News Articles – 1897

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 1, 1897
The New Hanover Transit Company christened their new trestle by running a train to Carolina Beach. (Star, 1-1-1897)

 

March, 1897
Repairs on the Carolina Beach dock were about completed. The head of the dock had been strengthened with piling, and the railroad track on the approach re-laid, the old ties were replaced by new ones.

Capt. D.S. Bender, in charge of the government work, reported that it would require ten to fifteen days more to finish the repairing of the New Inlet Dam (“Rocks”). The break occasioned by a recent storm was not only being made good, but the dam was being further strengthened, and extended at the east end so as to extend well over on the sand reaches. About 25 men were on this work. (Star, 3-5-1897)

 

April 5, 1897
Col. R.A. Jenkins had leased the Oceanic Hotel for the season and it was being thoroughly overhauled and put in good condition. (Dispatch, 4-5-1897)

 

May 21, 1897
The old bath house had been washed away, but Col. Jenkins, of the beach hotel, was having another more commodious one erected. The hotel will soon open for the season.

 

May 16, 1897
(advertisement) Hans A. Kure, manager, announced that the Carolina Beach Pleasure Club was now open for the accommodation of members. The management was to spare no pains to make this season the most enjoyable of the club. Ladies and gentlemen friends were cordially invited to come down and try their hand at Ten Pins and Billiards and Pool. (Messenger, 5-16-1897; 6-8-1897)

 

June 2, 1897
Mrs. R A. Jenkins came from Winston, N.C. to join Colonel Jenkins at the Hotel Oceanic, Carolina Beach. Ten young ladies came down with Mrs. Jenkins to take positions as waitresses in the hotel. (Messenger, 6-4-1897)

 

June 2, 1897
The family excursion to Carolina Beach was quite a pleasant affair. About 250 persons went down, although the weather was not what was desired. There was music and dancing, and the ladies served delightful refreshments. The boat made three trips down. The last boat brought the excursionists back to Wilmington at 11:20 p.m. (Messenger, 6-3-1897)

 

June 8, 1897
A license was granted to Hans A. Kure for the sale of spirituous liquors at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 6-8-1897)

 

June 9, 1897
The cottage on Carolina Beach known as the “Castle” was for sale. It contained six rooms. It’s original cost was $1,000. Was now offered cheap. (Messenger, 6-10-1897)

 

June 9, 1897
The new summer schedule was issued for the steamers to Carolina Beach and Southport. The yacht UNDINE was to run in connection with the steamer WILMINGTON. Passengers could leave Wilmington for the beach four times a day and for Southport two times a day. The fare was 15 cents round trip. On Sunday the steamer WILMINGTON was to make two trips to the beach only. (Messenger,  6-9-1897)

 

June 16, 1897
Dr. and Mrs. Webster, of Siler City, accompanied by their charming daughter, were now occupying their cottage at Carolina Beach for the summer. (Dispatch, 6-16-1897)

 

June 16, 1897
Mr. Will West was to have charge of the bath house at Carolina Beach this season. (Dispatch, 6-16-1897)

 

June 21, 1897
Carolina Beach notes:

  • Mr. Robert Morse, of Southport, was the guest of Mr. S.K. Bradford.
  • Two new cottages will be built this month. Work commenced today.
  • Miss Mamie Morris, of Wilmington, was spending a while at the beach, the guest of Miss McDuffie, of Fayetteville.
  • A colored excursion – St. Mark’s Episcopal Church – had full possession of the beach today.
  • The little yacht UNDINE was kept busy between the pier and Southport bringing over the beach parties. (Dispatch, 6-21-1897)

 

June 22, 1897
The Brooklyn Baptist Sunday School gave a delightful excursion on the steamer WILMINGTON to Carolina Beach. The steamer made three trips and carried about 350 people. Music was furnished and refreshments served. Everyone enjoyed the occasion. (Messenger, 6-23-1897)

 

June 23, 1897
Carolina Beach notes:

  • A large turtle was captured by Mr. S.D. Bradford in the act of laying eggs. 133 eggs were caught in a bag as she laid them. She measured 4 feet long, from head to tail, and 3 feet wide. The head was seven inches in diameter, and the turtle weighed about 300 pounds. She was turned on her back and later loaded in an ox cart and hauled to her final resting place.
  • Mr. R. C. Banks accepted a position at the club house with Mr. Hans A. Kure.
  • The cottages at the beach included Mr. W.A. French, Mrs. Currie, Mrs. L. Vollers, Mr. Wilson and Mr. R.E. Ward.
  • Mr. R.W. Smith offered his desirable cottage on the south end for sale.
  • Messrs. D. Hanna, G.W. Linder and J.W.H. Fuchs came down and occupied their cottages for the summer.
  • The government dredge AJAX was kept busy dredging the channel around Harper’s Pier. (Dispatch, 6-23-1897)

The annual excursion of St. Thomas’ Catholic Church was held today to Carolina Beach aboard the steamer WILMINGTON. There were various games for amusement and an excellent dinner was served at the pavilion. A vapor stove was carried along and its utility in furnishing meals hot was shown off. Mr. Timothy Donlan, Capt. John Barry, Mr. James Allen and Rev. Father Dennen were in charge of the excursion. (Messenger, 6-22-1897)

 

June 23, 1897
About 300 people went down to Carolina Beach. . . Some enjoyed walking on the beach and others “disported themselves in the briney deep.” Some remained in the pavilion and joined in the dancing or played ‘Ringing the Geese.” Music for the dancing was provided by a string band. . . The occasion was a fine success and all had a pleasant time. (Messenger, 6-24-1897)

 

June 24, 1897
Carolina Beach Notes:

  • Mr. D. McEarthern was building two new cottages.
  • The new bath house had been completed.
  • The life line was put out yesterday.
  • A turtle which had been recently captured was butchered by Mr. Will West and was found to contain 613 eggs after laying 133 earlier, making a total of 746. Turtle steak and soup was added to the Sunday menu. (Dispatch, 6-24-1897)

 

June 24, 1897
This was Methodist day at Carolina Beach and the steamer WILMINGTON carried down about 600 of them. The occasion was the annual excursion of the Sunday School of Grace M.E. Church. About 400 went down on the first boat at 9:30 a.m., and they carried their dinner baskets full of good things. They ate on the beach and in the pavilion. Ice cream and cold drinks were also served. Other boats went down at 3 p.m. and 5:15 p.m. and they all returned to Wilmington at 8 p.m. the steamer was very crowded. (Messenger, 6-25-1897)

 

June 28, 1897
Dr. J.D. Webster left for Comnock for a few days on professional business.
Mr. W.H. Gerken had taken Mr. R.C. Bank’s place. B.B. had gone to the Seashore Hotel to accept a position as clerk.
Two gentlemen went out to the wreck for about an hour and returned with a lovely string of sheephead and pigfish. (Dispatch, 6-28-1897)

 

June 29, 1897
Carolina Beach Notes:

  • Mr. D. McEachern is building a cottage at Carolina Beach, and Mr. Neill McEachern is doing the same.
  • The Charlotte Brass Band will arrive at the beach on July 18th and will go into a month’s encampment at Carolina Beach.
  • A list of Wilmington people and others who have gone down with their families are as follows: Messrs. H.C. McQueen, William Wilson, W.A. French, W.A. French, Jr., H.L. Vollers, L.H. Vollers, R.M. McIntire, Rev. G.M. Tolson, R.S. Collins, James W. Collins, J.C. Stevenson, Mrs. C.P. Bolles, L.H. Skinner, S.W. Skinner, G.W. Linder, D. Love, C.W. Yates, Wm. Fuchs, George B. Hanna, Mrs. Annie Hullen, Wesley Corbett, J.A. Springer, W.O. Sullivan, Walter Smallbones, W.P. Price, Mrs. Currie, of Atlanta; Dr. Webster, of Siler City; Prof. C. L. Smith, of Liberty, Mo., C.A. Robbins, of Charlotte; Mr. Christian, of Minneapolis.
  • The Oceanic has a large number of guests. (Star, 6-29-1897)

 

July 4, 1897
John M. Whiteman, Jr. was the proprietor of the Carolina Beach Restaurant, south of the Pavilion. Meals were served promptly at all hours. Fish dinners were a specialty. (Messenger, 7-4-1897)

 

July 5, 1897
Since the Fourth of July fell on the Sabbath, the holiday was celebrated on the Fifth of July at Carolina Beach. A match game of ten-pins was played and the prize was a gold medal. The runs of the steamer WILMINGTON to and from the beach was under the auspices of Concordia Castle No. 1, Knights of the Golden Eagle. The committee of arrangements included Messrs. G.W. Carter, J.S. Sheeden, Wm. Simpson, J.F. Casteen, D.D. Cameron and Thomas Tart. (Star, 7-2-1897)

 

July 10, 1897
Carolina Beach Notes:

  • Work was progressing rapidly on Mr. Neill McEachern’s two new cottages.
  • A horse belonging to Mr. Vrans Swann attempted to take a surf bath and was drowned.
  • Mr. G.T. Durly, of Virginia, had leased the “Castle” and was to occupy it for the season.
  • Many new guests were arriving at the hotel daily and with pretty waitresses and a string band, the Colonel was to have an exceedingly popular house. (Star, 7-10-1897)

 

July 16, 1897
The residence of Mrs. Susan J. Foreman, in Federal Point Township, about 2 miles below Carolina Beach, was burned. The fire originated from the explosion of an oil lamp. (Star, 7-23-1897)

 

July 20, 1897
A family excursion to Carolina Beach was to be held under the auspices of the Wilmington Hook & Ladder Company, No. 1. Senor John Francisco’s Italian Band was to furnish music for dancing and Mrs. E. Warren & Son was to furnish the refreshments. The Wilmington Mandolin Club and the Munson Quartette, one of our finest musical organizations, was to render a select program on the boat and at the beach. The Committee of Arrangements included J.K. Williams, H.J. Gerken and W.P. Monroe. The last boat would leave the Beach at 11:20 p.m. (Dispatch, 7-15-1897)

 

August 5, 1897
A large alligator was shot at Carolina Beach pier. The saucy monster swam all about the wharf and amused the excursionists for an hour or more. An old colored man happened to have an old army musket, and he took a shot at the reptile. The ‘gator’ took off at the report of the weapon his hide containing a dose of lead. (Dispatch, 8-6-1897)

 

August 12, 1897
Prof. R.B. Reardon, “the colored tonsorial artist,” planned to establish a barbershop at Carolina Beach for the benefit of the patrons of the beach. (Dispatch, 8-12-1897)

 

August 22, 1897
Rev. Mr. Rondthaler, of Winston, N.C., preached a fine sermon on the hotel piazza at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 8-24-1897)

 

August 26, 1897
The S.F. Craig Farm was for sale in Federal Point Township, about 4 miles from Carolina Beach, a tract of land containing about 103 acres, running from the Cape Fear River to the Ocean. About 35 acres were cleared and under fence and under cultivation. The ground was good for truck crops, peanuts, potatoes, etc. Fruit trees also grow well there, and there are also a number of grape vines on the land. There is a dwelling containing five rooms and a kitchen, all in fair condition. The tract will be sold cheap for cash, or will give reasonable time for part of purchase money. (Messenger, 8-26-1897)

 

September 1, 1897
The members of the new yacht cub to be started at Carolina Beach held a meeting at the City Hall in Wilmington to organize. An advisory board was appointed and included Capt. John W. Harper and Messrs. D.C. Love, H.E. Bonitz, E. Schulken and H.D. Springer. Herbert McClammy, Esq. was requested to draft a charter for the club. The plan and style of the club house was then discussed. It was the unanimous opinion that the building should be two stories in height. have upper and lower verandas entirely around it, and should contain a dancing hall 40 by 60 feet on the second floor.

Capt. J.W. Harper had donated a strip of land on the beach beyond the “Castle” for the site. It was suggested that a name for the new club should be offered by a young lady and a suitable prize awarded. The contest for naming the club would be closed on October 1st. The club started off with a flattering membership of 82. (Dispatch, 9-2-1897; 9-7-1897)

 

September 27, 1897
The stockholders of the New Hanover Transit Company held their annual meeting in the office of Murchison & Company, on North Front Street, Wilmington. The treasurer’s report showed that the company did a very satisfactory business for the fiscal year.

The receipts were 50 per cent greater than last year, and the net earnings showed a corresponding increase. The company proposed to lay a system of sewerage and put in a new waterworks by the next season.

The following officers were re-elected for the next year – H.C. McQueen, president; D. O’Connor, vice president; John W. Harper, general manager; J.C. Stevenson, secretary and treasurer. The directors were H.C. McQueen, D. O’Connor, John W. Harper, J.C. Stevenson, A.D. Brown, and Louis H. Skinner. (Messenger, 9-28-1897)

 

October 20, 1897
A meeting of the subscribers to the Carolina Beach Club was held in Wilmington at the City Hall. Herbert McClammy, Esq. presided. The application for a charter was read and discussed. The building plans were exhibited as drawn by Mr. H.E. Bonitz. The plans showed that the building would be an ornament to the Beach. The cost would be $2,500. Permanent officers were to be elected at the next meeting. The ladies were requested to send in names for the club to Mr. W.A. French, Jr. The winner of the name contest would receive a free pass to Carolina Beach for the 1898 season, with club house privileges. (Star, 10-21-1897)

 

October 28, 1897
The new yacht club at Carolina Beach was named “Atlantic”, which was suggested by Miss Hattie M. Whitaker. For giving the name to the club, Miss Whitaker received the annual pass and privileges of the club so generously offered by Captain J.W. Harper. The new club met at the City Hall in Wilmington to elect officers for the ensuing year. They were: W.A. French, Jr., president; Fred Kidder, vice president; W.A. Wilson, Jr. secretary and treasurer. The Executive Committee included W.A. French, Jr., Fred Kidder, Major D. O’Connor, and Messrs. DeWitt C. Love and D. McEachern. This committee was requested to draft a suitable constitution and by-laws and to pass upon the plans submitted by the building committee. (Dispatch, 10-29-1897)

 

November 15, 1897
It was announced that work would shortly be commenced on a telephone line to Carolina Beach from Wilmington. The proposed line was first suggested during the past summer but no action was taken. The stockholders of the New Hanover Transit Company made arrangements with the Interstate Telephone Company to build a line to the beach. (Dispatch, 11-16-1897)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1898

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 6, 1898
The executive and building committee of the new club to be started at Carolina Beach held a meeting and accepted the plans of Mr. H.E. Bonitz for a two-story club house with modern improvements. The name of the club was changed from “Atlantic” to “Sedgeley Hall.” Work of the club was commenced about February 1st.

 

January 7, 1898
The plans for the “Sedgeley Hall” club house, as submitted by Mr. Henry E. Bonitz, of Wilmington, were accepted. The building at Carolina Beach will be of wood, two stories high, with an auditorium 30 by 40 feet and a swinging gallery. A two-story verandah will run entirely around the building.  (Star, 1-7-1898)

 

January 9, 18/98
The name of “Sedgeley Hall, adopted by the club recently formed for Carolina Beach, was suggested by Mrs. Maria Fosgate, of Wilmington. . (Star, 1-9-1898)

 

January 11, 1898
The author James Sprunt wrote: “Near Gander Hall are the ruins of Sedgeley Abbey, which was the grandest colonial residence of the Cape Fear. It was erected about 170 years ago by an English gentleman of wealth and refinement, named Maxwell, who owned all the lands as far as Smith’s Island.

The house was built of coquina. The south wing of the building was standing until about 1873, when it was demolished and the building material was burned for fertilizer by an unsentimental tenant. A beautiful avenue of oaks extended by the mansion on the east for 1,500 feet towards the ocean in full view, and a corduroy road, which may still be seen, was built through a bay and lined with trees to the river landing. It was thought by many residents nearby to be haunted.” (Messenger, 1-11-1898)

 

January 11, 1898
The author James Sprunt wrote: “Near the landing at Carolina Beach may be seen a fine grove of old oaks, which many years ago sheltered an attractive estate still known as Gander Hall. It was owned in 1830 by Captain James McIlhenny, of an honored and respected family on the Cape Fear”. (Messenger, 1-11-1898)

 

January 20, 1898
Col. R.A. Jenkins returned to Winston-Salem, having concluded the contract and signed the papers for the lease of Carolina Beach Hotel for the coming season. He was to return about June 1st with his family. He planned to open the hotel about June 15th. (Star, 1-21-1898)

 

January 20, 1898
At a recent meeting of the subscribers of the new club to be located at Carolina Beach by the German community of Wilmington. Messrs. C.F. Von Kampen, Martin Rathjen, M.G. Tienken, F. Richter, Charles Schulken, H. Burfeindt, H.L. Vollers, H.T. Duls, M. Schnibben and J.G.L. Gieschen were appointed a committee to select a site and submit a plan for organization for the club.

Today the committee left the city on the steamer WILMINGTON to visit the beach for the purpose of selecting a site for the new club. Upon arrival at the beach about 11 a.m. they looked about for a site and selected one next north of the cottage known as “The Castle.” The lot fronted on the ocean about 200 feet and it ran back about 200 feet to the sound, the entire lot being donated for the purpose by the New Hanover Transit Company. The location was a most admirable one.

After selecting the site, the party was entertained with an oyster roast with the usual condiments, given by Capt. Harper. The roast was served very near the hotel. After the oyster roast the party took the hand car back to the pier, and while the steamer was on her way back to the city, the committee held a meeting at which they adopted a name for the new club, “The Hanover Seaside Club.” It was suggested by Mr. J.G.L. Gieschen. (Messenger, 1-21-1898)

 

January 20, 1898
Colonel R.A. Jenkins, of Salem, N.C., who for the past three summers conducted the Hotel Oceanic at Carolina Beach was arranging for the lease of the hotel for the next season. He leased the hotel from the New Hanover Transit Company. (Messenger, 1-21-1898)

 

January 26, 1898
The plans drawn by H.E. Bonitz, Wilmington architect, were accepted at a meeting of the Executive Committee of the Sedgeley Hall Club for their new club house.  (Star, 1-27-1898

 

January 26, 1898
Rev. Father James F. Macklin, of Washington, D.C., bought a lot on Carolina Beach from Mr. J.L. Winner. It was his plan to erect a handsome two-story residence. (Star, 1-26-1898; Dispatch, 1-22-1898)

 

January 27, 1898
The subscribers to the Hanover Seaside Club, the new Carolina Beach club, met at the Adrian Hall for the purpose of affecting a permanent organization. There were now about 80 subscribers. The Site Selection Committee reported the selection of a site north of “The Castle” cottage at Carolina Beach and the report was adopted. The Constitution and By-Laws Committee reported, the constitution and by-laws adopted by the committee, and the same was adopted.

The membership fees were fixed at $20 each, and the annual dues at $3. It also provided for seasonal memberships and memberships for ladies. After the adoption of the constitution and by-laws, the club was permanently organized by the election of the following officers: C.F. VonKampen, president; M.G. Tienken, vice president; J.G.L. Gieschen, secretary and treasurer. (Messenger, 1-28-1898)

 

February 2, 1898
William A. Wilson, Jr. secretary and treasurer of the Sedgeley Hall Club, invited bids from contractors for the construction of a club house. Plans and specifications were available. (Star, 2-2-1898)

 

February 8, 1898
The new Federal Point road delegation asked for a special appropriation of $250 to change the course of about 2 miles of their road, starting about 8 miles from the city. The cost would be for 7,000 yards of ditching. It was claimed that the change would save the traveling of about 4 miles of deep sand road for quite a number of people in that section. Messrs. Hines and Horne were spokesmen for the delegation. (Star, 2-8-1898)

 

February 11, 1898
Col. John D. Taylor, clerk of the Superior Court, received from Cyrus Thompson, N.C. secretary of state, the charter granted by the State to Sedgeley Hall Club of Carolina Beach. The incorporators were Herbert McClammy, Esq., Major D. O’Connor and Messrs. W A. French, Jr., D.C. Love, D. McEachern, W.A. Willson, Jr., F.R. Hawes and M.W. Divine. The time allowed to exist, under the charter, was 60 years, dating on and after the 10th inst. The application made for the charter stated that the club was entirely a social one. (Messenger, 2-12-1898)

 

February 11, 1898
The charter and incorporation papers of Sedgeley Hall Club were received yesterday. The capital stock was set at $2,000, divided into two hundred $10 shares. Only the members of the club can own stock, and they were not allowed to transfer it. No member may own more than one share, and the club was to have full power to declare the forfeiture of a share, and no membership can be retained after forfeiture of stock has taken place The price of a share or membership cannot be increased to an amount exceeding $25. (Star, 2-12-1898)

 

February 23, 1898
The contract for erecting a club house at Carolina Beach for the Sedgeley Hall Club was awarded to Messrs. Stout & Tyler, of Wilmington. (Dispatch, 2-21-1898)

 

March 2, 1898
The work of constructing the handsome club house on Carolina Beach for the Sedgeley Hall club was begun. The steamer WILMINGTON transported twelve competent carpenters and had in tow a barge loaded with lumber to be used in the erection of the building. The work of the building was under the personal supervision of Mr. Thad F. Tyler, of the firm of Strout & Tyler, to which firm the contract for erecting the club house was awarded. (Messenger, 3-2-1898)

 

March 12, l898
Mr. Henry F. Bonitz, who is architect and superintendent, of the Sedgeley Hall club, reported that work was progressing satisfactorily. The frame work was up and everything looked favorable to the final completion by the first or middle of May. Mr. T.F. Tylel the contractor and builder, also reported satisfactory progress. (Star, 3-13-1898)

 

March 20, l898
The contract for building the Sedgeley Hall Club was been let. The club was to be a two-story building with broad piazzas up and down stairs. The main hall of the building will be 30 x 40 feet with a balcony extending to the ceiling. To the rear of the hall are the ladies’ and gentlemen’s’ reception rooms. These were divided by a passage 15 feet wide. To the rear of and adjoining the ladies’ parlor is a lunch room, and to the side of the parlor is the ladies’ toilet room. The second story was reached by a stairway leading from the passage way to the balcony. Around the balcony circle seats will be placed so that spectators may watch the dancers without taking up the dancing space. The second floor will have four rooms, one of which will be given up to the ladies. Work was to be begun on March 1st and finished and ready for opening by May lst. (Star, 2-20-1898)

 

March 21, 1898
The Hanover Seaside Club made application for a charter. The committee appointed to make the application was Messrs. J.G.L. Gieschen, H. Vollers and J.W. Duls. It was expected that the charter would be granted very soon. (Messenger, 3-22-1898)

 

March 22, 1898
An improved Rider hot-air pumping engine arrived for the New Hanover Transit Company for use at Carolina Beach. It was an 8-inch engine, manufactured by the Rider-Ericsson Engine Company of New York. It was to be used in pumping water into the tank at the beach and was to be a decided improvement over the old wind-mill arrangement.

Among its advantages was that it was absolutely safe, noiseless and economical. A pint of kerosene oil furnished power enough to pump 2,000 gallons of water fifty feet high. The engine would occupy 2 1/2 X 4 feet of floor space and it weighed 3,400 pounds. It was to be delivered by the steamer WILMINGTON. (Star, 3-23-1898. Dispatch, 3-23-1898)

 

March 24, l898
A car load of railroad rails, spikes and bolts arrived and will be delivered to Carolina Beach where they will be used in extending the railroad track a mile up the beach in front of and beyond the sites selected for the club houses of the Sedgeley Hall Club and Hanover Seaside Club.

The Sedgeley Hall Club’s house is half finished, and work will be commenced on The Hanover Club by the 1st of April. Messrs. J.G.L. Gieschen, Jake Duls, E.P. Bailey and M. Rathjen, of the building committee, laid off the site for their club house. It fronts 200 feet on the ocean, next north of the “Castle,” and extends through from the ocean to the sound. The plans for the house have been made. (Messenger, 3-25-1898)

 

March 24, 1898
Mr. H. Bonitz, the clever young architect, finished the plans and specifications for the Hanover Seaside Club house to be erected on Carolina Beach. The club house will be in the shape of a right angular cross and will cover a space of ground 92 feet in length and 61 feet in width .Completely circling the first, or lower floor, will be a substantial piazza of 2,760 feet; the second and last floor will have two piazzas, not circular, however, but one front and one rear, containing 1,000 square feet.

The main entrance will lead into a spacious auditorium, 30 by 40 feet, running the entire width of the building. At both ends of the auditorium will be two wings. The north wing will contain a ladies’ sitting room (1 X 20), ladies’ parlor (8 x 10), and a small ladies’ toilet room. In the north wing will be the cuisine apartment, dining room and lunch alcove. The culinary apartment will be a model one. The dining room will be commodious and airy.

Entrance to the second story will be only made from the outside. A well appointed billiard saloon (25 x 30 feet) will occupy the centre portion of this floor. A modern cafe and gentlemen’s smoking room will be located in the southern section and the northern section will contain two card rooms, a plain chamber and the custodian’s room.

The entire building will have perfect ventilation and all the windows will be fitted with chip glass which will not permit a glare to enter. The pitch of the first story will be 10 feet, 6 inches, and the second story, 9 feet and a half. The two piazzas will be 20 feet wide. Some distance from the club house will be erected bath houses for ladies and gentlemen. The main building and other structures will cost between $2,500 and $3,000. (Messenger,  3-25-1898)

 

March 28, 1898
The Hanover Seaside Club invited contractors and builders to submit proposals for the construction and erection of their club house on Carolina Beach. The plans and specifications could be had upon application to the architect, Mr. H.E. Bonitz. Bids were to be accepted until March 31st, 12 noon. (Star, 3-26-1898)

 

March 28, 1898
A petition was being circulated asking Postmaster W.H. Chadbourn to give the cottages on Carolina Beach, beginning May 15, a daily free delivery of mail by messenger on the morning and afternoon boat from Wilmington to the beach. It was a popular move and numerous signatures were obtained. (Star, 3-29-1898;  Dispatch, 3-29-1898)

 

March 29, 1898
The contractor and carpenters at work on Sedgeley Hall club house on Carolina Beach reported seeing a strange looking craft from the beach about two miles from the shore and it was bound south. From the description given she was evidently a torpedo boat. She was flying no flag. (Star, 3-30-1898)

 

March 29, l898
The U.S. Monitor TERROR passed close into the coast en route from Norfolk to Charleston. Some of the folks saw her and immediately became frightened and described her as a “strange craft,” and others thought she was a “torpedo boat,” but all were wrong. (Dispatch, 3-30-1898)

 

April 6, 1898
Mr. Thad F. Tyler, who had the contract for the erection of Sedgeley Hall Club House, came to Wilmington yesterday on the steamer NAVASSA. He reported that the weatherboarding was all up and the roof was on. Completion date was May 11th. (Star, 4-7-1898)

 

April 9,1898
Several shot were dug up at Carolina Beach during the progress of the work of excavating for the new club house (Dispatch, 4-9-1898)

 

April 27, 1898
One of the worse days experienced in a long time occurred today. It was cold and the wind blew fiercely all day. The Cape Fear River was lashed into a fury, Mr. T.F. Tyler reported that the occupants of a house at Carolina Beach sat up all night in the fear that the building would be blown down. It weathered the storm all right, though. And so did Sedgeley Hall Club house which had excellent foundations. Some of the telegraph lines were in distress until long after noon. (Star, 4-29-1898)

The wind blew big guns and hail fell in abundance. A cottage on the beach, the property of Mr. Hans A. Kure, was blown from its foundation and wrecked. It was not occupied. It was a total loss. (Dispatch, 4-28-1898)

 

April 27, 1898
The steamer WILMINGTON carried down 2,000 feet of lumber for the Carolina Beach water works. (Star, 4-28-1898)

 

May 6, 1898
The wire of the telephone line to Carolina Beach was up. The boxes were to be put up as soon as the cottagers moved down to the Beach. (Dispatch, 4-9-1898; 4-23-1898)

 

May 8, 1898
Dan W. Galloway had been elected janitor of the new Sedgeley Hall Club House. (Star, 5-8-1898)

 

May 12, 1898
A number of men from Fort Macon, N.C. went down the river on the steamer WILMINGTON on their way to Corn Cake Inlet. They were to erect a battery to defend the inlet which makes in at the upper end of Smith’s Island. The inlet was large enough now to admit small steamers such as torpedo boats and torpedo boat destroyers. (Messenger, 5-13-1898; Dispatch, 5-12-1898)

 

May 17, 1898
The steamer WILMINGTON carried a quantity of lumber to Carolina Beach which was to be used in the construction of the Signal Station. The station was to be a two-room cottage with an observatory. It was to be located near the beach at a point nearly off the old wreck of the BEAUREGARD. Mr. L.H. Vollers was the contractor. About eight carpenters were at work on the building. (Star, 5-18-1898)

 

May 20, 1898
Lieut. George L. Morton went down to Carolina Beach to inspect the work on the Signal Station. The building was to be completed inside in about two weeks. At present the Signal Corps were quartered in Capt. S.W. Skinner’s cottage. (Star, 5-21-1898)

 

May 20, 1898
Mail service to Carolina Beach and to Wrightsville Beach was to begin on July 1st. Owing to the exhaustion of the government appropriation, the service could not begin earlier. One carrier was to attend to the mail at both beaches, giving Wrightsville an early morning delivery and taking the mail for Carolina Beach on the steamer WILMINGTON every day at 2:30. (Star, 5-20-1898)

 

May 23, 1898
Mr. John Wallace, of Long Creek, Pender County, was to be the engineer on the line of railroad connecting the pier with Carolina Beach. The steamer WILMINGTON carried ten pieces of railroad iron to be used at Carolina Beach in extending the railroad to the Sedgeley Hall Club house. (Star, 5-24-1898)

 

May 24, 1898
A number of the stockholders of Hanover Seaside Club went down to Carolina Beach to look after the club house. Work was progressing rapidly. The frame was up already, and it was not to be very long before the building was completed. (Star, 5-25-1898)

 

May 27, l898
Sedgeley Hall Day was celebrated at Carolina Beach. This was the formal opening of the new and handsome club house for the public to have the opportunity to tour the building. The steamer WILMINGTON made three trips to the beach, having large crowds each time. The building was painted a light olive with maroon and dark olive trimmings and an Indian red roof, and it harmonized charmingly with the surroundings.

The first thing after the color that was noticed was the great amount of verandah space. There was 240 running feet of verandah, 12 feet wide. They were located on both floors. Entering the building you were in the auditorium or dance hall. This was 30 by 40 feet in dimensions. Over it was a swinging balcony of 140 running feet and with 6 feet width from which spectators could look at the dancers without being in the way, Sedgeley Hall Club being the second in the State to adopt this exceedingly convenient arrangement.

On the south side of the auditorium was the ladies’ parlor, 25 X 22 feet, and a lunch room, 13 x 14 feet. On the northern end were located two gentlemen’s apartments for smoking, lounging, etc., with the same dimensions as on the south end. There were also conveniently arranged lavatories, and the club was excellently equipped with improved plumbing and drainage. A broad flight of stairs led up to the second floor where there were four roomy apartments or lounging rooms for ladies or gentlemen. All parts of the building were abundantly supplied with chairs and hammocks and other arrangements for comfort and recreation.

There were two octagonal bath houses on the west side of the club houses, one for the ladies and one for the gentlemen, and both had shower baths attached. There was fully 350 feet on gangways placed around the club house. Mr. Dan W. Galloway, the custodian, was clever and obliging and an expert swimmer – bathers need not fear when he is around. (Star, 5-28-1898)

 

June 2, 1898
The prettiest building at Carolina Beach is the Sedgeley Hall Club House. It stands at the extreme upper end of the railroad and faces the best part of the beach for surf bathing. The building was designed by Mr. H.E. Bonitz and built by Mr. T.F. Tyler, both of Wilmington. The workmanship is well executed. Besides a 10-room cottage which Mr. Tyler is building for Mr. Kure, he is superintending a lot of reconstruction and painting. (Dispatch, 6-2-1898)

 

June 3, l898
The Hotel Oceanic, at Carolina Beach, opened for the season. The steamer WILMINGTON made an extra trip on the evening of June 2nd to carry down Captain R.A. Jenkins’ family and helpers who arrived on the Cape Fear & Yadkin Valley Railroad. Captain Jenkins ordered literalized milk for the benefit of cottagers and guests. (Dispatch, 6-2-1898; Messenger, 6-2-1898)

 

June 3, 1898
The Oriental Pleasure Club held their excursion to Carolina Beach. The Committee of Arrangements included Messrs. J.T. Cowan, L.O. Smith, Clifton Anderson and Thomas W. Mintz, with Mr. Will West, Jr., as manager. (Star, 5-29-1898)

 

June 13, 1898
Mr. Allie Price, of the Naval Reserves signal corps stationed at Carolina Beach, visited in Wilmington for a short time. This was the first time any member of this corps had been in the city since they were placed on duty about a month ago. A leave of absence, even for a short time, has to be obtained by wire from headquarters at Norfolk, Va. Mr. Price looked quite neat in a spotless suit of white and tan leggings. Since the beach season opened, life at the beach was less monotonous.

 

June 15, 1898
Mr. W.A. French, Jr. and family have moved to Carolina Beach for the summer. (Dispatch, 6-15-1898)

 

July 4, 1898
The greatest crowd in its history visited Carolina Beach and the day was delightfully spent by the great crowd of pleasure-seekers. The Concordia Castle Knights of Golden Eagle had charge of the holiday excursion and afforded every opportunity for enjoyment. A brass band discoursed music at the Oceanic Hotel and a string band furnished music for dancing at the pavilion. The dancing continued until the last boat left the beach. The target match between teams of the Wilmington Light Infantry and the Naval Reserves attracted great interest. The scores resulted in a tie. (Dispatch, 7-5-1898)

 

July 8, 1898
Carolina Beach was occupied with the celebration of the opening of the Hanover Seaside Club. The residents of the beach and visitors from Wilmington turned out in fairly large numbers. The disagreeable weather interfered materially with the crowd.

During the day the club house was given up to the members and their families. They roamed through the building admiring the many conveniences to their heart’s content. Refreshments were served all day, and in spite of the rain and gloom without, it was a day of joy and merriment within.

At night the club house was brilliant with lights and resonant with the sound of music. Numerous couples glided over the handsome ball room floor to the strains of music dispersed by an excellent band. In the bowling alley, which is just north of the club house, there was much enjoyment, also this popular game was well patronized. Just above the ballroom was the billiard room and the pool and billiard tables were kept steadily in use. In adjoining rooms refreshments and cigars were served to all.

The club house has bath rooms, sleeping rooms, dining rooms, and refreshments always on hand, served by Mr. J.F. Stolter. The very delightful program for the special day was carried out by Messrs. F. Richter, Martin Schnibben and E.P.H. Strunck, the club committee. The Executive Committee included Messrs. C.F. VonKampen, president; J.G.L. Gieschen, secretary; E.P.Bailey, J.W. Duls, M. Rathgen, and H.L. Vollers. (Star, 7-9-1898)

 

July 12, 1898
The Western Union Telegraph Company was building a telegraph lline from Wilmington to Carolina Beach, a distance of about 16 miles. This was for the U.S. government and was to be one of the links in the system of signal stations being established on the Atlantic coast. The line ran down Front Street and went along the Federal Point road after it leaves the city. Poles were being placed along the route. The office at Carolina Beach was to be in the signal station which had already been established there. (Messenger, 7-12-1898)

 

July 18, 1898
The Signal Station at Carolina Beach had been abolished. The government completed the telegraph line to the station on Saturday, July 16th, and the first message that was sent over it was the order abolishing the station. The telegram also ordered the men to report to Norfolk. The order was rather hard on the men, as they had made their arrangements to spend the summer on the beach, and one of them had rented a cottage for the season. The signalmen included Messrs. Alex. Greenbaum, Allie Price, J.R. Caudle and W.R. Middleton. (Dispatch, 7-18-1898)

 

July 19, 1898
The members of the Signal Corps left for Norfolk, Va..They were loud in their praise of Colonel R.A. Jenkins, the genial host of the Oceanic Hotel at Carolina Beach. Col. Jenkins made the life of the men a pleasure while they were stationed there by complimentary dinners and numerous other kindnesses which they would not soon forget. (Dispatch, 7-20-1898)

 

July 22, 1898
Mr. A.L. Price returned from Norfolk, Va. where the rest of the signal station crew at Carolina Beach were ordered to go. All of the men that composed the crew, with one exception, received an honorable discharge, preferring that than to go in the Navy as an ordinary seaman. The exception was Mr. J.R. Caudle, who went to Cape Henry as a government telegrapher. Chief Quartermaster Greenbaum and Second Quartermaster Milddleton were going home. Mr. Price resumed his former position in Wilmington at Capt. A.F. Brown’s dry good store. (Star, 7-23-1898)

 

July 24, 1898
The telegraph line to Carolina Beach had been completed but was not likely to be used, as the Signal Station had been abandoned. (Star, 7-24-1898)

 

July 28, 1898
Today was Howard Relief Steam Fire Engine Company Day at Carolina Beach. There was to be a gala style Tournament with many prizes. The prizes to be awarded the winners of the races were exhibited at the Acme Saloon, northeast corner of Front and Dock Streets, Wilmington. The Shooting Match had five prizes – a handsome silk umbrella, gold mounted pipe, rocking chair, walking cane and a briar pipe. The Bowling Contest had five prizes – cigar stand, satchel, walking cane, silver cup, tobacco pouch. The running race had two prizes – hammock and a necktie. The Sack Race had three prizes – set of silver spoons, box of cigars, and a pipe. The Bowling contest was to take place in the spacious and handsome Hanover Seaside Club building, and all other events will take place on the beach in front of the building. At night the festivities will conclude with a big frolic at the Hanover Club. (Messenger, 7-26-1898)

 

July 28, 1898
Mr. S.H. Fullenweider, a New York salesman, was walking up the beach at Carolina Beach, and he found a small leather bag opposite the wreck of the blockade runner which had been run ashore, nearly opposite where Sedgeley Hall club house now stands. The old vessel ran ashore during the war to escape from a Federal war vessel that was chasing her.

It is supposed that the leather bag was washed ashore from the old blockade runner, as it had barnacles on it and was nearly destroyed by salt water. In it were ten silver quarters, a roll of Confederate money, a case knife and fork, and some papers on which there was writing but not now legible. Three or four pieces of Confederate money are pretty well preserved as they were in the center of the roll. (Messenger, 7-29-1898)

 

August 1, 1898
The Baptist Boys’ Brigade went into camp at Carolina Beach. There were about 35 boys in the group. (Star, 9-2-1898)

 

August 1, 1898
The boys’ Brigade of the First Baptist Church, Wilmington, went into a camp at Carolina Beach. This was the first summer they had gone into a regular military style camp. Their friends were generous in the matter of contributions for their commissary and other camp equipment.

The officers of the Brigade were: H.G. Whitney, Captain; Chas. H. Herring, First Lieut; W.B. Muse, First Sgt; P.L. Smith, Second Sgt,; Arthur Sikes, Third Sgt.; C.H. Golden, Fourth Sgt.; Dave Boone, Commissary Sgt.; Junius Premport, Drummer; D.C, Marshall, First Cpl.; Lem King, Second Cpl,; Wash King, Third Cpl.; Alfred Jewett, Fourth Cpl. The camp was put up at Mrs. Kure’s place and their parade grounds were located at the former baseball ground. For parade purposes the Brigade was divided into companies. Company A. and Company B. The head officer was Otto Genaust who held the rank of Major. (Star, 7-29-1898; 7-31-1898)

 

August 8, 1898
The Baptist Boys’ Brigade, Capt. H.G. Whitney, which had been encamped at Carolina Beach since August 1st, broke camp and returned home. The boys enjoyed their stay at the beach immensely. (Star, 8-9-1898)

 

August 26, 1898
The crew of the steamer WILMINGTON gave an excursion to Carolina Beach, and Messrs. S.A. Greenlish and R.C. Platt managed the affair.

A new railroad station was added to the road between the Oceanic Hotel and the Seaside Club, which was dubbed “Platt Station” in honor of Mr. Phillip Platt, the steamer WILMINGTON’s clever engineer. The last boat returned to Wilmington about midnight. (Dispatch, 8-27-1898)

 

August 30, 1898
The Hanover Seaside Club at Carolina Beach tendered to the crew of the steamer WILMINGTON the use of the club house for their dance complimentary to the crew of the monitor NANTUCKET. Dancing was in progress from 6 to 11 p.m. All the privileges of the club house were extended to the NANTUCKET men. The club house committee who arranged the accommodations were Mr. Martin Rathjen, Mr. F. Richter and Mr. E.P.H. Strunck. The committee from the steamer WILMINGTON included Chief Engineer Philip Platt, Master Peter Jorgenson, and Pursers B.F. Swann and R.C. Banks. Messrs. S.A. Greelish and R.C. Platt were the managers of the dance, and John Cotton, of the NANTUCKET, was also a valuable assistant. (Star, 8-31-1898)

 

September 12, 1898
Capt. John W. Harper, of the steamer WILMINGTON, gave a free excursion to the old and sick colored people of the city. He carried about 600 of them to Carolina Beach and brought them back by 5 p.m. They enjoyed the outing to the fullest extent. They enjoyed the refreshing ocean breezes and many took surf baths. Many of the people were so old and feeble that their friends took them to and from the boat in carriages. (Messenger, 9-16-1898)

 

September 16, 1898
All the cottagers who had summered at Carolina Beach had moved back to the city and consequently the beach closed down today. There were no city people on the beach, even Mr. Hans A. Kure had gone. The steamer WILMINGTON ceased stopping at Carolina Beach. She now only made daily trips from Wilmington to Southport. (Messenger, 9-16-1898)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1899

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 8, 1899
(advertisement) The Nolan Cottage at Carolina Beach was offered for sale or rent. The cottage was located on one acre of land.   (Star, 1-8-1899)

 

January 20, 1899
(advertisement) The hotel at Carolina Beach was offered for sale, or it can be leased for a term of years.  (Star, 1-20-1899)

 

March 8, 1899
Captain John W. Harper had begun to put Carolina Beach in order for the coming season. The waterworks at the beach was being rebuilt and enlarged. A huge water tank to hold 18,000 gallons of water, was now being made by the Fore & Foster Company, Wilmington, and the frame for it had already been erected at the beach. The tank will be higher than the old one and will give sufficient force to throw a stream of water to the top of the hotel or any of the two-story club houses or cottages in case of fire. Pipes run up and down the beach to the various cottages and club houses, and they are thus supplied with water. The water at the beach was of very superior quality and the new tank will make it all the better.  (Messenger, 3-8-1899)

 

April 13, 1899
The annual meeting of Sedgeley Hall Club, of Carolina Beach, was held in the City Hall in Wilmington. Mr. James W. Reilly was called to the chair to preside. Annual reports were read, received and approved, and the election of officers for the ensuing year was held: Wm. A. French, Jr. was president; James H. Cowen was vice-president; Wm. A. Wllson, Jr. was secretary and treasurer. The Executive Committee included D. O’Connor, James F. Post Jr., and DeWitt C. Love.  (Messenger, 4-14-1899)

 

May 26, 1899
Mr. Thad Tyler, who had the contract for moving the Hotel Oceanic at Carolina Beach, moved the building back about 15 feet from its former location. This was made necessary on account of the constant encroachment of the tide.

The hotel was moved back on a line parallel with the cottages connected with the hotel and it and the cottages are to be connected with piazzas. The hotel building is to be generally overhauled and the hotel is to have piazzas, both on the first and second stories, fronting on the ocean.

Colonel R.A. Jenkins, the lessee of the hotel, expected to open for the season on June 1st. Mr. R .J. Lewis, the well-known caterer, is to be with him during the season.  (Messenger, 5-26-1899)

 

May 30, 1899
The formal opening of the Sedgeley Hall Club of Carolina Beach was a great success. Over 200 people were in attendance. The dance was the chief feature of the opening, and the ball room floor was alive the entire time. The guests of honor were a number of officers of the Naval Brigade, who attended in full regalia. The club of Wrightsville Beach and Hanover Seaside Club sent a large delegation.  (Messenger, 5-30-1899; 5-31-1899; 5-14-1899; 5-17-1899)

 

June 3, 1899
Colonel R.A. Jenkins, of Winston Salem, who had been the lessee of the Hotel Oceanic at Carolina Beach for the past three or four seasons, and a syndicate of several Winston gentlemen, have purchased the hotel from the New Hanover Transit Company.

Col. Jenkins will be the manager and will be assisted by his sons, Messrs. R.L. Jenkins and G.F. Jenkins. Col. Jenkins opened the hotel for the season recently and already has several guests who will spend the season at the beach. His caterer is Mr. R.G. Lewis, who was an artist in providing good things to gratify the appetite.

The ocean has been eating its way further inland every year at the rate of 15 inches a year. Since the hotel was built the ocean has encroached on it for a distance of 15 feet or more, and it became necessary to move the hotel further back on the beach. The removal was successfully accomplished by Mr. Thad Tyler, who set it back 40 feet from its former location. It is now on a line with the cottages. It is estimated that at the present rate, it will take the ocean another 20 years to get to the hotel in its present location.

Several rooms had been added to the hotel, giving now 42 rooms. Col. Jenkins plans to enlarge the hotel again next season by the additional an “L.” With this addition the hotel will then contain 70 or 80 rooms. The apartments in the “L” will be handsomely carpeted and furnished, as they will be further back from the ocean front where it was not so damp as to injure the furnishings.   (Messenger, 6-3-1899)

 

June 9, 1899
The best boat schedule ever run to Carolina Beach was to go into effect. Capt. John W. Harper, general manager, announced the new schedule that the steamers WILMINGTON and SOUTHPORT were to run. There were to be five daily trips to Carolina Beach and three daily trips to Southport.

The fare for the round trip was to be 15 cents. The crew of the steamer WILMINGTON included Capt. Harper, Mr. George Warren as his mate, Mr. R.C. Banks would be purser, and Mr. Phillip Platt engineer. The crew of the SOUTHPORT was to be Capt. Peter Jorgensen, Mr. Tom Taylor, mate, and Mr. Tom Platt, engineer.  (Semi-Weely Messenger, 6-9-1899)

 

June 12, 1899
Colonel W.A. Johnson was elected president of the Sedgeley Hall Club, of Carolina Beach, in place of Mr. W.A. French, Jr., who resigned on account of lack of time to fulfill the duties of the office. Sedgeley Hall Club was now on a boom, and the management intended to keep her booming. Several dances were on taps, as well as a big Fourth of July celebration.   (Messenger, 6-13-1899)

 

June 12, 1899
Miss Lucy McEachern, daughter of Mr. D. McEachern, fell from a boardwalk at Carolina Beach and broke her left wrist.  (Messenger, 6-13-1899)

 

June 16, 1899
Proprietor Jenkins, of the Oceanic Hotel of Carolina Beach, was predicting a great season. He had engaged a band for the entire season and there was to be dancing every night. There would be a special big dance once a week with an attractive feature and it was “to be all the go.” The first dance was on June 20th.  (Semi-Weekly Messenger, 6-16-1899)

 

June 30, l899
A Bicycle Meet took place at Carolina Beach. It included five races, and there was an exhibition of trick riding on the side. All the races were to either start or finish in front of the Oceanic Hotel. The first two races were to be championship races. One will be a mile, time limit 2:20 for the Hilton Park Medal, and the second was a quarter of a mile, time limit 32, for the Carolina Beach Medal.

For both races some of the swiftest of the swift entered. They were John E. Platt, James K. Forhsee. R.J. Sellers, Alfred Jewett, Vance Montgomery and J.H. LeGwin. W.B. Litgen had also entered for the quarter of a mile race.

Race No. 3 was to be a novice race, contested only by riders who had never raced before. The entries were J.J. Loughlin, Clarence K. Davis, Fred Russ, W.E. King, R.H. Orrell, J.L. King, and William Blake. The course will be half mile and the time limit 1:20.

The half a mile race open to cyclists who did not participate in the other races was to take place next. The time limit being 1:32. The entries were W.E. King, Willie Blake, J.G. Premport, J.A, Price, J.J. Loughlin, R.L. Sellers, George Philips and Fred Russ.

One of the most interesting incidences of the meet will be an “Old Ladies” race, in which Miss Belinda Pincushion and Miss Kittie Soapsuds would strive for supremacy. This was to be conducive to mirth, pure and simple and plenty of it.  An exhibition of trick riding was to be given by Mr. Arthur McDonald. The officers of the race were: J.M. Wright, starter; F.P. Turrentine, referee; A.P. Yopp, C.H. Berry and W.F. Morris, judges; Claude Fisher, Harry Helm and W.L. Jacobs, time keepers.  (Messenger, 6-30-1899)

 

July 2, 1899
Carolina Beach was on a veritable boom. The applications for cottages were more numerous this season than any other season in the history of the resort. Every cottage on the beach was occupied, and there were applications for cottages daily.

Forty-one Wilmington families were occupying cottages and among the cottagers form other cities were Mr. H.C. Irwin and family, Mrs. F.D. Alexander, Charlotte, N.C.; Mr. Hunter and family, Jonesboro; Mr. J.T. Goodwin and family, and Miss Nettle Chesnutt, Clinton; Miss Allie Bundy, Laurinburg; Mr. W.N. Saunders, Smithfield; M Walter Watson and family, Fayetteville; Mr. W.A. Robeson, Mr. W.B. Burney and family, Columbia, S.C.

Besides the residents and cottagers, the hotel and boarding houses are crowded with guests. Recently there were delightful dances at the Hanover Seaside and Sedgley Hall Clubs. The number of visitors and pleasure seekers has been the largest since the beach was opened.  (Messenger, 7-2-1899)

 

July 7, 1899
The Second Regiment Band rendered one of its superb concerts, and then a big dance followed at the Oceanic Hotel. The band gave its concert in the evening after supper. The dance later was a decidedly enjoyable affair.  (Messenger, 7-7-1899)

 

July 12-13, 1899
The North Carolina Press Association held its annual convention at Carolina Beach. It convened at the Sedgeley Hall Club House and was called to order by the president, Editor W.C. Dowd, of the The Charlotte News.

Mayor A.M. Weddell, of Wilmington, delivered the welcome address on part of the citizens of Wilmington. By courtesy of Capt. John W. Harper, general manager of the Hanover Transit Company, the editors were at liberty to go back and forth on the steamer WILMINGTON free of charge. Mr. Sol Bear, with his customary courtesy, had sent the association a case of claret to cheer them in their work.

During the afternoon and evening the Hanover Seaside Club gave a complimentary ball to the Press Association at its splendid club house at the beach.  (Messenger, 7-12-1899)

 

July 20, 1899
Sedgeley Hall Club gave a concert and dance and the members of all the other clubs, Atlantic, Carolina and Hanover Seaside were invited. The Second Regiment band provided the concert early in the evening, and the Seashore Hotel Orchestra furnished music for dancing later in the evening. All passengers on the 5:15 and 7:30 p.m. boats were also invited to attend.  (Messenger, 7-19-1899)

 

July 28, 1899
Captain John W. Harper had made arrangements to have a performance by Phillips’ Genuine Negro Minstrels at the pavilion at Carolina Beach. The performance was to be given specially for the entertainment of the people and visitors at the beach. Phillips’ Minstrels belong in Wilmington and had given several excellent performances at the Wilmington Opera House. They were noted for their clean performances, and ladies and children could attend with the greatest propriety.   (Messenger, 7-26-1899)

 

August, 1899
A West Indian storm or hurricane struck Carolina Beach. Large numbers of the cottagers and guests at the hotels came up to the city to spend the night. Winds of 65 miles per hour were reported at the beach. Capt. Harper anchored the steamer WILMINGTON at the river pier at Carolina Beach ready to take the remaining residents of the beach on board and bring them to the city should the storm conditions become severe enough to drive them from the beach for refuge.

The tide on the Carolina Beach was the highest that had been known in many years. The breakers swept over the beach to the sound at both the Sedgeley Hall and Hanover Seaside Club houses, as well as the intervening beach. At the hotel the surf also washed up quite high, reaching the steps and throwing spray on the porches. There were forty cottages above the hotel and the surf flowed between them all, breakers actually rolling up on the porches in several instances and washing into cottage hallways. Damages at Carolina Beach were reported as minor following the storm.  (Star, 8-18-1899)

 

August 12, 1899
The First Battalion of the Boys’ Brigade, of Wilmington, were camping at Carolina Beach. They called their camp “Camp Kenan.”

On August 14th the principal amusements were target practice and baseball. The first target was a porpoise. Later a dress parade was held in front of the hotel. After supper there was target practice, with a U.S. Springfield rifle and regulation targets. Each man had three shots each. Capt. Loughlin, Sgt. Price and Sgt. Parker made the best shots.  (Dispatch, 8-14-1899)

 

August 20, 1899
Carolina Beach cottagers were treated to a fine sight in the shape of an immense school of porpoises. There seemed to be several hundred of them, and they came within an eighth of a mile of the shore.  (Dispatch, 8-21-1899)

 

August 20, 1899
Captain Ed Wilson Manning, county superintendent of schools, took a trip to Carolina Beach and duly organized a school committee there, which was to come under the scope of District No. 9 of Federal Point Township. The committee elected Mr. Thomas H. McGee, chairman, and Mr. Marion Winner secretary. The third member was Mr. Edward W. Davis. There was only one school in the district, a colored one, and the committee selected a young colored woman as teacher.  (Messenger, 8-23-1899)

 

September 16, 1899
The season at Carolina Beach closed, and Captain John W. Harper, of the steamer WILMINGTON and general manager of the Hanover Transit Company, proclaimed the past season as the most successful in the history of the popular resort. During the season the steamer WILMINGTON had carried 42,000 people to the beach. It was also learned that for the next season the hotel was to be more than doubled in size.  (Messenger, 9-19-1899)

 

September 21, 1899
The stone dam (Rocks) between Zeke’s Island and the Big Marsh was damaged by the recent hurricane. The force of the waves knocked the coping to the dam down in several places. Allen Clemmons with a small force of eight men had been at work the past week, putting the rocks back in place.   (Messenger, 9-22-1899)

 

November 3, 1899
A largely attended meeting of the stockholders of the New Hanover Transit Company was held in the office of Mr. H.C. McQueen, in the Murchison National Bank. A committee was appointed to ascertain the extent of the damage done to the railroad track on Carolina Beach and proceed at once to put the road all the way from the pier to the terminal above Sedgeley Hall Club house in thorough repair. The Company was determined to have the railroad line in thorough order by the early spring.   (Messenger, 11-4-1899)

 

November 15, 1899
Mr. Walter Smallbones had commenced the work of rebuilding his cottage, which was destroyed on Carolina Beach during the recent terrible storm. Mr. Smallbones was the first cottage owner to begin rebuilding.   (Messenger, 11-16-1899)

 

November 28, 1899
Capt. E.W. Manning, county supt. of education, had at last secured a teacher for the white school in Federal Point Township, School District No. 8. Miss Lucy Smith is the young lady who will teach the school. She was a graduate of the State Normal School and had experience in teaching. She was from the town of Leon, Duplin County. The school, which had not yet been opened this season, would now open at once.  (Messenger, 11-28-1899; Dispatch, 11-27-1899)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1900

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

May 17, 1900
All the county schools have closed for the summer. The last term to end was that of the Federal Point School taught by Miss Lucy Smith which closed today.  (Star, 5-19-1990)

 

January 10, 1900
The government was to use the rock which was dug up in dredging the Wilmington shoal in making repairs to the “rock dam” (The Rocks) at the mouth of the river.  (Dispatch, 1-10-1900)

 

January 15, 1900  
Contractor Thad F. Tyler was rebuilding the cottage formerly owned by N.M. McEachern at Carolina beach. S.W. Sanders was the new owner.  (Dispatch, 1-15-1900)

 

January 15, 1900
Contractor Thad F. Tyler began work with a force of carpenters and helpers at Carolina Beach today. His first contract was the rebuilding of the cottage formerly owned by Mr. N.M. McEachern. This work is to be done for Mr. S.W. Sanders who had acquired the cottage.

It was now known that eight of the other cottages which were damaged by the October storm will be rebuilt. They will be built further back from the ocean, most of them a distance of about 100 feet.

The work on the railroad had been completed and it was now just as it was before the storm, only further back from the ocean. The beach was left higher following the storm.

Repairs on the pavilion were to begin soon. It was to be just as it was before the storm. There was not too much to do except dig it out of the sand and fasten the boards which were shaken loose by the storm. Work was also to begin soon on the water works which had been disconnected.  (Dispatch, 1-15-1900)

 

February 7, 1900
A meeting of Sedgeley Hall Club was held. Many members were present. Col. W.A. Johnson, president of the club, and Mr. W.A. Willson, Jr., the secretary, were both present. Plans for repairing the damage by the October, 1899 storm were discussed and action was taken to raise the necessary funds.  (Messenger, 2-8-1900)

 

February 22, 1900

  • Mr. Hans A. Kure visited Wilmington and reported on the activity on Carolina Beach recovering from the terrible storm of October, 1899.
  • The building which Mr. S.W. Sanders bought from Mr. N.M. McEachern was now nearing completion.
  • Major O’Connor was building three new cottages, one for himself and two others. His own cottage was nearly completed. Mr. C.D. Morrill was the contractor.
  • The foundations were laid for Mr. D. McEachern’s new cottage. The work was being done by Mr. Vrans Swann.
  • Mr. Walter Smallbones’ cottage was about completed.
  • Mr. M.F. Coom was to soon have his cottage rebuilt, and it was learned that Mrs. L. Vollers was also going to build.
  • The repairs to the pavilion had been completed.
  • Work on the hotel was progressing favorably, also on the bar building close to the hotel.   (Dispatch, 2-23-1900)

 

February 28, 1900
The steamer WILMINGTON made a trip to Carolina Beach, leaving the city at 10 a.m. and returning at 5 p.m. Capt. Harper was prepared for a large crowd. Quite a number of the members of the Hanover Seaside Club took the trip, as well as many cottage owners who wished to check out their property. The weather was not perfect but the club members and cottage owners were scattered from one end of the beach to the other. (Messenger, 2-28-1900; 3-1-1900)

 

March 9, 1900
Captain McGee, who was in charge of the property on Carolina Beach, reported to Captain Harper of the steamer WILMINGTON that he saw a monster whale playing along the beach. He watched it for several hours while it swam about the waterfront, most of the time between the old blockade runner wreck and the club houses.

Captain McGee estimated that the whale was fully 100 feet long. He added that sometimes it would be close in shore for several minutes at a time, its huge body resembling the hull of a ship. Time and again it would spout water high in the air.

The presence of a whale on this coast is a very unusual sight.   (Messenger, 3-11-1900)

 

March 10, 1900
Oceanic Hotel, on Carolina Beach, was being thoroughly repaired and was to be in readiness for the entertainment of guests just as soon as the season opens.

Capt. J. W. Harper told a reported that extensive preparations were to be made to afford guests the very best accommodations. Four new cottages had just been completed and about eight more were to be finished before the season opened. Cottage owners were doing extensive repairs and adding improvements to their property, and it was not to be long before the beach would be in first class order.  (Messenger, 3-11-1900)

 

April 25, 1900
Captain Thomas McKee was the conductor on the Carolina Beach railroad.   (Star, 4-25-1900)

 

April 27, 1900
Capt. John W. Harper announced that the fare to Carolina Beach and return during the summer season will be reduced from 35 to 25 cents. This act by Capt. Harper will be much appreciated by the public. The steamer WILMINGTON was to make its inaugural trip to Carolina Beach for the season on Sunday, April 29th.  (Messenger, 4-27-1900)

 

April 28, 1900
Captain Harper, the genial master of the steamer WILMINGTON and proprietor of the Oceanic Hotel at Carolina Beach, said that he had furnished the 20-odd rooms in the Oceanic Hotel and would have them to let this summer. The rooms would be in charge of Mr. Joe Yopp.

It had been decided not to have boarding accommodations in the hotel building, and dining arrangements could be made with Mr. H.A. Kure and Dr. J.D. Webster in their well arranged boarding houses nearby. The bath houses were to be in charge of Mr. Vrans Swann, as usual. The saloon and cafe were to be conducted by Mr. W.V. Hardin, of Wilmington.   (Star, 4-29-1900)

 

May 6, 1900
Mr. H.A. Kure was thoroughly overhauling and putting in first class the Carolina Beach Hotel. The rooms in the hotel were to be well furnished and were to be rented by the day, week, or month. There were several first class dining halls accessible to the hotel.   (Messenger, 5-5-1900)

 

May 7, 1900
Mr. H.A. Kure went to Carolina Beach with about 25 men to begin to set things to rights for the coming season. He reported that he would have about fifty rooms at his disposal and he was going to change the name of his place from the Kure House to the Carolina Beach Hotel. He also had purchased the cottage of Mr. W.L. Smith, next door to his own place, and he was to build a dining room 46 x 18 feet there. The hotel was to open on May 25th.  (Dispatch, 5-5-1900; 5-24-1900)

 

May 15, 1900
The first moonlight excursion of the season to Carolina Beach was given by Colonel Walker Taylor’s Boys’ Brigade, for the benefit of the encampment fund. There were refreshments, music and dancing. The steamer WILMINGTON departed from the Wilmington wharf at 8 p.m. and returned to the city at 12 midnight.  (Dispatch, 5-10-1900)

 

May 17, 1900
The public school in the Federal Point Township, District No. 8, closed today. It was the last school in the county to close. The school was taught most acceptably by Miss Lucy Smith, Capt. Manning, the county superintendent, said the school had a remarkably successful year in every respect.   (Messenger, 5-19-1900)

 

May 21, 1900
The 20th of May, anniversary of the Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence, was celebrated in Wilmington and at Carolina Beach. It was also anniversary day for the Wilmington Light Infantry and they celebrated with an excursion to Carolina Beach. Aboard the steamer many of the ladies carried lunches. Mr. R.F. Warren was on board with a grand supply of sandwiches and other edibles and the Palace Bakery had a quantity of ice cream for sale.

The main feature at the beach was the annual target shoot. The company medal and two prizes were to be shot for. The judges of the contests were Col. W.A. Johnson, Adjutant Champ McD. Davis, and Capt. Donald MacRae.  (Dispatch, 5-21-1900)

 

May 21, l900
The exodus to Carolina Beach had begun. The steamer WILMINGTON was loaded with beach furniture. Among those who sent down household effects preparatory to spending the summer on the beach were Mr. Walter Smallbones, Mr. M.L. Croom, Mr. D. McEachern, Mr. Hans A. Kure and Mr. Joe L. Yopp. (Dispatch, 5-21-1900)

 

May 25, 1900
Real Estate Transfer:

  • Property on Carolina Beach, adjoining the east end of Hans A. Kure’s lot, from Winslow W. Smith, of Sanford, to Mrs. Ellen Kure; consideration $150.   (Star, 5-26- 1900.

 

June 4, 1900
Mrs. J.D. Webster, proprietor of the Atlantic View House at Carolina Beach, opened her hotel. It was to be conducted on the European plan during this season.  (Star, 6-3-1900)

 

June 5, 1900
Mr. G.W. Linder went down to Carolina Beach to arrange for his family to move down. His cottage was destroyed by the October storm and he was renting from Mr. Robert Smith. (Dispatch, 6-5-1900)

 

June 13, 1900
Col. Walker Taylor’s Boys’ Brigade gave an excursion to Carolina Beach. Their committee of arrangements included James A. Price, C.C. Loughlin, E.P. Dudley and Joseph Loughlin. The Sedgeley Hall Club was tendered for the use of the Brigade, and there was to be dancing and other features of entertainment. (Star, 5-31-1900)

 

August 6, 1900
The mullet season was to open soon. Fales & Nixon and Brooks & Taylor had ordered a quantity of new nets and several new sharpies for a new fishery to be opened at the Rocks. (Dispatch, 8-6-1900)

 

August 8, 1900
The Junior Order of American Mechanics gave its first family excursion to Carolina Beach on the steamer WILMINGTON.

 

August 21, 1900
During a thunder storm at Carolina Beach lightning struck a galvanized wire clothes line at Mr. J.L. Winner’s cottage and killed two of Mr. Winner’s calves. The current followed the wire to a cedar tree to which it was attached and also demolished the tree. Later a warning was given to all residents that wire clothes lines or wire fences should always be grounded as a means of safety.  (Messenger, 8-28-1900)

 

September 11, 1900
The Carolina Beach saloon closed for the season, and Mr. W.G. Malpas, of Point Caswell, who had been conducting it for Mr. J.V. Hardin, departed for his home.   (Messenger, 9-12-1900)

 

September, 13, 1900
The season closed at Carolina Beach. It was the most successful in the history of the popular resort.

Captain Harper, of the steamer WILMINGTON, closed the season with an act of benevolence. He gave a free excursion to the old colored people of the city. About 700 went down, and they enjoyed the day beyond words. Messs. Worth & Company, of Wilmington, furnished ice for the trip free of charge. Afterwards a message of thanks was given to Captain Harper by a committee of colored men, including John Harriss Howe, T.C. Hankins, J.O. Nixon, Allen E. Jackson, Thomas Rivers, Jr. and John Holloway. (Messenger, 9-14-1900)

 

September 19, 1900
Capt. Tom McGee, of Carolina Beach, was engaged as usual this winter keeping engines, cars and other railroad equipment in order. (Dispatch, 9-19-1900; 11-15-1900)

 

October 19, 1900
Sheriff MacRae will collect taxes at Biddle’s Store, Federal Point Township.  (Star, 10-19-1900)

 

November 28, 1900
Captain Tom McGee, who had charge of Carolina Beach during the winter season, came to Wilmington to arrange for having three new railroad cars built for the next season.  (Messenger, 11-28-1900)

 

December 1900
Sedgeley Hall Club was no more at Carolina Beach. The property was sold at auction to Mr. Andrew Smith, who planned to make a hotel of it. The sale was made to satisfy the claim of several parties interested, the debts of the club being about $1,600.

The largest claimants were Messs. S. & W.H. Nortrop, who furnished lumber to build the club in 1898. The property was knocked down to Mr. Smith at his bid of $1,000. The property included a spacious beach lot, and a handsome two-story club house on one of the most elevated portions of Carolina Beach. Sedgeley Hall Club was chartered February 10, 1898. The original membership list was 136, but many of them failed to pay in their shares and the club started off under embarrassments.

By last summer the membership had dropped to about 50 or 60, many members having dropped out as they were apprehensive on account of the litigation in progress. The last officers of the club were: Col. W.A. Johnson, president; D.C. Love, vice president; W.A. Wilson, Jr. secretary and treasurer. The Governing Board included W.A. Johnson, D.C. Love, D. O’Connor, John J. Fowler and James F. Post.  (Messenger, 12-30-1900)

 

December 29, 1900
By virtue of a decree of the January term of the New Hanover Superior Court, Herbert McClammy, Esq., receiver, sold at public auction the Sedgeley Hall Club property on Carolina Beach. The property was bid in by Mr. Andrew Smith for $1,000, the sale being, of course, subject to confirmation of the court.  (Star, 12-30-1900)

 

December 29, 1900
The property of the Sedgeley Hall Club at Carolina Beach was to be sold at auction for cash at the New Hanover County court house door today. The property was bordered by property of the New Hanover Transit Company’s railroad track, at its end as now located between the hotel building and ladies’ cottage or nursery, and another corner touching on land conveyed by the Carolina Beach Company to Rev. T. Fred. Price, by deed dated July 21st, 1892, registered in Book II, page 187; and then at a stake marked No. 42, being the same property described in a deed from the New Hanover Transit Company to Sedgeley Hall Club, dated February 10, 1898, and recorded in Book 21, folio 448. H. McClammy was the receiver for the Sedgeley Hall Club.  (Messenger, 12-21-1900)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1901

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

April 25, 1901
The patrons of Carolina Beach learned that this summer they will have the free use of Sedgley Hall club house, one of the most commodious and comfortable on the coast. The New Hanover Transit Company had leased the club house which was to be thrown open for the free use of those who go to the beach this summer. The club house was supplied with hammocks, rocking chairs and plenty of other seats, and with a bountiful supply of pure ice water and clean rest rooms. There were to be picnic tables and rooms available to surf bathers.  (Messenger, 4-26-1901)

 

April 25, 1901
Capt. J.W. Harper, of the New Hanover Transit Company, announced that his company had leased the Sedgeley Hall Club house, and that it would be opened for the free use of those who go to the beach this summer. The club house was one of the most commodious and comfortable on the coast. The club house would be supplied with hammocks, rocking chairs and a bountiful supply of pure ice water and there would be sanitary rest rooms available. A competent and courteous custodian would be placed in charge of the club house and he was to give polite attention to all visitors.   (Messenger, 4-24-1901)

 

May 18, 1901
The first excursion to Carolina Beach this season was run on the steamer WILMINGTON by Colonel Walker Taylor‘s Boys Brigade. The proceeds from the excursion were for the fund which the Brigade is raising to defray its expenses at its encampment to be held this summer. The round trip tickets for the excursion were 25 cents and it was hoped that a large crowd would go down to the beach. The Brigade secured Senor Cammariero‘s Boston Italian Band to furnish music for the day. The Boy‘s Brigade now had a membership of 40 and was one of the coming military organizations of the city.   (Messenger, 5-19-1901)

 

May 19, 1901
Mr. W.H. Biddell is making considerable improvements to the hotel at Carolina Beach. The Fowler cottage was moved up next to the hotel and converted into a bath house for ladies.   (Messenger, 5-19-1901)

 

May 20, 1901.
The Sedgeley Hall Club house on Carolina Beach had been rented from its recent purchaser, Mr. A.S. Heide, by Capt. J. W. Harper for the New Hanover Transit Company. It was opened for the benefit of the public. All visitors to the beach were invited to make the club headquarters while there. A competent janitor was in charge of the building both day and night.   (Dispatch, 4-25-1901)

 

June 3, 1901
A license for the sale of spirituous and malt liquors at Carolina Beach was granted to W.V. Hardin & Company.   (Dispatch, 6-4-1901)

 

June 9, 1901
Mr. W.F. Biddell, of the National Hotel, Lumberton, who had leased the Oceanic Hotel at Carolina Beach, gave notice that he was now prepared to serve the public and asked for a share of their patronage. His tables were to be bountifully supplied at all times with fish, crabs, shrimp and all sea foods.   (Messenger, 6-9-1901)

 

July 5, 1901
Real Estate Transfer:
A deed was filed by Herbert McClammy, Esq., receiver for Sedgeley Hall Club, transferring to Mr. A.S. Heide the handsome club house and grounds at Carolina Beach. Mr. Heide had bought the property earlier at a public sale for $1,050.   (Messenger, 7-6-1901)

 

September 3, 1901
The season was to close at Carolina Beach soon and Capt. John W. Harper was to take the steamer WILMINGTON to Baltimore to have a new boiler installed and other improvements made at a cost of several thousand dollars. He and the vessel will be gone for several weeks.    (Messenger, 9-3-1901)

 

October – November, 1901
Real Estate Transfers:

  • New Hanover Transit Company to Isabella C. Smallbones, parcel of land on Carolina Beach.   (Star, 10-23-1901)
  • The New Hanover Transit Company, by deed of date May 10th, 1900, transferred to J. D. Webster, for $135, a lot on Carolina Beach, adjoining the lands of H. A. Kure and John J. Fowler.   (Star, 11-30-1901)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1902

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

February 15, 1902
The Southern Bell Telephone Company announced that they would extend its service to Carolina Beach next summer. The company now had control of the government line which was built to the Signal Station in 1898. Mr. McManus, the company‘s manager in Wilmington, said that the service would be extended only for the benefit of patrons. It would probably not pay more than the expenses of operating it. Heretofore the Interstate Telephone Company had the only line to Carolina Beach. The government line was first class in every respect and it was 14 miles long. In case of war it was to go back to Uncle Sam. The only phones  to be operated at the Beach was to be about three pay stations.   (Dispatch, 2-15-1902; Star, 2-16-1902; Messenger, 2-16-1902)

 

February 23, 1902
The annual overhauling of the track and rolling stock of Carolina Beach railroad was to begin soon, with Capt. Tom McGhee in charge. Capt. Harper reported that he had many inquiries as to the lease of the hotel at Carolina Beach for next season.   (Star, 2-23-1902)

 

March 1, 1902
The annual overhauling of the engine, rolling stock and roadbed of the Carolina Beach railroad began today. New truck wheels were to be put on the engine, and the driving wheels were to be re-turned.   (Dispatch, 2-22-1902;  3-4-1902)

 

March 1, 1902
Capt. John W. Harper was contemplating the erection of a pier head at “The Rocks” near Fort Fisher. He gave the contract to Mr. A.J. Robbins, of Southport, and the work was to be completed by April 15th.  (Dispatch, 3-8-1902)

 

May 10, 1902
Capt. John W. Harper, of the handsome steamer WILMINGTON, proclaimed that everything was in readiness for the opening of the season on Carolina Beach, on May 20th. The railroad was in excellent repair, and the fare had been reduced to 10 cents each way. The round trip from Wilmington to Carolina Beach, about 30 miles, was now 20 cents.

The Hotel Oceanic was to be in charge of Mrs. Rebecca Eilers, and it was to be run as a restaurant. The rooms will be open to the public and chairs and cots were to be supplied for their comfort free of charge. (Dispatch, 5-10-1902.; 5-22-1901;  Star, 5-11-1902)

 

May 17, 1902
A sturgeon, 7 feet long and weighing over 300 pounds, was caught at ‘The Rocks’ and taken to Wilmington on the steamer WILMINGTON. The fish was a monster. (Dispatch, 5-17-1902)

 

May 20, 1902
The Wilmington Light Infantry (Company C, 2nd Regiment, North Carolina State Guard) was celebrating its 49th anniversary with an excursion to Carolina Beach. There was music, dancing, competitive target shoot, and a grand time in general.  (Messenger, 5-15-1902)

 

May 30, 1902
Mr. D. McEachern‘s family has moved down to Carolina Beach.  (Dispatch, 5-31-1902)

Mr. D. McEachern‘s family will occupy their cottage at Carolina Beach in a few days. Dr. Ed. C. McEachern is already on the beach and hopes that his stay there will soon benefit his health.   (Messenger, 6-1-1902)

 

May 21, 1902
The Gun & Rod Club was thinking of giving a ‘blow out’ when the new club house on ‘The Rocks’ was completed. It was expected that the club house would be completed in about 3 weeks.  (Dispatch, 5-21-1902)

Mr. Freeman Woods has the contract for erecting the club house at the ‘Rocks’ for the Fort Fisher Rod & Gun Club and he has now started work on the building. (Messenger, 6-13-1902)

The lumber for the new club house of the Fort Fisher Rod and Gun Club was sent down to the ‘Rocks’ and Messrs Wood & Barker began work. The building was to be of the very best material.   (Star, 6-11-1902)

 

June 15, 1902
A large number of people went down to Carolina Beach to hear a sacred concert by the Fort Caswell post band. It consisted of 14 pieces and the several selections were exceedingly well rendered. Mr. Phillip Burhhardt was the leader of the band and was a very clever gentleman.   (Messenger, 6-17-1902)

 

June 18, 1902
Colonel Walker Taylor‘s Boy‘s Brigade had their annual excursion to Carolina Beach on the steamer WILMINGTON. The company and about 200 of their friends went down and had a most enjoyable time. At the beach there was dancing at Sedgeley Hall Club up to 10:30 p.m., when the train left for the last boat for the city.   (Messenger, 6-19-1902)

 

July 4, 1902
Visitors to Carolina Beach were very severe in their criticisms for the poor supply of iced drinking water. There was an abundant supply of good water to drink, but it was very warm and no ice could be bought on the beach at any price. There was a refreshment stand at which could be had lemonade at five cents per glass, or if you preferred they would sell ice water at the same price. Capt. Harper explained the shortage of ice. He said that he did not furnish ice on excursions run by others, and the fault was with the committee of arrangements.  (Dispatch, 7-5-1902)

 

July 6, 1902
(advertisement) – FOR RENT – Sedgeley Hall, at Carolina Beach. Suitable for a family, fishing or marooning parties. Apply to D. O‘Connor, Real Estate Agent.  (Star, 7-10-1902)

 

July 10, 1902
The woods between the pier and Carolina Beach were on fire and the flames cast a bright reflection on the cloud-covered heavens. The engine was used to put the fire out. (Dispatch, 7-11-1902)

 

July 27, 1902
The Fort Caswell Post Band gave a concert at Carolina Beach.   (Star, 7-24-1902)

 

July 26, 1902
James Batson, an old negro, who formerly lived on Henry Taylor‘s plantation in Federal Point township, was arrested and locked up on the charge of abandonment. Batson says when he left Federal Point township he asked his wife to go with him, but she refused to go. Now it turns out that Batson‘s wife died about ten days ago. He had moved to Pender County.   (Dispatch, 7-26-1902)

 

July 30, 1902
The handsome summer cottage of Mr. Duncan McEachern at Carolina Beach was completely destroyed, with its contents, by fire. It started from the explosion of an oil lamp in one of the bed rooms upstairs about 11:30 p.m. The family had not retired for the night and all the occupants of the house, including several guests, escaped without injury. The explosion of the lamp was probably due to a gust of wind which blew the flame down into the bowl containing the kerosene. Only a few trunks and other household goods were saved, the remainder of the contents, including a fine piano, going up in smoke and causing a total loss of at least $2,000. The house was insured for $1,200 and the contents for $300.   (Star, 8-1-1902)

 

August 6, 1902
News reached Wilmington at 4:30 in the morning of August 7th that a storm had played havoc at Carolina Beach on the night of August 6th. The hotel was blown down and several people were injured, though no lives were lost.

Mrs. Alice Phillips suffered a broken ankle and contused back. She was in the ruins for 1 1⁄2 hours before help could reach her. Capt. John Barry suffered sprains and other injuries to both ankles. Mrs. John Barry had a severe injury to her left lower limb, fracture of the femur and ankle, which caused suffering on account of her advanced age from the nervous shock. Capt. John Fitzgerald, of Richmond, nephew of Capt. John Barry, suffered a contusion of the left shoulder and chest, and perhaps several broken ribs. M.H. Kelly suffered laceration of the forehead and other severe injuries. The four injured persons mentioned were at the home of Capt. John Barry, and were attended by Drs. Schonwald and Bellamy. Mrs. Owen Martindale suffered contusion and laceration of the face and head, injury to back and ankle. Mrs. Martindale‘s 3-month-old child was asleep on the second floor of the building. When taken from among the debris it was found that the baby had dropped miraculously to the ground upon a mattress that came down with the collapse. It received not a scratch.

Tobe Howard, bar-keeper at the hotel, suffered a laceration of the scalp, with contusion of both arms, jaw and shoulders. Mrs. Tobe Howard suffered a laceration of the forehead. Mrs. Howard, after her rescue, went bravely into the rescue work and in the absence of a physician she assisted nobly Miss Furpless, even going as far as to tear her own clothing to make bandages for the injured. J. E. Haywood and 5-year-old daughter, of McColl, S. C. were in the hotel. Mr. Haywood suffered a severe sprain of the right ankle, left leg broken just above the ankle and a dislocation of the same ankle: a severe contusion of the spine. The little girl was on the second floor of the building and escaped with out injury. Accompanied by Mr. J.S. Thompson, of Hasty, she will return home today. Mr. Haywood and Mr. Thompson came down the day before and expected to stay some time, but the storm changed their minds. J.M. Rumley, of Beaufort, N. C. suffered injury to the back, left hip and knee.

The old Oceanic Hotel had not been used strictly for hotel purposes in several years and during the past two seasons, Capt. Harper had refused to rent it as a hotel but merely as a pavilion for the entertainment of excursionists, with a restaurant attached. It was fortunate that it was not used as a hotel, else the consequences of the storm might have been more terrible. Capt. Harper and every person connected with his boat or interests on the beach did all in their power for the suffering ones.

The first knowledge in Wilmington of the catastrophe at the beach was through Robert Freeman, colored, who was sent for Dr. Andrew H. Harriss by Capt. Furpless. Though alone at the beach, Dr. Harriss accomplished wonders in administering to the wants of the wounded and improvised cots and stretchers were made and all placed on a flat car, which reached the pier safely. The wounded ones were placed on the steamer and by 8 o‘clock all the sufferers were taken to the hospital in Wilmington and later to their homes. At the hospital Dr. Harriss was assisted in his work by Dr. Pride J. Thomas, and Dr. W.D. McMillan.

Mrs. Louis Freimuth, of Wilmington, was a guest at the hotel at the time of the collapse but had just stepped out to use the telephone to call her husband in the city. Her little 5 year old son was asleep on the second floor but escaped without a bruise. When the debris was being removed, it is said the little fellow was found, under it all, quietly asleep on the sand as if nothing had ever happened.

Mr. W. H. Biddle, of Masonboro, reported that the tornado, or cyclone, lasted for about five minutes, carrying destruction in its path. There was much damage to corn, trees were uprooted, fences blown down among other damages. The cyclone moved in a path nearly two miles. The most serious loss and injury by the storm was in the wreck of the old Hotel Oceanic, the large two-story wooden structure, owned by the New Hanover Transit Company, and operated by Mrs. Rebecca Eilers, of Wilmington.

The storm came in from the south-west and it blew the middle part of the hotel toward the ocean. Eight of the occupants of the hotel were engaged in dancing at the time in the dining room of the old hotel and were taken completely unawares. The only one to escape was Mr. Sebastian Winner, who was picking a guitar for the dancers. He was near the door and got on the outside before the crash came, but his guitar was smashed to smithereens. He received only a slight injury on the leg. Mr. Marion Winner, father of Sebastian Winner, was the first to reach the scene, but very soon afterwards he was joined by Capt. Thomas McGee, Mr. Robert S. Collins, who was spending some time with his family at the beach; Mrs. Hans A. Kure, Captain Furpless, Capt. J. C. Smith, Mr. Henry Stolter, Mr. J.S. Thompson, of Hasty, who was stopping at the Kure House across the sound; Miss Furpless, daughter of Capt. Furpless, and Mose and John Evans, two colored men employed by Capt. J.W. Harper. All the injured ones except Mr. Hampton Smith, who was most seriously injured were taken from the hotel ruins by 10 o‘clock.

Young Smith, the son of Capt. J.C. Smith, the well known steamboat man, was not rescued until two hours later and it was then by the heroic effort on part of Capt. Tom McGee. He is said to have lifted almost the entire roof of the building using two railroad jacks for hoisting purposes, two saws, two axes and a pinch bar. When the roof was lifted and removed six people came out, badly frightened and badly injured. Young Smith was taken out, was so badly injured that he cried pitiably for some one to kill him. He had a concussion of the brain and would not be out of danger for some time. At the hospital in Wilmington, he was treated by Dr. Pride J. Thomas who reported that the patient was doing nicely, as were two other patients remaining there, Mr. J.E. Haywood, of McColl, S.C. and Mr. J.M. Rumley, of Beaufort, N.C.

The other injured persons were at their homes and all doing well. The injuries of Hampton Smith were laceration of scalp and face, several contusions of the left shoulder, chest and back and a very severe contusion and laceration of the entire left leg. He also suffered from a concussion of the brain. He had been pinioned between a partition, floor and roof for three hours. His left leg was jammed between a girder and a water cooler.

Mrs. Rebecca Eilers, proprietor of the hotel, suffered a laceration of the scalp, contusion of the left shoulder, back and ankle. Miss Nettie Eilers, daughter of Mrs. Eilers, suffered a broken ankle and nose, and suffered a severe shock.

The only other damage at Carolina Beach besides the hotel was the blowing down of a part of the kitchen of Mr. W.L. Smith‘s cottage near the hotel.

The residence of Mr. Owen Martindale, 4 miles from Wilmington, in Masonboro township, was badly damaged by the cyclone. A chimney was blown down; doors and shutters torn off and the plastering in several rooms twisted about. It was Mr. Martindale‘s wife who was injured in the fall of the hotel at the beach.   (Star, 8-8-1902)

 

August 8, 1902
The fifteen people who were injured in the destruction of the former Hotel Oceanic building at Carolina Beach by the recent cyclone were all getting along nicely. Some were in the James Walker Memorial Hospital and others at their homes throughout the city and all showed improvement. When the hotel building was wrecked a cat and two dogs were inside. They got out without a scratch, which was remarkable for the cat, to say the least of it.

Mrs. Rebecca Eilers, who conducted the house, had a fine little dog, and when she came to herself under the wreck and was pinioned so she could not get out, her dog was by her licking her hand. He was brought up to the city and was frisky as if he had never passed through such an ordeal as that on that dark and stormy night. Among those who worked heroically to rescue the injured from the building, three men were unlisted. They were Messrs. Otto Banck, Ben Rathjen, and Martin Rathjen, Jr. They all did splendid service.  (Messenger, 8-9-1902)

 

August 20, 1902
The Hanover Lodge of Odd Fellows, of Wilmington, gave another enjoyable excursion to Carolina Beach, Southport and out into the Atlantic Ocean. Many remained at Carolina Beach for the day. There was a big dance at the Sedgeley Hall Club at night. The music was provided by the Boston Italian Band. The moon was full and the return ride on the river at 10:30 p.m. was beautiful. Fare for the round trip was only 25 cents.   (Dispatch, 8-20-1902)

 

August 20, 1902
Mr. Eugene Beery and Messrs. E.O. and Van Toomer, all of Wilmington, spent a week in camping and fishing on Zeke‘s Island. They reported their camp was an ideal one.   (Dispatch, 8-20-1902)

 

August 30, 1902
Captain John W. Harper, general manager of the Hanover Transit Company, had work commenced on the commodious and handsome new pavilion at Carolina Beach. The work is being done under the supervision of Mr. Thomas McGee.

The new pavilion will be located on part of the site of the old Hotel Oceanic, and will be 125 feet from the ocean. The structure will be in the shape of a Maltese cross, and will front 133 feet on the ocean and run from east to west 124 feet. It will be on four foot pillars and will have 12 foot piazzas clear around it.

It will contain 10,000 square feet for promenading and lounging, besides a commodious dancing hall 40 by 40 feet, a dining room 38 by 40 feet, a ladies‘ reception room, 20 by 20 feet, several retiring rooms, kitchen, etc. The dance hall will be specially floored for the purpose and is to be so commodious that it will contain 2,500 people, so that there will be ample room or the biggest excursion that ever went to the beach. The ladies‘ reception room is to be a nice and convenient affair. It will be furnished with dressers, hammocks, cots, tables, rocking chairs, etc.

The pavilion is to be shingled on the outside and will have eighteen 6-foot doors. The dance hall will be in the centre and wide doors will open into it from all other rooms. It is to be specially built for picnic and excursion parties, and will make the beach more popular than ever next season. Rocking chairs and neat benches will be provided all over the pavilion.

The train will run within 30 feet of rear door of the structure. The restaurant is to be run on the European plan and this will be another feature that will be welcomed by the people. Besides the big pavilion Captain Harper will erect four neat cottages with sleeping rooms for the accommodation of those who want to spend awhile at the beach.

The bath houses are also to be greatly enlarged and much improved. The old pavilion is also to be practically rebuilt, and other improvements will be made at the beach by next season. Several private parties will build cottages at Carolina Beach next season.  (Messenger, 8-31-1902.;  Dispatch, 8-20-1902; 10-4- 1902)

 

September 1, 1902
Capt. John W. Harper began work on the handsome pavilion at Carolina Beach. Capt. Tom McGee was to superintend the work.   (Messenger, 8-21-1902)

 

September 25, 1902
A big consignment of lumber went down to Carolina Beach for the new pavilion to be built there by Capt. John W. Harper.   (Star, 9-26-1902)

 

October 5, 1902
The foundation was laid for the new pavilion at Carolina Beach. It was hoped that the structure would be completed by November 1st.   (Star, 10-5-1902)

 

October 15, 1902
Prof. Washington Catlett announced that he would deliver an address at Oak Hill School, Federal Point Township, on Thanksgiving.  (Dispatch, 10-15-1902)

 

November 13, 1902
The Standard Oil steamer CITY OF EVERETT, the tugboats MARION, BLANCHE and ALEXANDER JONES pulled on Oil Barge No. 93 which was on a shoal near the Carolina Beach pier, but it would not budge. All the steamers combined could not move the barge an inch. It was decided to pump several thousand barrels of oil out of her bow into the steamer EVERETT, which would lighten the barge enough to pull her off on high tide.   (Dispatch, 11-13-1902;  11-12-1902)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1903

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

March 15, 1903
Mrs. J.L. Winner, of Carolina Beach, was advertising for sale three good dwelling houses, good spring water, sound front, garden and farm ready for farming or trucking, 10 acres. It sold for $4,000.  (Star, 3-17-1903)

(advertisement) FOR SALE Cheap for cash, a desirable truck farm and summer resort ready for farming; farming utensils, good water and bathing out house, good dwelling house, two kitchens separate from dwelling, 40 acres in one tract, and more adjoining if desired, and nice oyster garden. Will sell for $6,000. Apply to Mrs. J.L. Winner, Carolina Beach.   (Star, 3-17-1903)

 

March 24, 1903
The county commissioners decided to begin work at once on the fence to be built around Federal Point township as required by law, making the enclosed territory free from the stock law. The law requires that the fence be built before May 15th and the route will be surveyed at once and bids will be asked for furnishing material. The fence will be between 6 and 7 miles long and will cost about $2,500, or $326 per mile, which was the cost of the regular county fence between New Hanover and Pender counties.   (Dispatch, 3-24-1903)

 

April 22, 1903
The Federal Point white school closed for the year and the next day a big basket picnic and fish fry was held at Williamson‘s Landing on Myrtle Grove Sound. Between 200 and 300 people attended.   (Dispatch, 4-25-1903)

 

April 29, 1903
The second annual meeting of the Fort Fisher Rod and Gun Club was held in Wilmington. Officers were elected including T.W. Wood, president; C.O. Byerly, vice president; W.C. Armstrong, secretary; C.W. Yates, treasurer. The Board of Managers included L.H. Skinner, B.F. King, R.H. Beery, B.P. Harrison and T.W. Wood. The club house at ‘The Rocks’ was very popular and a janitor and cook were employed to remain there throughout the summer.  (Dispatch, 4-30-1903)

 

May 1, 1903.
The Hanover Seaside Club gave an oyster roast at their club house at Carolina Beach. This was the first of many pleasant affairs planned by the committee on arrangements for the upcoming season. The club house was to officially open for the season on May 15th.  (Dispatch, 4-28-1903)

The sixth annual opening of the Hanover Seaside Club on Carolina Beach took place. The House Committee had arranged a very pleasant program. There was to be the annual bowling contest for gentlemen, also a contest for ladies.   (Dispatch, 6-9-1903)

 

May 1, 1903.
The Hanover Seaside Club on Carolina Beach re-elected Mr. J.F. Stolter steward and superintendent of the club for the coming season. The house committee was also re-elected, as follows: Messrs. Henry Gieschen, chairman; Wm. Tienken and F.A. Bissinger. The members decided upon a few repairs and improvements to the club house, which were to be made at once.   (Dispatch, 5-2-1903)

 

May 11, 1903
Messrs. T.W. Wood and Ed Taylor went to ‘The Rocks’ to put in order the club house of the Fort Fisher Rod and Gun Club. The club was to be formally opened about May 20th.   (Dispatch, 5-11-1903)

 

May 25, 1903
Major D. O‘Connor purchased the “Stolter” Cottage on Carolina Beach for $400.   (Dispatch, 5-25-1903)

 

June 1, 1903
A bill was passed by the N. C. General Assembly repealing the no-fence law as applied to Federal Point township in New Hanover County.

Section 1 declared: That from and after June 1st, 1903, chapter 290 of the Public Laws of 1899 shall not apply to that portion of New Hanover county south and west of a line starting at a point on the Cape Fear river where the water course from McIlhenny‘s mill pond empties into said river, and running with the stream and mill pond to the head of clay bottom and running behind W.P. Oldham‘s fence southeast to the old Federal Point road, running thence west side of said road to the sound road, running thence west side of the sound road to George Roger‘s Lane; down said lane to the sound and also including that portion of the beach south of a pond opposite where this line touches the sound, etc. etc.  (Star, 2-22-1903)

 

June 9, 1903
The Hanover Lodge of Odd Fellows, Wilmington, gave a big family excursion to Carolina Beach. The features of the day were varied and attractive. There was a dazzling performance by ―Arra,‖ the great flying ring artist; dancing and music at the new pavilion; turtle egg hunt; refreshments; ice water free, and many others.   (Dispatch, 6-8-1903)

 

July 12, 1903
The Fort Caswell Military Band gave a concert at the pavilion on Carolina Beach.   (Messenger, 7-11-1903)

July 24, 1903
Today the Carolina Beach railroad ran over a cow about 100 yards from the beach. Three railroad cars were thrown off the track. The train was running slow and nobody was hurt. The cars were crowded with women and children, who were badly frightened for a few minutes. About 200 people were on the train. They were members of the Second Advent Sunday School excursion party from Wilmington. The train was running backward to the Beach, with the engine at the end next to the river. A cow of Mr. H. A. Kure started to cross the track and the first car knocked her down and passed over her, but it remained on the track. The three following cars were derailed, but remained on the cross ties. It was several hours before the cars were put back on the track.   (Dispatch, 7-24-1903)

About two months later, Mrs. Sallie J. Bryan and Mr. S. J. Bryan, her husband, brought suit for damages against the New Hanover Transit Company. Mrs. Bryan claimed she was injured by the slight wreck of the train in July. The amount of damages was not yet known.   (Dispatch, 9-19-1903)

 

August 6, 1903
Messrs. A.T. Parmele, Willie Litgen, J. Branch, D.W. Branch, Willie Strause and S.J. Scammell were spending a week on Zeke‘s Island on a fishing expedition.   (Dispatch, 8-6-1903)

 

August 7-12, 190
People living in Federal Point Township have been very much annoyed recently by foxes. The animals have attacked people in a number of instances. The oldest inhabitants have never before heard of foxes being so vicious. An epidemic of hydrophobia among the foxes was discovered. Rudolph, the little 7 year old son of Mr. Jesse Williamson, of Federal Point, had been attacked by one of the foxes, supposed to have had hydrophobia and was bitten severely about the leg.

The fox which bit little Rudolph Williamson was kicked to death by the boy‘s father. Citizens in the neighborhood generally went around carrying sticks and clubs for protection.   (Dispatch, 8-7-1903; 8-12-1903)

 

August 20, 1903
Capt. John. W. Harper was having plans prepared for a 20-room house on Carolina Beach, which will be built before the opening of the next season.

The new building will be adjoining the large new pavilion and all rooms will be sleeping apartments. It will be two stories, and the rooms will be nicely furnished. They will be rented by the day, week or month. The guests will be able to take their meals in the pavilion at the restaurant. This year the few rooms under the pavilion were filled all summer and many others were trying to get room and board since the beach opened in June. If the new building is found inadequate next summer it would be enlarged.  (Dispatch, 8-20-1903)

 

September 2, 1903
Over 400 people attended the mid-week dance at Carolina Beach. They also greatly enjoyed the moon-light ride on the steamer WILMINGTON. The music for the one last night was furnished by Hollowbush‘s Seashore Hotel Orchestra, and the strains were of the sweetest kind. One feature of the trip was the sight furnished by the new Bald Head lighthouse, which could be distinctly seen from both Carolina Beach and its pier in the river.  (Messenger, 9-3-1903)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1904

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 9, 1904
Capt. J.W. Harper, after realizing that the handsome and comfortable pavilion erected last Spring was inadequate to accommodate the thousands of visitors (43,000 last Summer), now planned for the New Hanover Transit Company to erect an annex of considerable proportions, adjoining the pavilion of the south side.

The foundations had already been laid and the new structure was to be completed in 60 days under the supervision of Mr. Thomas McGee. The new structure was to be 30 by 60 feet and two stories high. It was to contain 20 rooms, 10 on the first floor and 10 on the second. Piazzas 8 feet wide were to run around the building on both stories.

Mr. Charles Anderson, who formerly conducted the ‘Only Restaurant’, had leased the pavilion restaurant for the coming season and he was to operate it on the European plan. Capt. Harper was also having the bath houses greatly enlarged. There were to be 80 bath rooms with fresh water sprinklers.   (Star, 1-10-1904;  Dispatch, 1-9-1904)

 

April 23, 1904
Real Estate Transfer:

  • Marion F. Schroeder transferred to Brooks & Taylor, for $75, tract of land containing 50 acres, more or less, in Federal Point Township, beginning at a point known as the Old Newton Landing.   (Star, 4-23-1904)

 

April 28, 1904
Members of the Hanover Seaside Club enjoyed a delightful oyster roast at Carolina Beach, a party of some 25 or 30 having gone down on the steamer WILMINGTON. Among those present were members of the newly elected Executive Committee as follows: Messrs. C.F. Von Kampen, M.G. Tinecken, J.G.L. Gleschen, Martin Rathjen, J.W. Duls, P. Mohr and F.W. Ortmann. The Executive Committee elected Mrs. Chris Eilers stewardess for the coming season and the new House Committee included Messrs. William Tienken, William Mahler and E. Poezolt.   (Star, 4-29-1904)

 

May 10, 1904
The Tenth of May Celebration at Carolina Beach was in charge of the Delgado Band who furnished first class entertainment for all who will become their guests for the occasion.   (Star, 5-10-1904)

 

June 2, 1904
Messrs. W.E. Yopp, R.H. Beery and Roger Moore, worthy disciples of Isaak Walton, went to Carolina Beach for a day‘s sport. They fished from the “old wreck” and caught a fine assortment of pigfish, blackfish and one or two of the “sailor‘s choice.” Affidavits as to the number will be forthcoming at the proper time.   (Star, 6-3-1904)

 

June 8, 1904
The first mid-week dance of the season was given at Carolina Beach. Music was furnished by the Fort Caswell Orchestra. A large number of young people enjoyed the event greatly.   (Star, 6-9-1904)

 

June 15, 1904
The members of the Wilmington Police force took their annual outing on Carolina Beach. The policemen are the guests of Capt. John W. Harper. Three boats carried down the big crowds and many more were to go down at night for music and dancing. Among the events there was target shooting, 100-yard dash, blindfold chicken contest, jumping contest, etc. The judges of the contest were Major C. H. White, Chief John J. Furlong, and Alderman J. A. Kerr. The prizes included a fine hat, boxes of cigars, North Carolina ham, fine Douglass shoes, handsome hammock, etc.   (Dispatch, 6-15-1904)

 

June 19, 1904
It was reported that plans for an electric car line from Wilmington to Carolina Beach and the other beaches down that way, which project had been considered for the past several months, were now taking definite shape.   (Dispatch, 6-19-1904)

 

June 20, 1904
The Carolina Beach Amusement Company had added many new amusements for old and young of both sexes. They included punching bags, boxing gloves, bowling alleys, shooting gallery and swings.   (Dispatch, 6-20-1904)

 

July 24, 1903
Today the Carolina Beach railroad ran over a cow about 100 yards from the beach. Three railroad cars were thrown off the track. The train was running slow and nobody was hurt. The cars were crowded with women and children, who were badly frightened for a few minutes. About 200 people were on the train. They were members of the Second Advent Sunday School excursion party from Wilmington. The train was running backward to the Beach, with the engine at the end next to the river. A cow of Mr. H.A. Kure started to cross the track and the first car knocked her down and passed over her, but it remained on the track. The three following cars were derailed, but remained on the cross ties. It was several hours before the cars were put back on the track.   (Dispatch, 7-24-1903)

About two months later, Mrs. Sallie J. Bryan and Mr. S. J. Bryan, her husband, brought suit for damages against the New Hanover Transit Company. Mrs. Bryan claimed she was injured by the slight wreck of the train in July. The amount of damages was not yet known.   (Dispatch, 9-19-1903;  Dispatch, 6-20-1904;  Star, 6-9-1904)

 

July 4, 1904
“Free Concerts at Carolina Beach”. Mr. B.F. Reaves will give a concert at 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. with his large Victor Graphophone. Over 100 records of the latest and most-to-date pieces.  (Dispatch, 7-2-1904)

 

July 21, 1904
Real Estate Transfer:

  • New Hanover Transit Company to Ellen Kure, two lots of land on Carolina Beach adjoining lands of W.L. Smith, J.J. Fowler and others.   (Star, 7-22-1904)

 

July 24, 1904
The Delgado Cornet Band presented a select programme of music at the Carolina Beach pavilion under the direction of Prof. J. T. Martin, the leader.

The programme was a follows:
SNAP SHOT; overture, by Snyed.
QUAKER CITY; march
AMERICA FOREVER; march, by Miller.
SYMPHIA; waltz, by Holzmann.
BATTLESHIP ALABAMA; march, by Miller.
SWEET DREAS; waltz, by Barnhouse.
DIXIE and HOME SWEET HOME; medley, by J. T. Martin.   (Star, 7-22-1904)

 

July 31, 1904
The Delgado Concert Band gave a delightful concert at Carolina Beach. The program included:

IDOWILD; march, by Miller.
NUGGED NELL; overture.
IDEAL; march
PEACE FOREVER; march, by Mills.
ON DUTY; march.
SOUTHERN MELODY – SOME SWEET HOME; overture.  (Dispatch, 7-29-1904)

 

August 1, 1904
A license to retail liquor was granted to the Carolina Beach Pleasure Club.  (Star, 8-2-1904)

 

August 5, 1904
Christopher Eilers, after a drunken spree in Wilmington for several days, returned to Carolina Beach and renewed a quarrel with his wife, Mrs. Rebecca Eilers, and in a few minutes sent a ball crashing into her head from a 32-calibre pistol which he took from his pocket. Then he turned the revolver upon himself and he sent another ball into his own person. The wound of Mrs. Eilers was serious but later proved not to be life-threatening. Mr. Eilers‘ wound was about the throat but was not serious. Mrs. Eilers was treated at the James Walker Memorial Hospital by Dr. Andrew H. Harriss, after going down to the beach to attend to her. Mr. Eilers was taken into custody by Constable W.B. Savage.

Mrs. Eilers was the stewardess of the Hanover Seaside Club on Carolina Beach, and with her husband, two daughters and one son, and they all lived during the summer in the club building. Mrs. Eilers had been independent of the husband and father for her livelihood though he continued to live with them.

Mr. Eilers was a boiler maker by trade and had been living at 414 Castle Street, Wilmington. Evidence proved that Mr. Eilers arrived at the beach in a very nervous state of mind, and he went to the club house where Mrs. Eilers was preparing supper for the family and he renewed his ill treatment of her. Before shooting, he ran his wife around the building several times, finally catching her near the bowling alley.

The shooting took place on the board walk, between the club house entrance and the railroad track, a distance of less than a hundred yards. The bullet lodged near the base of the brain and was later extracted the Drs. Harriss and Caldwell. On August 11th the newspaper reported that both Mr. and Mrs. Eilers were improving at the hospital and were now out of danger unless unforeseen complications set in.   (Star, 8-6-1904; 8-7-1904; 8-9-1904; 8-11-1904;  Dispatch, 8-8-1904; 8-17-1904)

 

August 23, 1904
The Seashore Pleasure Club gave a dance at Carolina Beach. The committee of arrangements included Messrs. W.B. Savage, John W. Capps, James Holton, G.R. Holt and David Willis. The music and dancing was to continue all day until the departure of the late boat at night.   (Star, 8-18-1904)

 

September 1, 1904
Mr. Duncan McEachern returned to the city from Carolina Beach where he has been resting since his return from the North where he went for his health. He has resumed his duties as chairman of the New Hanover County Board of Commissioners. He is also connected with the Holmes Grocery Company.   (Star, 9-2-1904)

 

September 5, 1904
Mondays during the summer season were set apart by Capt. J.W. Harper, of the steamer WILMINGTON, as the excursion days for the colored population of Wilmington.

They always made good use of it and every Monday a large crowd went down to Carolina Beach. On this day about 400 colored excursionists took the trip to the beach and two incidents occurred which marred the pleasure of the day. A colored man named Ennett who had been drinking too much, was drowned in the surf. He was about 26 years of age and was married.

The second incident was as the steamer was to leave for the city at 7:30 p.m. a drunken colored man name Joe Thomas, very belligerent in his manner, attacked Dan Smith, the colored chief deck hand on the steamer who had been with Capt. Harper 18 years, and severely shot him in the right arm close to the shoulder, which caused a serious fracture. Another colored man, Caleb Howe, was also shot through the right leg and the bullet lodged in the knee of left leg.

An ambulance met the steamer WILMINGTON at the wharf in Wilmington and both wounded men were taken to the hospital, where their wounds were dressed. Joe Thomas, the assailant, was overpowered and arrested for the shooting with the assistance of Messrs. J.E. Stroupe, first mate of the steamer, R.C. Banks, Mark Winner and Capt Hans A. Kure. He was then sent to the jail in the police patrol wagon.   (Star, 9-6-1904)

 

November 8 1904
The polling place for the general election today was at Capps‘ Store, Federal Point Township, and the registrar was F.D. Capps.  (Messenger, 10-7-1904)

 

December 14, 1904
A marriage license was granted to Mr. J.B. Palmer and Miss Julia Bonham, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Bonham, of Federal Point.   (Messenger, 12-15-1904)

 

December 18, 1904
Mr. Hans A. Kure, proprietor of the amusement pavilion at Carolina Beach, purchased the riding gallery or “hobby horses” that had been operating at 6th and Campbell Streets in Wilmington. He planned to take the outfit down to the beach next summer for the entertainment of seaside visitors.   (Star, 12-18-1904)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1905

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

May 26, 1905
The Wilmington Lodge of the Buffaloes held their excursion to the beach aboard the steamer WILMINGTON. The cost was 25 cents round-trip. At the beach, there was surf-bathing, music and dancing, and plenty of refreshments. This was the first large excursion of the new season. SEMI-WEEKLY WILM.MESS, 5-26-1905.

 

July 2, 1905
The Wilmington Symphony Club provided the music at Carolina Beach. A concert was given at the Pavilion in the afternoon.

The program was as follows:
March, NEW COLONIAL – Hall.
Medley Overture, DOWN ON THE FARM – Von Tilzer.
Caprice, LOVE AND KISSES – Harris.
MEMOREIES OF THE PAST – Keller.

Intermission.
March, JERSEY CARNIVAL, Lerberfield.
Medley Overture, GLEAMS OF HEAVEN – Harris.
March, UNCLE SAMMY – Holzeman.
Professor Lassiter, Director.  WILM.MESS, 7-2-1905.

 

July 14, 1905
Peterson & Rulfs, of Wilmington, were advertising “Get a Pair of Walkover Oxfords for $3.50 and A Free Trip to Carolina Beach.” WILM.MESS, 7-14-1905.

 

July 16, 1905
The Delgado Band provided music at Carolina Beach.

The program was as follows:
March, THE NEW CENTURY – Miller.
Medley Overture, A GLEAM OF HEAVEN – Harris.
Baritone Solo by Willard, CROWN JEWEL – Southwell.
Medley, SELECTED PLANTATION SONGS – Conerno.
March, NEW COLONIAL – Hall.
Overture, GOLDEN CRESCENT – Miller.
DANCE OF THE HONEY BEES – Richmond.
March, SALUTE TO THE WEST – – Miller.  WILM.MESS, 7-15-1905.

 

July 17, 1905
Editor Wade H. Harris, of the CHARLOTTE CHRONICLE:
John W. Harper, and his steamboat, the WILMINGTON, and none who visit Wilmington after which the boat was named fails to take a ride down the river to Carolina Beach. The master of the boat is one of the best fellows in the world and his personality impresses all alike – they all want to repeat the trip on Capt. Harper‘s boat. Harper‘s friends are scattered all over the entire state and it will gratify them to learn of the additional improvements which are to be made at Carolina Beach – his pride.

The chief is the erection of a fine hotel, which has been the one great need of that resort, and another is the adding of a sister ship to the WILMINGTON, so that boats will be constantly going to and coming from the beach. Carolina Beach is one of the prettiest spots on the Atlantic coast, and the surf bathing there is not only splendid, but safe. ― WILM.MESS, 7-19-1905.

 

July 23, 1905
The Delgado Cornet Band provided the music at Carolina Beach for a large crowd.

The program included:
March, SALUTE TO THE WEST – Miller.
Overture, DOWN ON THE FARM – Von Tilzer.
Caprice, LOVE AND KISSES – Harris.
March – Selected.
Medley Overture, BLUE BELLS – Chataway.
DANCE OF THE HONEY BEES – Richmond.
Medley, PLANTATION SONGS – Conterno.  WILM.MESS, 7-23-1905.

 

August 6, 1905
About 800 people visited Carolina Beach and enjoyed the excellent music, surf bathing and a fine breeze. The large crowd enjoyed themselves immensely. WILM.MESS, 8-8-1905.

 

August 12, 1905
R.H. Pickett and Roger Moore laid claim to 20 acres of vacant and unappropriated land in Federal Point Township, known as Zekes Island, which land was bounded by the water of the Cape Fear River and New Inlet. Entered in the office of the Register of Deeds of New Hanover County, Entry No. 1901. WILM.MESS, 8-13-1905.

 

August 22, 1905
There was displayed in Wilmington a pass issued by the Provost Marshal of the City of Wilmington on May 6th, 1865. The pass read: “Guards and patrols will pass Benj. Horn and wife to Federal Point and return. This pass good for May 8th, 1865. Will be taken up by guards at expiration.” WILM.MESS, 8-23-1905.

 

August 24, 1905
The labor unions of Wilmington will celebrate Labor Day, Monday, September 4th, on Carolina Beach. The steamer WILMINGTON had been leased for the day and will make five trips. Two bands had been engaged and there was to be music and dancing during the entire day. There was also to be a bowling contest and prizes given. Both pavilions had been engaged for the special celebration. WILM.MESS, 8-24-1905.

 

August 28,1905
Through his attorneys, Messrs. Davis & Davis, Capt. J. Alvin Walker made a formal protest against Messrs. Pickett and Moore who were claiming Zeke‘s Island property. The property was claimed by the Walker heirs and they resisted the occupation of the island by Messrs. Pickett & Moore. WILM.STAR, 8-29-1905.

 

March 28, 1906
The entry of Zeke‘s Island by Messrs. Roger Moore and R. H. Pickett, of Wilmington, was upset at a hearing in Brunswick County Superior Court in behalf of the Walker heirs, the original claimants.

 

August 30, 1905
By far the largest crowd of the season attended the mid-week dance at Carolina Beach and the evening was spent most enjoyably. The dances at the beach are pleasant evenings during the summer months to the young people. Tonight concluded the mid-week dances at the beach for the season. WILM.MESS, 8-31-1905.

 

September 6, 1905
Capt. Harper arranged for a dance on this date at Southport, his boat leaving Wilmington at 5 p.m. and returning after the dance. Music was furnished by Professor Culbert‘s orchestra containing eight pieces. WILM.MESS, 8-31-1905.

 

September 26, 1905
Captain John W. Harper purchased the steamer LILLIE, an oyster patrol boat, from Governor Glenn, and he planned to have her completely refitted and placed on the run between Wilmington and Carolina Beach by another season. The boat was 85 feet long, 16 feet in beam and would carry 200 passengers. It was Capt. Harper‘s intention to put two boats on the run to Carolina Beach next summer. WILM.MESS, 9-26-1905.

 

September 28, 1905
At a meeting of the stockholders of the New Hanover Transit Company held on board the steamer WILMINGTON, a deal was consummated by which Captain J.W. Harper became the principal owner of the property on Carolina Beach where is located the pavilion and other buildings; also the railroad from the river pier to the beach including all rolling stock. The consideration was $12,000.

The New Hanover Transit Company was organized some years ago with Mr. H.C. McQueen as president. It was Captain Harper‘s intention to make Carolina Beach one of the best known resorts along the Atlantic Coast. WILM.MESS, 9-29-1905.

 

October 17, 1905
Prof. Washington Catlett, Supt. of county schools, and a number of interested persons held a conference and it was decided to establish a white school in Federal Point Township, it being shown that there were 14 white families and 38 white children of a school age within a radius of attendance. WILM.STAR, 10-18-1905.

 

October 19, 1905
It was decided to establish a school in Federal Point Township. WILM.MESS 10-19-1905

 

November, 17, 1905
Real Estate Transfer:

  • Ed Taylor and wife and John W. Brooks and wife to Samuel A. Lewis, of Shallotte, Brunswick County, for $95, a tract of land containing 50 acres and situated on the eastern side of the Cape Fear River near the old Newton Landing. WILM.MESS, 11-18-1905.

 

November 27, 1905
The new school house on the boundary line between Federal point and Masonboro Townships opened. Miss Mary Moore, of Burgaw, was to be the teacher assigned to that school. A good attendance was expected and those living in the vicinity of the school were greatly pleased at the action of the board of education in cooperating with them so readily. WILM.MESS, 11-25-1905.

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1906

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 22, 1906.
Real Estate Transfer:

  • Carl A. Bache and wife to Marion L. Winner, for $250, about 20 acres of land in Federal Point township, known as the ‘Capt. Bache tract.’ It adjoined the lands of Kure and Joseph Winner. (Star, 1-23-1906;  Messenger, 1-29-1906)

 

March 23, 1906
The controversy over Zeke‘s Island between Messrs. Roger Moore and R.H. Pickett, who lately entered the lands as not being a part of the Bald Head property, and the Walker heirs, the original owners, was in progress in the Brunswick County Superior Court at Southport. (Star, 3-24-1906)

 

April 15, 1906
A boat ride on the river is delightful at all seasons of the year and during the spring time it is especially pretty and the banks of the Cape Fear River are beautiful. Captain Harper had two steamers now and better service was offered to Carolina Beach now and especially during the coming summer than ever before. The steamer LILLIE is a pretty steamer which was formerly owned by the state of North Carolina and she was purchased last fall by Captain Harper. She was recently overhauled and there was no prettier little steamer on the river. The steamer WILMINGTON will leave Wilmington at 9:30 a.m. and the LILLIE will leave at 2:30 p.m.  (Messenger, 4-15-1906,  4-22-1906)

 

April 28, 1906
A number of fishermen of Wilmington met and organized the Sheephead Club, a fishing club, and elected officers. The headquarters of the club was to be at Carolina Beach, where soon a handsome new sloop yacht, 18 feet 6 inches long and 4 feet 6 inches beam, was to be launched for the club‘s service. The sloop was a beauty, was painted white, with green bottom and was named the SHEEPHEAD.  The officers of the club were: R.H. Beery, captain; Walter E. Yopp, first mate; Roger Moore, second mate; H. McL. Green, boatswain; E.M. Beardsley, ordinary seamen; John H. Beery, cook.  (Dispatch, 4-28-1906)

 

April 20, 1906
The recent storm resulted in more damage to the government breakwater known as ‘the Rocks.’ A member of the Corps of Engineers, following an inspection, stated that the damage done was almost beyond comprehension. There was scarcely 100 feet of the New Inlet dam which was not damaged.

In the two dams, the New Inlet Dam, and the Swash Defence Dam, there were a number of breaks from 50 feet to about 500 feet. The entire stone coping of the New Inlet dam was completely destroyed by the terrific force of the wind and waves. The stone coping was composed of tremendous stone blocks weighing from 2 to 6 tons each. Some of these were thrown by the wind from 25 to 50 feet from their original position. The only thing that saved the Swash Defence Dam from being completely obliterated was the fact that the stone coping was cemented and it resisted the attacking power of wind and wave.

Prior to the storm, $60,000 worth of improvements had recently been added to the work on the dams, and all of this will prove a total loss as it will all have to be fixed again. The stone coping alone on the New Inlet Dam would cost $50,000 to replace.  (Dispatch, 9-20-1906)

 

May 25, 1906
Five carnival or midway attractions were granted concessions by Capt. John W. Harper to be located for the summer season at Carolina Beach. Arrangements were underway for their transfer to the beach. Several of the shows had been seen recently in Wilmington with the Pierce Amusement Company and they were considered first class in every particular.

Another feature of amusement at Carolina Beach this season was a brand new skating rink which was opened by Messrs. L.A. Bristow and M.N. Johnson, both clever young men of Wilmington. The old pavilion was enclosed and a new floor was laid for the rink and other accessories were ordered from Philadelphia. In connection with the rink there was a refreshment stand and lunch counter. (Star, 5-25-1906.

 

May 27, 1906
The Wilmington Symphony Orchestra was again engaged to play at Carolina Beach for the mid-week dances, which will be on Thursday nights, and for concerts Sunday afternoons.

The first concert was given today and the programme included:

CAN‘T YOU SEE I‘M LONELY; march, by Harry Armstrong.
TWIXT SUNLIGHT AND SHADOW: waltz, by Dox Crugan.
CUPID‘S GARDEN: intermezzo, by Max C. Eugene.
THE WHIRLING DERVISH, CHARACTERISTIQUE, by J.W. Serman.
FORTUN: march, by Edward Beyes.

The orchestra was composed of J.M. Culbreth, violin and leader; Henry Wrede, clarinet; Alva Stanland, cornet; Ernest Bagwell, cornet; Fred W. Dock, trombone; Preston Sellars, drums; Miss Sadie Brooks, piano. (Star, 5-25-1906; Dispatch, 5-25-1906)

 

May – November, 1906
Real Estate Transfers:

  • New Hanover Transit Company to Josie C. Smith, for $5 and other considerations, property at Carolina Beach. WILM.DISP, 5-31-1906; WILM.STAR, 6-1-1906.
  • William L. Smith and wife to Ellen Kure, for $325, property at Carolina Beach. WILM.DISP, 5-31-1906; WILM.STAR, 6-1-1906.
  • Melvin L. Smith and wife to Ellen Kure, for the sum of $325, lot on Carolina Beach. WILM.MESS, 6-1-1906.
  • Winslow W. Smith and wife and William L. Smith to James H. Burriss, for $112, property on Carolina Beach, 100 by 100 feet in size. WILM.DISP, 6-23-1906.
  • Eliza Bowen to Elijah Leonard, David Sanders and J.H. McDonald, trustees of Bowen‘s Chapel, A.M.E. Zion Church, for $100, one-half acre of land in Federal Point Township.  (Star, 11-11-1906)

 

June 6, 1906
(advertisement) SURF BATHING AT CAROLINA BEACH.
New suits, clean towels, fresh water shower baths furnished for 15 cents. J.D. Dennis, manager.  (Dispatch, 6-16-1906  Messenger, 6-16-1906)

 

June 27, 1906
More than 1,200 went down to Carolina Beach on five trips of the steamer WILMINGTON, the occasion being the Policemen‘s Annual Excursion. The features of the day were the athletic games, the gun shoot and a fine dinner. Policemen and members of the Wilmington Gun Club enjoyed the gun shoot. The Southport Gun Club was invited but could not attend. The leaders in the shooting match were Messrs. George Harris and E.N. Penny, and among the other scorers were Col. Waddell, Chief Williams, M.C. Gray, H.W. Howell, S.A. Nichols, Hergenrother, Holmes, Littig, Empie, Loder and Christian. (Dispatch, 6-28-1906)

 

July, 1906
A launch CLIFTON was making regular runs from Wilmington to ‘The Rocks’ for fishermen.

 

July 7, 1906.
Justice G. W. Bornemann meted out justice with an impartial hand. The judge is a firm believer in order at our two beaches and says that whenever disturbances are raised at the resorts he intended to deal with them in the severest possible manner.

Two men, Will Hudson and “Bill” Terry were before the judge charged with an affray at Carolina Beach on July 4th. The fighting began over Hudson cursing at Terry. Terry knocked down Hudson. The judge said Terry was justified in his action as he was not looking for any trouble at the time that he was cursed. Terry still had to pay the costs of court, and Hudson received the severe sentence for his conduct, the judge imposed a fine of $10 and costs, which amounted to $16.45. (Dispatch, 7-7-1906)

 

July 25, 1906
The launch CLIFFORD was to be used for fishing expeditions from Wilmington to ‘the Rocks’. Anglers would be taken down in the morning and returned in the afternoon. (Dispatch 7-25-1906)

 

August 24, 1906
An impromptu tourney was held at Carolina Beach by the Wilmington Gun Club. A visitor at the beach, Mr. C.H. Storr, of Charlotte, lead the contest with a score of 122 out of 125. The medal held by Mr. A.A. Hergenrother, offered by Mr. Hans A. Kure, was secured by Mr. Oldenbuttel, who broke 25 targets out of 25.

Other participants of the tourney were: Littig, Taylor, Perdew, G. Harris, Loder, Boushee, Hatcher, Simms, Killette, Howell, Penny, Holmes, Boylan, Ramsey, and Capps.  (Dispatch, 8-25-1906)

 

September 17, 1906
Mr. S.W. Sanders, who owns a cottage at Carolina Beach, experienced an unusual incident during the storm of high winds and high tide today. About ten years ago Mr. Sanders found near his cottage a 10-inch bomb, which had been washed on the beach from out of the wrecks. Thinking it might be a dangerous thing to have around he had a colored man to dig a hole five feet deep in front of his cottage and bury the bomb. He had forgotten entirely the matter until he went down and found the bomb resting on the surface of the beach, showing that the great wind had removed sand of at least five feet. Mr. Sanders decided to have the bomb brought to the city to be kept as a souvenir of the storm. (Dispatch, 9-24-1906)

 

October, 1906
The government secured five lighter loads of cobblestones from the streets of Wilmington to be used in the repair work on ‘The Rocks.’ The streets were being repaired with ‘Belgian Blocks.’

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994