Christmas Day, Dec.25, 1945.

 

December 22, 1945
Joseph H. Winner (unmarried) was involved in a ‘trustee‘s sale of real estate.’ The property was sold at public auction for cash at the New Hanover County courthouse. The land was in Federal Point Township, beginning in the Carl A. Bache line . . . eastern line of St. Joseph Street. . . northwest corner of a tract of land owned by V.A. Stefano . . . N.C. State Highway 421 . . . , the same being part of the J. L. Winner heirs tract of land; and, also, being the same land conveyed to Joseph L. Winner, by deed filed for registration March 9, 1944, and recorded in Book 355, Page 333, of New Hanover County Registry. This sale included all furniture, fixtures, tools, or accessories and equipment of every kind now in the building on the land. The tools and equipment included chain hoists, cutting torch, hydraulic jacks, bench grinder, air compressor, welding outfit, blow gas torch, socket wrenches, drills, wrenches, vise, etc. WILM.POST, 11-29-1945.

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1946

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

February 12, 1946
The observance of Boy Scout Week was continued with a parent‘s night program at the Carolina Beach Community Church. It was attended by Approximately 150 persons. Awards were given to Jason Brown, Billy Siler, Richard Rhodes, Phil Harrell, Benny Shumate, Jaimy Thomas, Wallace Aman, Donald Williams, Clarence Borrell, Phil Harrell. WILM.NEWS, 2-12-1946

 

February 14, 1946
Kenneth L. Hunn was to serve as the first commander of the newly organized American Legion post at Carolina Beach, following the initial meeting of that group.  The meeting was held in the Beach community hall with a charter membership of 16 members attending. The post now has a total membership of 56.
Hunn was a veteran of both world wars and was now a resident of Kure Beach for the past four years. Elected to serve with Hunn were Percy R. Morton, adjutant ; George W. Troy, post historian, and Oscar Zuker, chaplain. Judge John J. Burney delivered the organization address. WILM.NEWS, 2-15-1946.

 

February 22, 1946
Fifteen girls were honored at an investiture ceremony of Brownie Troop No.22 in the Carolina Beach Town Hall recently. They were as follows: Joyce Watson, Marilyn Tritt, Judy Ford, Carolyn Cole, Holland Johnson, Norma Sue Davis, Maribeth Bunch, Nancy Kelly, Betsy Tanner, Janie Lee Bartlett, Irene Borell, Barbara Raines, Helen Randall, Glen Ellen Martin and Marian Leiner. Mrs. J.E. Carter was the leader of the newly-organized troop, and assisted by Mrs. J.A. Knox.

The troop committee included Mrs. E.J. Roseman, Mrs. Frank Martin, Mrs. Fred Cameron, Mrs. Ray Franklin and Mrs. J.C. Bame. WILM.NEWS, 2-22-1946.

 

February 26, 1946
Real Estate Transfer:
Roscoe T. Griffin, ex., to Katie L. Loury, lots 6 and 7-E, Carolina Beach.
William S. Hood, ex., to B.W. Nash, ex., 215, Carolina Beach
E.H. Welliford, ex., to Annie Done Handley, 9-32, Carolina Beach. WILM.NEWS, 2-27-1946

 

February 28, 1946
The sale of over $20,000 in property along the Carolina Beach boardwalk by A.P. Peay to A.B.N. Spencer was recorded. The lots involved were 5-6/”I”. WILM.NEWS, 2-28-1945.

 

March 26, 1946
Construction at Carolina and Wrightsville Beaches was abruptly halted on this date when new building priorities were established under the Civilian Production Administration (CPA). Few building permits were issued after March 26th, and most of the later construction work was on buildings which were begun prior to the government stoppage orders. The stringent priority system limited construction or repair costs on private or commercial buildings to $400 to $1,000. WILM.NEWS, 5-6-1946.

 

April 2, 1946
Four lots at Carolina Beach involving approximately $25,000 were sold today. A. H. Hudley and wife sold the property, lots 23, 24, 25 and 26 of the Kure division, to J.W. Blackwell and wife. WILM.POST, 4-2-1946.

 

April 10, 1946
Plans were being made by the newly organized American Legion post at Carolina Beach to have its own club building just as soon as possible. Kenneth L. Huhn was the post commander.
The Board of Aldermen of the town of Carolina Beach had leased a site for the new Legion Home at the beach, just a block from the bus station and easy walking distance from the boardwalk.
The new post planned on securing a building from the Army’s dismantled Fort Fisher, or from Bluethenthal Airfield military post. W.G. Fountain, mayor of Carolina Beach, reported that the motion leasing the town owned site to the Legion Post had been carried unanimously by the Board of Aldermen. WILM.STAR, 4-10-1946.

 

April 20, 1946
Carolina Beach Business advertising in the WILMINGTON EVENING POST newspaper were:

  • Carolina Beach Drug Store – “Everything For You!”
  • Ideal Novelty Shop – Shell Novelties of ALL kinds –Mrs.W.F.Posey, owner
  • Mills Pure Oil Service Station – Ned and Mack Mills, World War II Vets.
  • D.E. Jones Grocery – At The First Stop Light – “A store down by the sea”
  • Ocean Plaza Club and Restaurant – Mr. and Mrs. Gene Reynolds, managers.
  • Seashore Amusements – For the Finest Rides and Good Times.
  • Shopping Center, Groceries (Formerly S. and S. Grocery)
  • The Wave Theatre
  • The Greystone Hotel – “A Pate Hotel” – Opening Soon for 30th year.
  • S. & S. Bingo
  • The Land Mark – “14 Years in the Same Location” – Cliff Smith Sr. & Jr.
  • Peay‘s Café – Oldest American Café on Carolina Beach.
  • Uncle Jim‘s – 15th Year.
  • Mack‘s 5¢, 10¢ and 25¢ – Everything for the Cottage and Family – On the Boardwalk.
  • Royal Palm Hotel and Fountain Apartments
  • Tucker Real Estate Co. – “Honesty Pays” Sales & Rentals.
  • Carolina Beach Restaurant – “Try Our Food.” No Beer. WILM.EVENING POST, 4-20-1946.

 

April 21, 1946
The 4th annual Easter Sunrise Service was held at Carolina Beach. The service began at sunrise, 5:30 A.M. The sponsoring churches were Carolina Beach Baptist Church, St. Paul‘s Methodist Church, Carolina Beach Presbyterian Church, Federal Point Methodist Church, All-Saints-By-The-Sea (Episcopal), Church of the Immaculate Conception (Catholic), and the Community Church. WILM.EVENING POST, 4-20-1946.

 

April 21, 1946
Residents and visitors to Carolina Beach gathered on the boardwalk for the annual Easter Sunrise service. Strong winds made the usual floral decorations impossible, however a large number was on hand to participate in the services which featured choral singing. WILM.STAR, 4-22-1946.

 

April 22, 1946
Assistant Police Chief A.W. Cox, 22, of Carolina Beach, died suddenly from a heart attack at the resort‘s police headquarters, 20 minutes after he had ended his tour of duty. Police Chief E. V. Leonard paid high tribute to the late assistant chief who declared that he was a very promising young man.

Cox was a native of Salisbury, N.C., and more recently a resident of Winston-Salem, and had resided at Carolina Beach for the past five years. He joined the police department in July, 1945 and he proved so efficient that he was promoted to the rank of assistant chief. He was married just two months ago, and was survived by his wife, Mrs. Helen Thompson Cox. He was also survived by his father, who resided in Weaversville, N.C. WILM.STAR, 4-22-1946.

 

April 12, 1946
B.D. Mixon was elected president of the Carolina Beach Chamber of Commerce in the beach town hall. David Jones was elected vice president, Mrs. Mabel Posey secretary, and David Blackman, treasurer.

Jones urged “the fullest attendance by cottage and hotel operators on the beach at the next meeting as matters of considerable importance to them will be discussed.” WILM.STAR, 4-24-1946.

 

April 26, 1946
Mary Frances Little was named to represent Carolina Beach in the Strawberry Festival beauty contest at Wallace, N.C. Other contestants included Pat Morton, Ruth Wolf, Homer Wysong and Janice Harvell. WILM.STAR, 4-27-1946 (2)

 

May 17, 1946
The Carolina Beach Jaycees presented Jimmy St. Clair and his Orchestra for a dance at the Carolina Beach Auditorium. The orchestra was coming direct from Baltimore and the Wallace Strawberry Festival. Lovely Anna Frank was the featured vocalist. Tickets were $1.55 per person, tax included. Proceeds from the dance were to go to the Carolina Beach Life Guards. WILM.STAR, 5-14-1946.

 

May 17, 1946
The Carolina Beach Jaycees presented Jimmy St. Clair and his Orchestra direct from Baltimore, Maryland, featuring the lovely Anna Frank, for one night only at the Beach Auditorium, and the proceeds were to benefit the Carolina Beach life guards. The dance was from 9 P.M. to 1 A.M., $1.55 per person tax included. WILM.NEWS, 5-16-1946.

 

May 20, 1946
The Harrill House at Carolina Beach, a furnished apartment house opposite the town hall, 10 Canal Drive, owned by Bob Harrill, was offered for immediate sale. It had 14 rooms, 4 baths, 4 kitchens, year-round construction. Instantly convertible to rooms or apartments. Central location. WILM.NEWS, 5-21-1946.

 

May 21, 1946
Mrs. Helen Thompson Cox, widow of a former assistant chief of police at Carolina Beach, received a check for $700 from the North Carolina Law Enforcement Officer‘s benefit and Retirement Fund. The check was presented to Mrs. Cox at her home by Sheriff C. David Jones.

The couple had been married only two months when Cox died. He was not a member of the retirement plan but Mrs. Cox received the check because any officer who dies due to service–connected injuries their heirs are paid the above amount. The check included $200 for burial and $500 for widow‘s benefits. WILM.NEWS, 5-22-1946.

 

May 30, 1946
With the opening of Liles Grocery in the Risley Building, in the heart of Carolina Beach, a fully supplied shopping center will meet any need of the housewife in search of essentials for dinner, supper, breakfast, or snacks. It is located in the store formerly known as Curries. George Liles established the grocery dedicated to the needs of all visitors and ‘regulars’ and residents of the beach. Fresh produce and fresh meats were offered. WILM.POST, 5-30-1946.

 

May 31, 1946
Mr. and Mrs. Gene Reynolds, owners and operators, announced the grand opening of the new Ocean Plaza Club on the Carolina Beach boardwalk. WILM.NEWS, 5-30-1946.

 

June 1, 1946
The police force of Carolina Beach included Chief Edward Lennon, T.C. Faircloth, Drew Long, J.W. Milliner and William Easterling. WILM.POST, 6-1-1946

 

June 1-2, 1946
More than 15,000 visitors jammed the colorful business district and bathing strand to inaugurate the formal opening of Carolina Beach for its first war-free season in five years.

A beauty contest, staged under the auspices of the Jaycees, was held. Janice Harvell, 16 year old high school girl and turned up in last year‘s beauty parade, was crowned ‘Miss Carolina Beach’ by vote of judges and by popular acclaim.

Mrs. and Mrs. C.A. Elliot, of Dayton, Ohio, were awarded prizes for being the oldest couple registered at the resort, they gave their ages as 60 and 56. There was also a castle building contest on the beach during the morning and affair was a huge success. WILM.POST, 6-3-1946.

 

June 3, 1946
Bill Grassick and his Orchestra were appearing every night for dancing in a cabaret atmosphere at the new Ocean Plaza on the boardwalk at Carolina Beach. Charming Betty McHugh was the songstress. This group was to be followed by The Carolinians. WILM.NEWS, 6-3-1946; 6-12-1946.

 

June 10, 1946
Real Estate Transfer – W.A. Simmons to E.A. Bordeaux, Jr., lots 6,7,8,9,10, 56 and 14,15,16,57, Carolina Beach. WILM.NEWS, 6-11-1946.

 

June 14, 1946
Jimmy Marshall and his Carolinians, direct from the University of North Carolina were appearing nightly at the Ocean Plaza at Carolina Beach. WILM.NEWS, 6-14-1946.

 

June 16, 1946
Morrison Rankin Caruthers of Carolina Beach took upon himself a bride named Jane LeGrand, the only daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Pleasant LeGrand. The wedding ceremony was held in the Presbyterian church at Mebane, N.C. The bride was a graduate of Burlington Business College and for the past five years she had worked in the office of the Clerk of the Superior Court of Alamance County.
The couple would make their home at Carolina Beach. WILM.NEWS, 6-24-1946.

 

June 18, 1946
The Ocean Plaza brought direct from the University of North Carolina, Jimmy Marshall and His Carolinians. Dancing Every Night including Sunday Nights. ―Remember University of N.C. produced such bands as Kay Kyser, Hal Kemp, Skinny Ennis and now ‘The Carolinians.’ WILM.POST, 6-18-1946.

 

June 24, 1946
Mrs. Bertha Philligin Darden, 31, of Carolina Beach, died in Bulluck Hospital in Wilmington. Survived by her husband, Charles Darden, Carolina Beach, also her parents, two brothers, all of Wilson, N.C., and one sister in Norfolk, Va. Funeral was conducted in Wilson, N.C. WILM.POST, 6-25-1946.

 

June, 1946
Real Estate Transfer – K.H. Stein to Harvey L. Stevens, Lot7-7, Carolina Beach. WILM.NEWS, 6-26-1946.

 

June 25, 1946
Martin Winner and Hudson Winner was operating a sport fishing cruiser called the ‘Mildred M,’ out of Carolina Beach. WILM.POST. 6-26-1946

 

July 12, 1946
The partnership existing between C.D. Moss and W.H. Weeks, under the firm name and style of ‘Carolina Beach Ice and Fuel Company’ whose main office was in the town of Carolina Beach, was dissolved. WILM.NEWS, 8-20-1946.

 

July 14, 1946
The second annual homecoming celebration of the Carolina Beach Community Church had represented twenty-three towns and cities according to Rev. James B. McQuere, minister. The guest minister for the celebration was Tommy Steele, director of a daily devotion program on the radio called ‘Your Daily Devotional.’

The acquisition of additional church property was announced. The church was non-denominational, wholly independent of other organizations and self-governing. It was founded about 15 years earlier by the late Mrs. S.C. Ogburn, of Winston-Salem who began conducting a Sunday School for her grandchildren and a few friends at her beach cottage. It was organized as a church in 1942. WILM.STAR, 7-16-1946.

 

July 14, 1946
The second annual homecoming day of the Carolina Beach Community Church was held. Rev. James B. McQuere was the pastor. The main speaker will be Tommy Steele, director of ‘Your Daily Devotional’ program on WPTF, Raleigh. A basket lunch was served on the lawn. The non-denominational church was founded about 15 years earlier when Mrs. S. C. Ogburn of Winston-Salem began holding Sunday School for her grandchildren and a few friends at her beach home. Later, a lot was acquired and a small chapel constructed. During the past year the church had been improved by the application of asbestos shingles and installation of plumbing. WILM.STAR, 7-7-1946.

 

July 25, 1946
Formal installation ceremonies were held at Carolina Beach as new officers for the American Legion Post No. 272 were sworn in. Judge John J. Burney of Wilmington delivered the principal address.
Among the new officers were: Fred Platt, chaplain; C.L. Merritt, service officer; A.A.Willett, second vice- commander; Wm. M. Matthews, commander; W.L. Farmer, first vice-commander; Percy Morton, adjutant, and E.F. Currie, finance officer. WILM.STAR, 7-27-1946

 

July 29, 1946
Bill Grassick and His Continental Orchestra, featuring the lovely vocalist Betty McHugh, opened at the Ocean Plaza, Carolina Beach. Dancing Nightly from 9 til 1 am. WILM.STAR, 7-28-1946
(advt) There was a nightly floor show, featuring black light and florescence that was out of this world!

 

August 1, 1946
Fifty heroes of Bataan, Corregidor, the Western Front and other battles of World War II, were feted at Carolina Beach. The soldiers were being treated at Fort Bragg‘s hospital in preparation for reassignments to foreign duty, were casualties of the war, convalescing from minor physical ailments. The Wilmington Canteen Corps were to feed the men after their arrival.

The soldiers would go directly to the Ocean Plaza bath house where they would be guests of that establishment for their bathing facilities. Later the men were to be honored with a banquet at the Carolina Beach city hall. The city had gone all out for their entertainment with special swimming partners provided and a full staff of life guards arrainged for their safety while they were in swimming. Amusement places on the boardwalk offered their facilities also. WILM.STAR, 7-31-1946.

 

August 1, 1946
The Carolina Beach Jaycees received their charter in ceremonies held in a local club ballroom. Quillen Ward of Rocky Mount presented the Jaycess with their national charter, and Odell Lambeth, of Raleigh, presented their state charter. The club was organized about six months earlier at the beach with Ben Mallard as the president. Present at the ceremonies as guests were the Wilmington Jaycess and the 22 winners of recent Jaycee beauty contests held through the state. WILM.STAR, 8-2-1946

 

August 1, 1945
An estimated 250 persons witnessed the presentation of the national and state charters to the Carolina Beach Jaycees (Junior Chamber of Commerce) during a dinner dance in honor of 22 North Carolina queens who have been the guests of the beach organization.

The state charger was presented by Odell Lambeth, president of the N.C. Jaycess, during a broadcast of the proceedings over station WMFD. Following the presentation, the girls were introduced over the air, and identified with the city that each would represent in the future. The national charger was presented by Quillen Ward, of Rocky Mount, national director of the U.S. Jr. Chamber of Commerce.
Receiving both charters for the beach group which was organized only six months ago was Ben Mallard, president of the group. The ceremony took place in the Ocean Plaza ballroom. WILM.NEWS, 8-1-1946, 8-2-1946.

 

August 4, 1946
Lt. Richard A. Jackson and 23 enlisted men were entertained at Carolina Beach after they were officially welcomed to the resort by the town officials. The Wilmington chapter of the American Red Cross was host to the convalescent service men. A picnic lunch was served in the Town Hall. After luncheon, the servicemen enjoyed free amusement rides and bath house privileges. WILM.NEWS, 8-4-1945.

 

August 7, 1946
Mayor W.G. Fountain, members of the board of aldermen and the personnel of the Police department of Carolina Beach were entertained at a steak supper at the Warren Cafeteria last night. Mayor Fountain, who presided as toastmaster, was one of the principal speakers. Alderman Thomas A. (Tom) Croom opened the program and praised the Carolina Beach police force for its loyal and effective work throughout the summer. Other speakers included Police Chief E.V. Leonard and Alderman Donald Rick, Bert Jewell and E.A. Reynolds. Among those attending the dinner were Mayor Fountain, the board of aldermen, Chief Leonard, Asst. Chief Drew Long, and Officers J.W. Millinor, L.W. Huggins and E.W. Sanford. WILM.NEWS, 8-8-46

 

August 9, 1946
Champion Greyhounds were racing at Carolina Beach Dog Race Track, one mile north of the Inland Waterway Bridge. Five races were held lasting for two hours. Track time was 8:15 p.m. and admission was 50 cents plus tax. WILM.NEWS, 8-9-1946; 8-30-1946.

 

August 9, 1946
Three-year-old Jimmy Forsyth toppled from the third story window ledge of the Royal Palm Hotel at Carolina Beach. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. James F. Forsyth of Greensboro. The child landed on soft ground and when the tot was picked up he was unconscious. The child was rushed immediately to the Babies‘ Hospital at Wrightsville. The child gained consciousness one hour later and had good chances of recovery. No fractures had been found. WILM.NEWS, 8-9-1946.

 

August 9, 1946
The Carolina Beach Dog Race Track, one mile north of the inland waterway bridge was offering two hours of top entertainment. There five races every night, Wednesday thru Saturday with champion greyhounds competing. The track time was 8:15 p.m. and the admission was 50¢ plus tax.
WILM.NEWS, 8-9-1946.

 

August 11, 1946
Officials of the Woodmen of the World met at Carolina Beach.

 

August 18, 1946
Under the leadership of the Rev. Ben B. Ussery, pastor, the Carolina Beach Baptist Church began a campaign to retire the $16,000 mortgage on the church property. The Rev. Ussery assumed his duties at the beach on August 4th. With his wife, the former Elizabeth Howell, of Suffolk, Va., Rev. Ussery came to the Carolina Beach church from the Highland Baptist church, Louisville, Ky., where he served as asst. pastor. A graduate of Wake Forest College, he was a native of Rockingham, N.C. WILM.STAR, 8-18-1946.

 

August 18, 1946
Under the leadership of the Rev. Ben Ussery, pastor, the Carolina Beach Baptist Church will begin a campaign to retire the $16,000 mortgage on the church property. The Rev. Mr. Ussery assumed his duties here on August 4. He came to this church from the Highland Baptist Church, Louisville, Ky. where he served as assistant pastor. WILM.NEWS, 8-18-1946.

 

August 20, 1946
James Longworth, publicity director for Carolina Beach, announced that he was receiving a large amount of inquiries and requests for boat charter and accommodations, from those persons wanting to compete in the South Eastern North Carolina Beach Association‘s Fish Rodeo, August 30th to September 30th.  WILM.NEWS, 8-20-1946.

 

August 25, 1946
The members of the Carolina Beach Presbyterian Church dedicated their new $13,000 structure at ceremonies featured by the burning of the church‘s fully-met note pf indebtedness. The pastor of the church was Rev. John D. McLeod. The church was organized in 1943 to serve defense workers living at Carolina Beach and the military personnel of Fort Fisher. The new church, was of masonry construction, and had been used for services since March, 1946. Contributions from the Wilmington Presbytery aided in its financing. H. Mc. Biddle served as chairman of the building committee, with Ira Hines, beach contractor, supervising construction. The new building is one of six churches now located at Carolina Beach. WILM.STAR, 8-24-1946;8-22-1946.

 

August 25, 1946
The Carolina Beach Presbyterian Church was dedicated with appropriate ceremonies. The cornerstone for the building was laid in December, 1945, with Dr. William Crowe, Jr., pastor of the First Presbyterian Church in Wilmington, officiating. The church was opened to the public in March, 1946.

The cost of the building was $13,000. With the help of the Home Missions Committee of the Wilmington Presbytery and interested friends around the state, the total indebtedness had been paid. WILM.NEWS, 8-21-1946.

 

August 30, 1946
City and county law enforcement officers were loath to discuss the ruling issued on the 29th by the State Attorney General to the effect that the playing of bingo constitutes a violation of the state anti-gambling laws.

The bingo games were reported continuing operations at the nearby resorts, and there was no indication that the boards of aldermen of Carolina and Wrightsville Beaches planned any move to halt these commercially conducted contests.

E.V. Leonard, Carolina Beach police chief, said that he will await orders from the resort‘s board of aldermen before taking any action. WILM.NEWS, 8-30-1946.

 

August 29, 1946
A ruling by the state attorney general that the playing of bingo was in violation of North Carolina gambling laws, even when conducted in the form of a church benefit, caused considerable comment in Wilmington and at the beaches and it left the city and county law enforcement officials in a quandary as to their duties on the matter. WILM.NEWS, 8-29-1946.

 

September 3, 1946
The BONITO, a party craft owned by John T. Marshall, of Carolina Beach, was pulled up on dry land in the yacht basin at the resort after sinking in the Inland Waterway. The boat had hit a shoal and her propeller was damaged, and later while being towed to the basin, the craft struck a piling, causing her to sink. WILM.NEWS, 9-3-1946

 

November 16, 1946
Twelve apartment buildings located on Lake Park Boulevard, Carolina Beach, were sold for $47,000, and will soon be opened for rental purposes. The one-story frame structures each contain five rooms and are completely furnished.

The property is a court of buildings covering a block approx. 75 by 100 feet, border on one side by Lake Park Blvd. and on the other by Fayetteville, Street. They were formerly known as the Viverette Cottages and were owned by Blanche W. Viverette, of Raleigh, who sold them to Joe Ross and his wife Clara Lee Ross, of Monroe, N.C. Ross was a Monroe business man and the new name of the court will be Ross‘ Cottages. WILM.STAR, 11-17-1946.

 

November 30, 1946
A building permit was issued to Guy Tripp to construct an $8,000 cottage at Carolina Beach. The house was to be built on Canal Drive. Tripp was a Navy veteran. WILM.STAR, 11-30-1946.

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1947 – 1949

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington Star, Wilmington Post

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 6, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Water meters were being installed at Carolina Beach. More than 200 of approximately 625 to 725 had already been installed. Mrs. Alice Strickland, town clerk, said that June 1st was the date for completion with work having started in November.

Heretofore, the beach has had a flat water rate but, in fairness to the 800 accounts as well as the town itself, it was decided to adopt the meter program. The meters were purchased from the Badger Meter Mfg. Company, of Milwaukee.

Each consumer was being charged for the greater part of the costs and the remainder was coming from the Water Dept.‘s surplus funds. It was all being carried out on a cash basis.  WILM.STAR, 1-7-1947.

 

January 8, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Dr. A.H. Elliot, city-county health officer, said that in his opinion that the drainage ditch for which the residents of Carolina Beach were now raising funds would solve the sanitation problem of the resort town. Earlier Dr. Elliott had attributed the existence of improver conditions in certain areas of the town to improper drainage. Heavy rains caused sewerage overflows to mix with surface water, thereby setting up conditions ripe for disease epidemics. He explained that if the bad drainage situation was rectified then the sewerage system should not cause trouble.

Glenn Tucker, Carolina Beach real estate man, reported that over $1600 had already been raised for the construction of the ditch, and several hundred dollars more had been pledged. WILM.STAR, 1-9-1947.

 

January 23, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Mayor W.G. Fountain, of Carolina Beach, resigned due to ill health. It was announced by A.D. Fountain. Mayor Fountain had held office since, July, 1945. He had been a member of the board of aldermen since 1937. He was now a patient in the Bullock Hospital, North Front Street Wilmington. Thomas Croom was named mayor pro-tem by the board of aldermen some time ago. Mayor Fountain was president of the Fountain Oil Company, and owner of the Royal Palm Hotel, Carolina Beach. WILM.POST, 1-23-1947.

 

January 23, 1947
W.G. Fountain resigned as mayor of Carolina Beach due to a serious illness. He had served as mayor since July, 1945, and previously on the Board of Aldermen since, May, 1937. He was succeeded by Tom A. Croom, mayor pro-tem. WILM.STAR, 1-24-1947.

 

January 27, 1947 …. Carolina Beach, Kure Beach, Wilmington Beach
A petition was signed by more than 500 residents of Carolina, Kure‘s and Wilmington beaches requesting the North Carolina Board of Medical Examiners to reconsider its action in refusing to license Dr. David B. Handelman to practice medicine in Federal Point township. More and more signatures continued to be affixed to the petition the next day.

The petition stated that “approximately 5,000 permanent residents of Federal Point township, and 50,000 summer residents are without the services of a doctor,” and it was felt that the board action should be reconsidered. For six weeks, Dr. Handelman and his wife, also a doctor, had been residing at the resort awaiting the final disposition of the case by the state board. Dr. Handelman and his wife had already become popular among the residents. The doctor was a native of Edinburgh in Scotland. He was refused because he did not attend an American college. WILM.POST 1-28-1947.

 

January 29, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
A total of $4,070 for the construction of a ditch and other drainage projects was raised by the residents of Carolina Beach. A non-profit organization, known  as the Carolina Beach Drainage Project corporation, was formed for the purpose of letting contracts for the drainage work. Glenn Tucker was chairman of the group. WILM.STAR, 1-30-1947. (see also WILM.STAR, 1-15-1947(adv.)

 

February 8, 1947
The pastors of Carolina Beach‘s Protestant churches today were members of a new Carolina Beach Ministerial Association organized last night. The Rev. Ben B. Ussery, pastor of the town‘s Baptist church, was elected president, and the Rev. John D. MacLeod, pastor of the Presbyterian Church, was named corresponding and recording secretary. The other constitutions belonging to the association and the beach‘s Methodist and Community churches. The Episcopal Church is expected to join also. At the organizational meeting, preliminary plans were laid for the resort‘s fifth annual Easter Sunrise service. WILM.POST, 2-8-1947.

 

February 15, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
A certificate of incorporation was filed with the Secretary of State by a Carolina Beach Drainage Group consisting of M.S. Faircloth, Ben B. Ussery and W.H. Alldred, off of the Beach. The purpose of the non-profit group was “the promotion of the general welfare of the community,” actually its primary, and perhaps only function will be to let the ditch digging contract.

To avoid a possible recurrence of the flooded conditions last fall, the town plans to drag a ditch along the southern section of the beach. This was to cut off the watershed that deluges beach property when high water prevails.
Carolina Beach had raised $3,620 from private contributions, and the town had donated $500 for the ditch digging project. WILM.STAR, 2-15-1947.

 

February 26, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
A contract calling for the moving of over 13,000 cubic yards of earth as part of the Carolina Beach drainage program was awarded to Columbus Contractors of Whiteville by the Carolina Beach and Drainage Corporation. The low bid submitted for the work was $2,818.86 and the work was to begin the next week. The project was to be completed by April 15th. M.S. Faircloth was president of the resort town corporation with the Rev. Ben B. Ussery as secretary-treasurer. WILM.STAR, 2-17-1947.

 

March 18, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Rep. R.M. Kermon said he would introduce legislation in the N.C. General Assembly to define street lines at Carolina Beach for the purpose of clearing property titles to land there.   (Wilm Post, 3-18-1947)

 

March 27, 1947
Addison Hewlett, Sr., chairman of the county commissioners, said that the county board probably would call for bids at an early date on enlarging the Henniker drainage ditch at Carolina Beach.

The work, designed to make the Henniker Ditch large enough to drain the water from the new Carolina Beach flood control ditch, is expected to require about six weeks.   (Wilm Post, 3-27-1947; 3-24-1947;  4-16-1947)

 

March 31, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Bruce Valentine was sworn in as Carolina Beach chief of police. He succeeded E.V. Leonard who resigned several days earlier and he planned to join the sheriff‘s force of Brunswick County soon.  WILM.NEWS, 4-1-1947

 

April 1, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
A plea was renewed to the Tide Water Power Company, in Wilmington, for a resident representative of the company be located at Carolina Beach. A.L. Mansfield appeared before the town aldermen at a mass meeting and suggested that petition be circulated to the town‘s business men for their endorsement and signature. It was ordered that Emmett Bellamy, city attorney, draw up such a petition. WILM.NEWS, 4-1-1947

 

April 1, 1947
Bruce Valentine was now serving as chief of police at Carolina Beach where he was filling the vacancy created by the resignation of E.V. Leonard. WILM.STAR, 4-1-1947

 

April 2, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
J .R. Bame, chairman of the Board of Elections, announced that fifteen candidates – five of them incumbents – filed for offices of aldermen. The election was on May 6th. The first five to file were Sam H. Blake, John Fergus, M.T. Ridaught, A.P. Peay and J. Lem King.

The five incumbents were Bert Jewel, E.A. Reynolds, W.H. Shinn and Glen M. Tucker. Others qualifying were Luther J. Coe, W.T. Little, D.L. White, W.L. Farmer and Ralph Rollins.  WILM.NEWS, 4-2-1947. WILM.NEWS, 4-1-1947.

 

April 4, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
A three-act dramatization of THE FIRST EASTER MORNING was presented by the Young Adult Class of St. Paul‘s Methodist Church. The public was invited to this part of Carolina Beach‘s pre-Easter observance program. Included in the cast were: Oneill Johnson, Homer Craver, Mike Bake, Jack White, Rhyder Lewis, Chevis Faircloth, Jimmy Busch, Ernest Bame, Bunny Hines, Glenn Eaker, Rachel Bame, Ellen White, William McDougald, Edwin Carter, Sallie Faircloth and Ruby Knox.

Serving on the committees for the presentation were: Virginia Beach, Mrs. Odell Oldham, Mrs. Woodrow Hewett, A.L. Mansfield, Mrs. George Russ, Francis Ludwig and sons, Mrs. Edwin Carter, Mrs. Bunny Hines and Mrs. Sam Frisbee. WILM.NEWS, 4-2-1947.

 

April 6, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
An Easter dance was held at the Ocean Plaza. The music was provided by Larry Taylor and his Orchestra. Admission was $1.25. Dancing from 9 P.M. until 1 A.M. WILM.NEWS, 4-4-1947.

 

April 5-6, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Crowds estimated at over 7,000 thronged Carolina Beach during this weekend. Easter sunrise services at 5:30 a.m. drew one of the largest crowds ever for that occasion. Mrs. Strickland remarked that many “rugged characters,” braved the first chilly dip in the surf and fishermen and sunbathers were plentiful. Cottages darkened since residents vacated last September were bright with their first light this year, and some of the visitors stayed for their spring vacation. WILM.NEWS, 4-7-1947. Mrs. Strickland, the town clerk, ….

 

April 7, 1946 …. Carolina Beach
The New Hanover County Commissioners announced that M. H. Lander, civil engineer, was to supervise plans for the drainage work at Carolina Beach. At the completion of the survey, contracts were to be let for the actual work.

 

April 7, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
A forest fire raged through a large wooded area, starting at Carolina Lake and sweeping south to Spartanburg Avenue. For a time several houses were threatened. The town fire department and several bucket brigades were mustered into fighting the blasé. WILM.NEWS, 4-8-1947

 

April 10, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
The Board of Aldermen voted to purchase a modern, ―up-to-the-last-minute garbage collection truck. Bids were to be advertised for a vehicle. At the same meeting, the city officials voted to grant renewals to 23 beer and wine dealers in the town. The new permits became effective May 1st. WILM.NEWS, 4-10-1947.

 

April 10, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Building Inspector Sam Long resigned, effective immediately. Long served both the building inspector and electrical inspector departments. He was to be succeeded by Sam D. Wright as building inspector and Irvene F. Williams as electrical inspector. WILM.NEWS, 4-10-1947

 

April 14, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Sam H. Blake and W.T.Little withdrew from the race for town aldermen. This left thirteen still running for offices. WILM.NEWS, 4-14-1947.

 

April 22, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
The Snow‘s Cut bridge was thrown out of business by a broken shaft, which jammed a gear. D . W. Stewart, operator of the bridge, said that the damages would not interfere with inland waterway traffic, and a new bridge shaft would soon be installed. WILM.NEWS, 4-23-1947.

 

April 25, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Plans were underway for the construction of an educational and recreational building for the young people of Carolina Beach. The program was being handled by the Methodist Youth Fellowship committee, and all members were joining the campaign to raise funds. A seafood supper on April 26th was the initial step in the fund raising. The supper was to be held at Mrs. Reynolds Boarding House, operated by Mrs. R.W. Reynolds. The building and facilities in the playground were to be located on the property of the Methodist Church. WILM.NEWS, 4-25-1947.

 

April 28, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
A contract for the digging of the Henniker ditch at Carolina Beach was awarded to the Talman Transfer Company by the New Hanover County Board of Commissioners. Talman‘s bid was the lowest of four sealed bids submitted. Their bid was for 27 cents a cubic yard, a total cost of $8,100. The winning bidder, George Talman, agreed to work a minimum of 12 hours a day on the job and work was to begin immediately. The digging of Henniker ditch was to complete the flood control plan at Carolina Beach. Several weeks earlier the Carolina Beach Drainage canal was dug at the expense of town funds and public donations. WILM.NEWS, 4-28-1947.

 

April 28, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
A “Bingo” ordinance with 11 sections, governing the playing of the game at Carolina Beach, was voted. Enactment of the ordinance, prepared by order of the aldermen following passage of a bill introduced by Rep. R. M. Kermon, legalizing the game, was not expected to detract materially from the fun of the game. One featured phase of the ordinance was all such places of business be closed after 1 a.m. There were four “Bingo” houses at the resort. 4-16-1947; WILM.NEWS, 4-29-1947.

 

April 28, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
A contract for enlarging Henniker Ditch at Carolina Beach was awarded to George W. Talman, of Talman Transfer Company, who offered a bid of $8,100 on the project. Talman told the commissioners he could begin work immediately.

The Ditch, which has served as a drainage from Carolina Beach to the Cape Fear River, will be widened and deepened.  A new ditch was recently dug by the town of Carolina Beach, with the ditch adjoining the county‘s Henniker Ditch.

However, the Carolina Beach ditch became full of water and would not drain off because it was at a lower depth than the Henniker Ditch. WILM.POST, 4-28-1947.

 

April 28, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
The New Hanover County Board of Commissioners advertised for bids for the deepening and widening of the Henniker Ditch at Carolina Beach, N.C.  The work was to be done on a unit price basis in accordance with the plans drawn by William F. Freeman, Civil Engineer, Wilmington, N.C.  The work consisted of the removal of approx. 30,000 cubic yards of material. All the necessary clearing of the right of way was to be included in the unit price of the excavation. WILM.STAR, 4-17-1947.

 

May 1, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach officials held a board meeting to discuss and possibly take action on a complaint by residents that “music boxes” on the beach were causing disturbances. WILM.NEWS, 4-29-1947.

 

May 6, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
An election was held at Carolina Beach for mayor and four aldermen.
Mr. J. D. Sanderson was named as Registrar and Rev. Ben Ussery and Mr. R.R. Lamb as Judges of Election. WILM.NEWS, 4-3-1947

 

May 12, 1947
The U.S. Navy department was offered the use of a model submarine constructed by William R. Mouring of Carolina Beach, and it was to be used as a Wilmington display for “Operations Naval Reserve.” Mouring offered the Navy the use of his model in their testing laboratories if it was so desired.

The model, operates in the same manner as a full-sized undersea war submarine, was six feet long with an 8 inch beam. It was capable of a speed of 200 feet per minute on the surface, and about 60 feet per minute while submerged.

Mouring, an ex-electrician at the Wilmington shipyards during the war, had worked on the submarine for the past four years. The replica of one of Uncle Sam‘s submarines operates by high-pressure air and electricity. It was powered by six dry cell batteries which run two motors in the model craft. WILM.NEWS, 5-12-1947.

 

May 19, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
T.A. Croom, Carolina Beach mayor, appeared before the county commissioners requesting assistance with the threat of criminals of all types moving into Carolina Beach and Kure Beach during the forthcoming American Legion State Convention at those places. To cope with the threat and the expected pick-pocket activity, the board agreed to hire as many special deputies as the county sheriff Porter Davis deemed necessary, as long as the cost did not exceed $200.

Representing the American Legion, W.L. Farmer, informed the board that Camp Lejeune would send 100 military police for additional protection during the June 14-18 convention.The State Highway Patrol promised 25 additional patrolmen on duty. Mayor Croom declared that most of the businessmen at the two beaches were adding private protective strength at each business establishment. Croom termed these men as “bouncers.” The greatest amount of protection needed was the opening day of the convention, when a gigantic mock invasion was planned, which was to include strafing planes and landing craft. WILM.NEWS, 5-19-1947.

 

May 14, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
A parade of beach beauties was held at Carolina Beach Beacon Grill. A local beach girl was to win a bathing suit and an evening gown when she won the right to represent Carolina Beach American Legion Post No.272 in the State Legion beauty contest at the resort on June 15th. During their appearance in the Carolina Beach contest they were to walk on the stage twice, first in a bathing suit again in evening dress or street clothes.

The Beacon Grill was located just south of the Inland Waterway Bridge where the highway divides to Carolina Beach and to Fort Fisher. WILM.NEWS, 5-13-1947.

 

May 19, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
The re-digging and grading of the old Henniker Ditch to provide adequate drainage facilities for Carolina Lake and other sections of Carolina Beach was nearing the half-way mark.

It was started two weeks ago by the George W. Talman Company at the direction of the New Hanover County commissioners.

The ditch, long the only draining channel for the area, threatened to disrupt water passage in a new ditch dug by the town two months earlier. Beach officials asked the county commissioners to relieve the situation by grading Henniker Ditch to allow water from the new ditch to flow into the Cape Fear River. WILM.NEWS, 5-19-1947.

 

May 14, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Hal J. Love, the Wilmington manager of the Queen City Coach Company, announced that Carolina Beach‘s long proposed, and hard fought for bus terminal was to be built immediately. The bus terminal was to cost about $50,000 and was to be built on a piece of property in the possession of the company several years. The new terminal was to be across State Highway 421, opposite the site of present bus loading and unloading operations. It was to be of masonry construction, modern and fireproof throughout. Permission, sought from the Civilian Production Administration for the past three years, had been granted. WILM.NEWS, 5-14-1947.

 

May 30, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Contracts totaling $11,000 were awarded Towles-Cline Construction Co., of Wilmington, for improvements and paving Canal Drive which is to be completed in ten days, according to Alice Strickland, town clerk. The project is for construction a sand-asphalt surface on 1 1⁄2 mile road. WILM.NEWS, 5-30-1947

 

June 6, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Mike George, the Band Sensation, was appearing nightly at the Ocean Plaza at Carolina Beach. Admission was 75 cents plus tax. WILM.NEWS, 6-6-1947.

 

June 26, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
All Carolina Beach business establishments and town offices were closed during this afternoon in honor of the memory of Roy C. Fergus for whom funeral services were held at 4 p.m. The memory of Mr. Fergus who served the resort for 10 years (1934-1944) was further honored by the playing of chimes and hymns over various public address systems throughout the resort area.

It was during Mayor Fergus‘ administration, 1933-43, that the water system and the sewerage systems were put into operation, town hall was built, and through his efforts the town secured the aid of the state highway commission in constructing streets.

Mr. Fergus died Sunday night in James Walker Memorial Hospital after a short illness and funeral services were held in the Fifth Avenue Methodist Church. WILM.NEWS, 6-27-1947.

 

July 2, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Mayor A.P. Peay and four town aldermen had been installed as Carolina Beach‘s new official body.
The councilmen sworn in were Glenn M. Tucker, who will have charge of the water dept: W.H. Shinn, finance officer; Thomas A. Croom and William L. Farmer, will have charge of the Streets and sanitation dept. WILM.STAR, 7-3-1947.

 

July 3, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach has started a general cleanup of games played at various concessions along the boardwalk. One concessioner was charged with operating a gambling game and in the Recorder‘s Court he was fined $10 by Judge Winfield Smith, but the judge declined to rule as to what actually is gambling and suggested that the matter should be taken to the Superior Court. The hearing lasting nearly two hours, revolved around the question of what is a bingo game. That game is legalized at Carolina Beach. WILM.STAR, 7-4-1947.

 

July 8, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
H.M. VonOesen, of Wilmington, was appointed as consulting engineer for the Town of Carolina Beach, at the initial regular meeting of the new board of aldermen, with Mayor A.P. Peay presiding.
VonOesen, a member of the Wilmington engineering department, who at present is taking over many of the duties of J.A. Loughlin, city engineer, during the latter‘s prolonged illness. WILM.STAR, 7-10-1947.

 

July 26, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Memories of battle fatigue and Jap sniping were recalled by 60 men, members of the Depot Company, 439th Engineers, and their wives in the first annual reunion of the outfit at Carolina Beach.
The unit, comprised entirely of North Carolinians, was activated at Camp Swift, Texas, and after nine months of training, it was sent to the Pacific theater for combat duty.
Officers of the reunion were James B. Ratcliffe, of Durham, president, and Donald Norman, also of Durham, vice president. WILM.STAR, 7-27-1947.

 

August 15, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Reports that a plane crashed into the ocean off Carolina Beach shortly after 9 p.m. last night could not be verified early today although rumors reached local airports and authorities in large numbers throughout the evening.
One report was that a small plane, like a cub trainer, developed motor trouble over the ocean and plunged into the sea carrying one or possibly two persons.

 

August 28, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Members of the life saving corps at Carolina Beach have set a record unique on the Atlantic Coast in not having had a drowning in the patrolled area of the strand since the squad was organized back in 1932.

 

October 23, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
It was announced that an estimated $5,000 was to be spent in building a new boardwalk at Carolina Beach. Also bids were to be opened on Oct.29th on road repair work to be done at the beach. About $185,000 was set aside for street repairing at the resort this winter. It was added that cresosoted pilings would be placed directly in front of the boardwalk to break the force of the waves at excessive high tide. The pilings were to be placed 20 inches apart. New decking on the boardwalk was also planned. WILM.POST, 10-23-1947.

 

November 12, 1947
Members of the Federal Point Methodist Church, Carolina Beach, elected their officers for the new year.
The officers of the church were J. Otis Davis, Charge Lay Leader; the board of trustees included Dave Lewis, O.W. Davis and Mrs. J.N. Todd. The communion steward was Mrs. J.N. Todd; membership committee, Mrs. Dave Lewis; pastoral relations committee, Mrs. G.C. Henniker; nominations committee, W.T. Lewis and Miss Beatrice Davis.
Audit Committee, J. Otis Davis; golden cross, Mrs. O.W. Davis, board of missions and church extension, Mrs. J.O. Davis; committee on evangelism, Mrs. W.T. Lewis; parsonage committee, Miss Beatrice Davis. Stewards included J.O. Davis, W.T. Lewis, George H. Henniker, and Dave Lewis; parsonage trustees, Lee O. Davis. Officers of the Sunday School included Mrs. Ray Peterson, Dave Lewis, Mrs. J.O. Davis, Miss Beatrice Davis, W.T. Lewis, WILM.STAR, 11-16-1947

 

November 15, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
A $200,000 real estate deal involving transfer of the $100,000 Ocean Plaza at Carolina Beach from E.A. Reynolds to J. Frank Collier in exchange for Carolina Beach, Silver Lake and Wilmington property was consummated. It was learned from Collier, who was moving to Carolina Beach that he had plans to convert the Ocean Plaza ballroom and third floor apartments into a modern first class hotel.

Collier also had plans for a T-shaped pier extending 600 feet out into the ocean with a 200-foot head across the end and was to cost about $75,000.

The Ocean Plaza was constructed in the Spring of 1946. Its cost, including the land, was set at $100,000 by Reynolds. In addition to the second floor ball room and third floor apartments, the first floor had a restaurant, bath house, dress shop and beer parlor. The owner, Reynolds, had been living atop the Ocean Plaza. Collier, the new owner, had purchased the old Ogburn home on the northwest corner of Lake Park Blvd and Cape Fear Blvd for his private residence. WILM.STAR, 11-16-1947.

 

November 25, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
Mr. and Mrs. Alexander O. McEachern celebrated their golden wedding anniversary with an open house at their home on Carolina Avenue, Carolina Beach. WILM.STAR, 11-25-1947.

 

November 25, 1947 …. Carolina Beach
The city of Carolina Beach secured funds to proceed with their municipal improvement program of street construction, water and sewer improvements, through the sale of $84,000 worth of bonds by the government commission at Raleigh.

In addition to laying extensive water mains and sewers, the beach program also embraced paving the principal thoroughfares not already paved. WILM.STAR, 11-16-1947.

 

January 15, 1948 …. Carolina Beach, Kure Beach, Fort Fisher
The winter bus schedule of the Queen City Coach Company for Wilmington, Carolina Beach and Fort Fisher went into effect today. Communities served by the Wilmington-Fort Fisher route were Masonboro Junction, Seagate, Myrtle Grove, Seabreeze Junction, Carolina Beach and Kure‘s Beach. The first bus left Fort Fisher at 5:45 a.m. and reached Wilmington 6:30 a.m. The last bus to leave Fort Fisher was at 12:15 a.m. and arrived in Wilmington at 1 a.m. WILM.POST, 1-12-1948.

 

January 19, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
The State Highway Commission notified New Hanover County that the Request from Carolina Beach residents for improvements to several streets at the resort had been rejected. WILM.POST, 1-19-1948.

 

February 6, 1948
Mayor A.P. Peay, of Carolina, proclaimed today as a “Day of Prayer” at the resort. This special day corresponded to a worldwide observance of a “world Day of Prayer.”
Special prayer services were conducted at St. Paul‘s Methodist Church with a picnic lunch of the church grounds. WILM.POST, 2-5-1948.

 

February 20, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
Mrs. Ida Belle Abernethy, a native of Wilmington, will manage the Carolina Realty Company, a new real estate firm set up at Carolina Beach by F.E. Livingston & Company. Mrs. Abernethy was the daughter of the late
Captain Dick Burnett and a sister of Councilman R.L. Burnett. WILM.POST, 2-21-1948.

 

March 3, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
A charter was issued by Secretary of State Thad Eure in Raleigh to Palais Royal, Inc., of Carolina Beach, which will operate as a hotel firm. Listed as stockholders were Aaron Goldberg, Abe Rubin and Henry Omirly. WILM.POST, 3-3-1948.

 

March 11, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach was experiencing a building boom which sent construction costs there to more than $250,000 by June 1. The construction projects included business structures, residences, apartments, and municipal buildings. The business construction included a new bus terminal valued at $30,000 and $50,000 worth of private commercial building by A.L. Mansfield, E.C. Register, Roscoe T. Griffin, James Cotroukis and William Hodges. Most of the business structures were located on the ocean front. Apartments and private residences were being built by A.L. Mansfield, J.R. Bame, Mrs. R.E. Bracken, E.W. Sessoms, Mrs. Doris Clardy, Sam Frisbee, Raymond Starr, J.R. Dodson, J.E. Wilson, Glenn Tucker and W.E. Tucker.

Carolina Beach planned to construct a pump-house to increase the resort water supply at a cost of $5,000 and a $5,000 equipment shed at Third and Raleigh streets, was recently completed.
Building improvements included expansion of the Southern Bell Offices and brick-veneering of the Bame Hotel, as well as erection of an American Legion home at Third and Raleigh streets. In addition to all there was a $182,000 street program underway. WILM.POST, 3-11-1948.

 

March 13, 1948
It was announced that Bishop W. Walter Peele, of Richmond, Va., would be the principal speaker at the 6th annual Easter Sunrise Service at Carolina Beach. The service was to be held Easter Sunday morning at 6 o‘clock on the Boardwalk at the end of Harper Avenue. A choir of 75 mixed voices from the churches of Carolina Beach, would perform under the direction of Mrs. J. Myatt. Bishop Peele served as pastor of the Methodist churches in Raleigh and Charlotte, before being elected bishop.
The arrangements committee included Jim Laney, R.R. Russell, Dan Grady, C.F. Lewis, Jr., and Mrs. David Blackman. WILM.POST, 3-13-1948.

 

March 24, 1948
The City of Wilmington withdrew its opposition to cutting an inlet at Carolina Beach, which would herald the return of shell fishing industry there. An injunction against the proposal was brought by the city in 1941.
The injunction was vacated when it was found that the city‘s water supply would no longer be endangered by cutting of the inlet. WILM.POST, 3-24-1948.

 

April 1, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach Growing. – Upwards of a quarter million dollars of new construction authorized by the city building inspector was underway at Carolina Beach, as the beach prepared for the 1948 season. Largest of the new buildings going up was the bus terminal of the Queen City Coach Company. The new terminal was to cost $30,000.

Among other large structures was to be a $20,000 drug store with apartments above in the rear of the new post office and a $10,000 concession pavilion on the boardwalk. Also the completion of the new boardwalk.
The town of Carolina Beach was also pushing the completion of its $200,000 sewer and water line extension program.

 

April 9-11, 1948
Carolina Beach was conducting a “Clean-Up Week” in preparation for the Wilmington Azalea Festival. Mayor A.P. Peay of Carolina Beach issued a proclamation in connection with the Sorosis Clean-up Campaign for Wilmington and New Hanover County. WILM.POST, 3-18-1948.

 

May 2, 1948 …. Fort Fisher
Flames threatened to destroy the administration building, assembly hall and all cottages and dormitories of the Baptist Seaside Assembly at Fort Fisher, but the combined efforts of the Carolina Beach and Kure‘s Beach fire department prevented serious damage.
Several Small buildings were destroyed as the flames, fanned by a stiff west wind swept in from the Cape Fear River, raced across the underbrush. Fortunately the fire hydrants were still usable which were left over at the gigantic Camp Davis anti-aircraft artillery range from World War II. The fire departments and the available hydrants saved the main buildings which were the summer headquarters for the North Carolina State Baptist Convention. WILM.STAR, 5-3-1948.

 

May 12, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
Isabel Lewis from Kure Beach was made queen of the day at the formal opening of Carolina Beach for the 1948 season. Upwards of 10,000 visitors poured into the resort which was described as the largest opening day crowd in the history of the resort.

 

May 15, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
More than 15,000 persons crowded into Carolina Beach on May 15th and 16th. It was the largest crowd so far this season. The crowd was estimated at 50 per cent greater than the 10,078 who visited the previous weekend. The bright sunny weather saw the surf crowded with bathers and the beach covered with persons seeking sun tans. Thousands were on the boardwalks caused by an unusual boom in business establishments. For the first time this season all hotels were filled to capacity. WILM.STAR, 5-17-1948.

 

May 25, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
Built of the stuff of which heroes are made, 12-year-old Douglas Batson, son of Mr. and Mrs. W.H. (Bill) Batson, of Carolina Beach yesterday afternoon saved Peggy Brown, 10, from drowning at imminent risk of his own life. She was swept by the swells 100 yards across the slue and Douglas went immediately to her aid and finally succeeded in bringing her back safely to shallow water, a distance of 100 yards.

 

July 5, 1948
The 4th annual home-coming day of the Carolina Beach Community Church will be held on July 11th. The modest structure which houses the worshippers of the Community Church was the first church building to be erected at Carolina Beach proper, built in 1932.

 

July 8, 1948
Police Chief Bruce Valentine announced that one new officer had assumed duties and two additional men will be hired immediately to patrol Carolina Beach throughout the remainder of the 1948 beach season, which ended officially September 15th. George R. Richardson, of Maffitt Village, was the latest addition to the police force. Presently ten men compose the resort‘s law enforcement department. WILM.STAR, 7-9-1948.

 

July 11, 1948
The fourth annual home-coming day at the Carolina Beach Community Church was held. The modest structure which houses this church was the first church building erected at Carolina Beach proper. A large out-of-town attendance had been expected and it happened. Special music was provided with Mrs. S.D. Kelly as soloist and Mrs. B.F. Mallard and Mrs. Joseph V. Marley rendering a duet. Dinner was served outside on the grounds, and there was a special morning and afternoon service. The pastor of the church was Rev. J.B. McQuere, who was the church‘s first full-time pastor who was called in January, 1944. WILM.STAR, 7-4-1948.

 

July 16, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
The Carolina Beach town board formally adopted a budget of $109,425,500 for the 1948-49 fiscal year, and reduced its tax rate by 10 cents to $1.50 on the $100 property valuation. WILM.STAR, 7-17-1948.

 

August 1, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
A $100,000 street improvement and a half-million gallon water storage facility will be started at Carolina Beach this coming fall, according to Mayor A.P. Peay. The mayor also reported that the sewerage disposal system would also be enlarged.

 

August 4, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
J. Frank Collier, president of the Carolina Beach Fishing Pier Corp., announced that construction will begin immediately on a modern fishing pier at Carolina Beach. It will be between 800 and 900 feet long. The pier will be built on Carolina Beach Avenue, North, and 16th Avenue. WILM.STAR, 8-4-1948.

 

September 11, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
A special meeting was held at the City Hall by the Lions Club of Carolina Beach. They were there to celebrate their charter which had been recently granted to them. It was officially presented by H.W. Hood, district governor of Lions International. Eugene Ballard of Wilmington served as master of ceremonies, and Ed McMahon, of Brevard, N.C., a member of the board of directors of Lions International, was the main speaker. Following the charter presentation, a dance was held, with Bob Berman and his Orchestra providing the music. The organization of the Carolina Beach Lions Club was sponsored by the Leland Club, under the direction of Mac F. Jones, president. The new club had a charter membership of 24, which had been meeting bi-monthly for three months. Glenn M. Tucker, a former member of the Leland Club had been elected president of the new club. Other officers included Guy O. Tripp, Albert Harris, Louis Leiner, J.C. Bame, James A. Knox, Cliff Smith, Jr.. The board of directors included Frank Collier, W.H. Shinn, W.L. Farmer and J.B. McQuere. The other members of the club were: Paul E. Bannerman, R.G. Barr, Fred E. Bost, E.F. Courie, Bert Jewell, Adolph Kaus, F.L. Ludwig, D.B. Mixon, M.T. Ridaught, Edgar Sessoms, Bruce Valentine and George Wood. (STAR, 9-10-1948)

 

September 20, 1948
Alvin (Red) Willetts was elected post commander of the Carolina Beach American Legion Post held in the Legion Hut. The meeting was presided over by retiring Post Commander Earl Kluttz and was attended by 28 of the 39 members. The other officers chosen were: Robert (Bb) Lamb former principal of the Carolina Beach school, first vice commander; Edward Sears, Kure Beach service station operator, second vice commander; Jason S. Brown, third vide commander; Ernest Bame, of Bame Hotel, finance officer; and Jerry J. Krinuk, sergeant at arms. WILM.STAR, 9-21-1948.

 

September 23, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
The 1948 summer season at Carolina Beach was successful in nearly every respect despite the polio ban. This was the opinion of Mayor A.P. Peay. Also of an optimistic view, two buildings with masonry walls were to be erected in the business district in the near future.

George B. Applewhite, Carolina Beach realtor, also was of the opinion that the past season was very successful from a business viewpoint. WILM.STAR, 9-24-1948.

 

October 4, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
The first polio cast to occur at Carolina Beach this year was Benjamin Clifton, age 5, who was admitted to the contagion ward at the James Walker Memorial Hospital. His case was the 54th for New Hanover County this year. WILM.STAR, 10-5-1948.

 

December, 1948 …. Carolina Beach
Albert Benway, 76, formerly of Wilmington, died at West Peabody, Mass. He moved from Wilmington in 1918, was the father of W.A. Benway, operator of Benway Concessions, at Carolina Beach. WILM.STAR, 12-24-1948.

 

July 1949 …. Carolina Beach
Randy H. Hamilton, 28, professor of political science at U.N.C., was hired as city manager. His salary was set at $4,500. STAR, 7-15-1949.

 

August 7, 1949 …. Carolina Beach
Lloyd V. Kirby, 26 year old former resident of Lexington, N.C., purchased “Bob City” at Carolina Beach from A.W. Dugan, Jr., and he planned to operate it as a “juke box dance hall.”

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1950 – 1964

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, THE STATE magazine, Wilmington StarNews

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

1950 ….
FEDERAL POINT  – The U.S. Corps of Engineers applied a coat of cement to the top of “The Rocks” for added protection.   (Wilm StarNews, Action Line, 3-18-1971)

 

January 19, 1950 …. Carolina Beach
Survey work on a $100,000 Carolina Beach yacht basin was begun this week. The beach was trying to engage the marine expert, Chas. E. Chaney, of New York, to design the basin.

 

February 7, 1950
John W. David Died. Born 4-20-1881. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

 

May 9, 1951
James Strom Craig, 70 years old, married, died in Wilmington, N.C.  Native of New Hanover County, N.C. Interment in Oakdale Cemetery, Wilmington, N.D., Section R., Lot No. 70, owned by Melvin T. and James H. Craig.

 

July 1951
Baby Boy Russell died. No age given. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

 

January 9, 1952 …. Wilmington Beach
The entire south wing of the Breakers Hotel at Wilmington Beach was damaged by fire. The roof and third floor of the south wing were gutted and the damage was estimated at upwards of $35,000. Earl Russ, manager and co-owner with John Crews of LaGrange, believed that the fire had started by a kitchen stove fire.

Russ suffered from exhaustion and smoke inhalation following the fire. The blaze was discovered by four Kure Beach youths, Jasper Self, Chester Hewitt, Henry Hewitt and David Outlaw, who assisted in removing clothing and furniture from a rear apartment. The Carolina Beach pumper was first on the scene and other apparatus joined in soon after. Jack Knox was the volunteer chief of the Carolina Beach fire department. Russ and Crews had purchased the hotel only two months earlier and had put $5,000 worth of repairs and new furnishing into the building. There was partial insurance.   (Wilm Star, 1-10-1952)

 

January 14, 1952
Lonnie S. Snipes, a well known carpenter at Carolina Beach, died in the Wilmington Hospital. He was born May 14, 1884 in Marion County, S.C. Survived by his widow, Amanda Fulcher Snipes, one son and seven daughters. Interment was in Greenlawn Memorial Cemetey.   (Wilm Star, 1-15-1952)

 

January 27, 1952
A.H. Kluttz Died. Born March 15, 1895. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery. His wife was G.E. Kluttz.

February 8, 1952
David Lemuel Rich died. Born 2-2-1884. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

February 4, 1954
Hoy? J. Kluttz died. Born 4-9-1930. NC SFC Btry A. 518AAA Gun Bn. CAC.

October 12, 1955
George C. Henniker Died. Born 2-26-1876. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

October 13, 1955
James D. Hinson died. Born Feb. 16, 1925. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

June 14, 1956
Charles A. Witherspoon died. Age 77 years. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

March 6, 1958
Mrs. Hattie V. Lewis died. Age 66 years. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

July 19, 1958
Clarence Hewett Died. He was married to Ella A. Hewett, who died December 2, ? , aged 32 years. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

July 19, 1958
Charles F. Lewis, Sr. Died. Born February 20, 1901. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

May 29, 1959
William Willard Lewis died, Age 66 years. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

 

June 21, 1959 …. Carolina Beach
The Raleigh NEWS & OBSERVER was advertising the following Carolina Beach businesses:

Ocean Plaza Ballroom– Free Dancing Daily – Featuring Name Bands All Season – Sonny Furr, Manager.

Mrs. High‘s Dining Room – The Pine Room – 120 Cape Fear Blvd. – Sea Food Platters and Well Seasoned Vegetables – Excellent Food.

Sun‘n Surf Motel – on the Ocean Front – Modern Rooms- Private Baths – Mr. and Mrs. E. T. Durham.

Tart‘s Rooms and Apartments – Ocean Front – North End of Board Walk – Large Porches – TV in Lobby – Concession Stand in Building – Modern Bath House – Life Guard on Duty – C. Graham Tart, Owner/Mgr.

Fisherman‘s Steel Pier – in the Heart of Carolina Beach – Large Tackle Shop – Souvenirs- Grill.

Center Fishing Pier – Tackle – Bait – Beach Wear – Restaurant – Two blocks south of Carolina Beach. Ross Cottages – Rooms and Cottages – 1 block from Waterfront –

Frank Robbins, Real Estate – Ocean Front Cottages and Apts. Reasonable Rates – Frank Robbins, Jr.,
Associate – J. H. ―jim‖ Burton, Associate.

Tucker Real Estate – Cottage and Trailer Lots – $25.00 down;$10 per mo.

Betsy-Bill Apartments – Ocean Front Rooms & Apts. 33 Carolina Avenue-Mrs. W.Z. Aycoth.

Lake View Apartments – Ocean Front Rooms & Apts. 33 Carolina Avenue – Mrs. W. Z. Aycoth.

Shinn Realty Company, Realtor – Sales and Rentals –

Spencer Motel, opposite Center Pier – Rooms and Apts. – Alice V. Deaton.

“C” View Court Apartments – All outside Rooms- Cool- Stoves and Refrigerators – Hot Showers – 100 block Carolina Ave., North- Mrs. Fred Williams

Whitt‘s Rooms and Apartments – Private Baths – Ample Parking.

Cliff Lewis Real Estate – Rentals and Sales-

Ocean Crest Apartments – On the Ocean Front – Next to Amusement Center- Across from Fishermen‘s
Steel Pier – Mrs. Billie Summerlin.

Blue Waters Court – Ocean Front Facing Pier – Miniature Golf – Maid Service – TV Lounge – Private
Baths –

Hotel Royal Palm – In the Center of All Activities – Air Conditioning – Fire Proofed – Free Parking –
Modern Cafeteria – Elmo Fountain, Mgr.

Carolina Beach Pier – Complete Bait and Tackle Shop – New Motel and Grill – North End of Carolina
Beach – Dan Holt, Operator.

Hotel Bame –New- Modern- Fireproof- 80 Rooms – 65 Baths – Dining Room – Grill.

THE ACCORDION – Ocean Front Motel – 30 Rooms – Private Baths – Cross Ventilation – Music on the
Marine Patio – Half Block from Steel Pier – Alice and John Washburn.

 

May 3, 1961
Charles Basil Witherspoon died. Age 53 years, Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

June 21, 1961
Roy R. McDowell Died. Born 11-7-1916. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

 

November 11, 1961 …. Carolina Beach
Pillars to support the new fixed span bridge across the Inland Waterway near Carolina Beach were in place. The bridge was not a “high-level” bridge, but was high enough to permit passage of boats using the waterway and would eliminate most of the congestion caused by pile-up of autos held up by the draw.  (THE STATE magazine, 11-11-1961)

 

1962
Martin Robert Blalock died. Born 1897. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1965 – 1969

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star and The State Magazine

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 21, 1965 …. Carolina Beach
A Greensboro company was the low bidder on grass planting on the Carolina Beach berm now under construction. The Southern Seeding Service bid $47,404 on the dune stabilization work.
WILM.STAR, 1-21-1965.

 

February 11, 1965 …. Carolina Beach
The first organizational meeting of the Carolina Beach Improvement Council was held. Jim Knox was elected president: R.B. Kepley as vice president and Mrs. Fred Bost as secretary. The group was organized as a coordinating committee to alleviate duplication of civic improvements among the various beach organizations. The idea was promoted by Mrs. Charles Mathews. The representatives serving on the Council included: Lions Club, Knox and Ernes Bame; Chamber of Commerce, Kepley and Jack D. Davis; Woman‘s Club, Mrs. Bost and Mrs, Edith Bame; P.T.A., Mrs. A.C. Lacroix and Mrs. T.S. Hines; Garden Club, Mrs. Betsy Burnett and Mrs. Troy Shackleford; City Council, Jack Webb and Henry Saunders, and U.D.C. Mrs. Mathews and Mrs. Glenn Tucker. WILM.STAR, 2-12-1965

 

March 21, 1965 …. Carolina Beach
The Carolina Power & Light Company crews were to carry out construction work on a 33,000-volt line between Wilmington and Carolina Beach. This included customers south of the Inland Waterway at Snow‘s Cut, this including Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher. Crews would be doing work on the Wilmington Beach and Carolina Beach substations at the same time. WILM.STAR, 3-20-1965.

 

April 29, 1965 …. Carolina Beach
The Carolina Beach town council rezoned the western end of town. The special meeting was also used to create a new zone: RA-12. Rezoned was the area from Fourth Street to Dow Road all the way across town. The area was formerly RA-6. The new zone will demand a 100-foot frontage, 30-foot depth to front yards and 10-foot wide side yards. Before, houses in that area could be built on 50-foot lots. Town Manager Jack Webb said the move was designed to “encourage” the construction of “more permanent residences.”

The town council also opened bids on a front-end loader and municipal street sweeper, but made no decisions. WILM.STAR, 4-30-1965.

 

May 4, 1965
Two incumbents were among the three men elected to the Carolina Beach City Council. Councilmen Henry E. Saunders and Robert Lamb were re-elected to the Council with 191 and 168 votes. Placing second was Richard B. Kepley with 184 votes. Just below Lamb was E.F. Courie Sr. with 167 votes – one less. The number voting at Carolina Beach were 393. There were 696 registered voters. WILM.STAR, 5-5-1965.

 

June 8, 1965 …. Carolina Beach
The Carolina Beach Town Council began the study of the budget report. Considerable discussion was given to life guard services on the beach and the need for extension of the services. Permits were issued allowing bands to perform in The Pub and the Last Chance Bar and Grill. WILM.STAR, 6-10-1965

 

July 28, 1965 …. Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach Police Chief D.L. Tanner resigned. He had served on the police force about 18 years and for the past three years had been police chief. Police Sgt. James Temple was appointed the new chief of police. He asked that the appointment be on a trial basis. Temple had been on the police force for three years, and had a total of about 11 years service in police work. Tanner was allowed to fill the sergeant position vacated by Temple. WILM.STAR, 7-28-1965.

 

October 19, 1965 …. Carolina Beach
James H. Knox, chief of the Carolina Beach Fire Department, spoke to the Carolina Beach Woman‘s Club on fire prevention and what to do in case of a fire. The club met at St. Paul‘s Methodist Church with Mrs. William Benway presiding. Mrs. Naomi Greene was voted into membership, and refreshment were served by hostesses Mrs. W. L. Burnett Sr., chairman; Mrs. John Fergus, Mrs. D. M. Greer, Mrs. C.M. Randolph, Mrs. Jack Davis, Mrs. E.E. Bowden, Mrs. Carl Ferris, Mrs. J.R. Lewis, Mrs. H. N. Neal, Mrs. Victor Sullivan and Miss Myrtle Caviness. WILM.STAR, 10-19-1965.

 

October 24, 1965 …. Carolina Beach
St. Paul‘s Methodist Church held its 22nd Annual Homecoming with a former pastor, the Rev. W.M. Wells, Jr., as guest minister. During the past seven years St. Paul‘s had carried on a extensive modernization program. During this period it had erected a new sanctuary, educational building and parsonage.

The church was organized on July 18, 1943, with 33 charter members. The membership of the old Federal Point Methodist Church was absorbed in the new church. Today the church membership was 317 and the church school enrollment was 178. The present pastor was Rev. Thomas C. Fulcher, a native of West Virginia, who arrived in June, 1965 from Goldsboro. WILM.STAR, 10-24-1965.

 

October 27. 1965
Sarah E. Henniker died. Born 8-27-1887. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

December 18, 1965
John K. Lewis Died. Aged 68 years, 1 month, 13 days. Interment in Federal Point Cemetery.

September 29, 1966
James B. Craig, 75, of Myrtle Grove Sound, died in a Wilmington hospital. Interment will be in the Horne Family Cemetery. Born October 14, 1890, the son of the late Louis and Sally Elders Craig.

1966 …. Carolina Beach
Cliff Smith, Sr., one of the owners of the Landmark grill at Carolina Beach, died. He started his place of business at the same spot as a grocery store in 1932. The business survived the Depression years, a 1940 fire which destroyed the building, and Hurricane Hazel. His son, Cliff Smith, Jr., continued the business. WILM.STAR, 9-29-1978.

 

July, 1967 …. Carolina Beach
The Blockade Runner Museum opened near Carolina Beach to exhibit artifacts, illustrations, and dioramas concerning Civil War times in the Lower Cape Fear region. The owner and director of the museum was John H. Foard, a native of Wilmington. The visual aid dioramas were built by master miniature sculptor, Lionel Forrest; ship models constructed by John O. Railey; illustrations drawn by Charles Frye; and the historical background was provided by John Foard and his brother, Charles.   (THE STATE magazine, July 1983)

 

December 1967 …. Carolina Beach
The Blockade Runner Museum was commended for its contributions to the study of local history by the American Association for State and Local History.   (THE STATE magazine, July, 1983)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994