News Articles – 1885 – 1886

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 19, 1885
The steamer WOODBURY, belonging to the government works, which went ashore at Federal Point during the late gale got off on the next high tide and went up to Wilmington. (Star, 1-20-1885)

 

May 18, 1886
(advertisement) “THE ROCKS,” FORT FISHER. This delightful 1 family resort, unsurpassed on the entire Atlantic Coast for River, Bay, Sound and Ocean Sailing. Fishing and Boating, is now open for the accommodation of boarders by the day, week or month. Steamers PASSPORT and LOUISE ply daily between Wilmington and “The Rocks.” Address all communications, N.F.Parker, “The Rocks,” Care of Capt. John W. Harper, Wilmington, N.C. (Star, 5-18-1886)

 

July 7, 1886
A license was issued to N.F. Parker to retail spirituous liquors at “The Rocks.” (Star, 7-7-1886)

 

August 31, 1886
The Charleston, S.C. earthquake was felt all over southeastern North Carolina. Buildings were shaken, cracking walls and chimneys, crockery fell from shelves, and pictures fell from the walls. Reports came in from as far away as Sampson and Onslow Counties. Aftershocks were reported on September 2, 1886 and November 11, 1886.
Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1887

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 14, 1887
The Carolina Beach Company, recently formed, had begun work on a railroad which was to run from near Sugar Loaf, about 13 miles below Wilmington on the Cape Fear River, across the peninsula to the Atlantic coast, near the head of Myrtle Grove Sound, and just below old Camp Wyatt. The iron rails have already been purchased and the rolling stock provided. The railroad work was to be completed in about two months, and the line was not to be more than two miles in length. At the terminus of the railroad on the ocean side will be put in perfect order and a “playground” will be furnished for the excursionists where they can go and enjoy themselves. (Star 1-14-1887)

 

May 1, 1887 …. Carolina Beach
Capt. Beach was to have charge of the hotel which was to be erected at the new summer resort being developed south of Wilmington. The building was to be put up as soon as the railroad from the river to the beach was completed and made available for the transportation of building materials received from Wilmington. (Star, 5-1-1887)

 

May 4, 1887 …. Carolina Beach
A locomotive for the railroad extending from the Cape Fear River to old Camp Wyatt and then to the ocean beach was sent down from Wilmington. (Star, 5-5-l887)

 

May 5, 1887
Three railroad cars, intended for use on the railway from the river to the beach at Carolina Beach, were taken from the shops of the builders, Messrs. Burr & Bailey, to the wharf at the foot of Dock Street, for shipment. (Star, 5-6-1887)

 

May 20, 1887
Capt. John Harper “slaughtered” a glass snake at Carolina Beach. (Star, 5-21-1887)

 

June 4, 1887
Moonlight excursions to Carolina Beach bid fair to be “immensely popular.” The trip up and down the river is delightful, and a large pavilion at the beach is a splendid place for dancing. The steamer PASSPORT carried down another large party last night. The day excursions are a source of great enjoyment to very many persons. The ride on the river and across to the beach by rail, with a stroll on the beach, a fish and oyster feast, and a cup of excellent coffee at Capt. Bache‘s restaurant fills the day with enjoyment for most of the visitors.

The fresh water lake is a pretty sheet of water and decidedly a novel feature for the seaside. It is about one mile wide, three or four miles long. It abounds in fish, and alligators are by no means scarce. Recently an alligator about 4 feet long was caught there.

A few years ago, the coast from this point to Fort Fisher, two miles below, was lined with wrecks of blockade runners that had been beached to escape the Federal cruisers. All but one of these have disappeared, and this lies close to shore and affords good fishing ground for sheepshead. Farther out are famous banks, easily reached by boat, where pig-fish are caught in abundance. (Star, 6-4-1887)

 

June 7, 1887
A nine-foot alligator was caught in the lake at Carolina Beach. (Star, 6-8-1887)

 

June 5, 1887
Fifteen miles from Wilmington on the banks of the ocean is situated Carolina Beach which is daily, rapidly, and deservedly growing in popular favor. . .How is it reached?. . . One hour is hardly spent on the steamer PASSPORT when the boat moves slowly to Harper‘s Pier, where the pleasure seekers disembark to find in readiness a train of cars awaiting to carry them to their destination. These cars are made after the manner of cars used at Coney Island and are convenient and commodious. A ride of five or six minutes through a level and interesting country, filled with flowers and green shrubbery, brings you in full view of the ocean.

Out of the sand many houses have arisen, and a spacious pavilion, with smooth floors which invite the dancer, stands ready for the reception of guests. Bathing houses, conveniently situated, are erected.

The shore is hard and as level as a ballroom floor, and so gentle and sloping is the incline that the swimmer can easily and without danger penetrate beyond the breakers. . .

Opposite the beach are wrecks of blockaders, and he who is fortunate enough to find a day so calm as to allow him to reach them, will find the merriest sport with hook and line and sheepshead that the Atlantic coast produce; and just beyond the wrecks are the far famed blackfish grounds, whose reputation for numberless fish has enticed many landsmen to visit them.

About a quarter of a mile from the pavilion, within 100 yards of the ocean, nestles a quiet little lake, asleep in tender and surrounding arms of budding tree and bush. It is a lovely place. Quiet and peace are its companions. It lives there by its little self. This lake abounds in fish, and the lazy alligator suns himself on its banks. Boats have been placed on it and a sail on an inland sea can be had at will. Carolina Beach is a coming place, and we say. “Let her boom.” (Star, 6-5-1887)

 

June 24, 1887
The Wilmington Light Infantry held a shooting contest at Carolina Beach within sight of Camp Wyatt, the rendezvous of the company in the days of 1861. The first prize, a very handsome silver pitcher, was awarded to Mr. J.S. Hooper; the second prize to Mr. E.W. Moore, being a silver goblet of an unique pattern and very chaste workmanship. (Messenger, 7-12-1887)

 

June 29, 1887
Work was progressing on the Club House at Carolina Beach. Several other structures were in the planning stage. “A building boom at this popular resort is not at all unlikely.” (Star, 6-29-1887)

 

June 29, 1887
A strip of land like the Carolina Beach is in the position of a millionaire who locks up depreciated securities in a box. The bonds probably were bought for a nominal price out of sympathy of capital and have been valued at little. Suddenly the securities begin to be quoted again in the money market. The owner of this almost forgotten possession recollects his possession. They are drawn forth from the darkness and all seem to be worth sterling gold. . . . At any rate, the time of Carolina Beach has come for notice and material development. . . . Already there is a boom. The eyes of the people are opened and lost time is now being made up . . . . .

Visitors must not expect to find Carolina Beach strewn with mammoth hotels, costly cottages and the style of many summer resorts. For the most part it is only in the germ, yet, with all this, it would be hard to find a place so full of charms. The universal pleasure which seems to diffuse itself over the minds of all at the sight of the mighty ocean can be fully indulged. We could rhapsodize upon its fathomless depths and shore less expanse; we could talk of its coral reefs and pearly beds which we cannot see; we could discount upon the rising sun ascending from the great waters like a globe of fire, or the far off sundown splendor dispensing glory to the meadows of the sea; upon the phosphorescent glow of the evening ripple, and of the white crest of heaving billows. We might speak of this all, if it had not been worked up into poetry and prose a thousand times. . . .

We cannot look upon these waters without enthusiasm, and as the waves break at our feet we fancy they may be the same billows that laved the side of the ship that, in 1665, landed the explorers in this region of North Carolina. . .. In this locality are to be seen tracts of the ‘days which tried men‘s souls,’ Fort Fisher and Camp Wyatt, are both within sight. Now crops are shooting from the ground which were the whilom scenes of strife. Thus death supports life; the fields enriched with human gore teems with nourishment for the living race.

The distance of Fort Fisher, southwest, is five miles. The width of the beach is from 600 to 1,000 feet, affording one of the finest drives in the country, while to Masonboro, northeast, it is twelve miles thus affording an uninterrupted beach, as hard and smooth as a floor, of seventeen miles.

The location of the beach is most desirable, conveniently near to the City of Wilmington, thus enabling every one to enjoy the bathing. The improvements have been phenomenal, and the work goes finely forward. At an early date, Bryans Oceanic Hotel will be erected which will be constructed with the view to comfort and elegance.

The pavilion which occupies the central part of the building will be 16 feet wide and 166 feet long. The restaurant and billiard rooms will meet the wants of the most fastidious, while the hotel proper, with its reception rooms, bathrooms, etc. will be admirably arranged for the comfort of its guests. The hotel will be run in connection with, and by the proprietors of the Orton House in Wilmington which is a guarantee that it will be first class in every particular. (Messenger, 6-29-1887)

 

July 1, 1887
A license to retail spirituous liquors at Carolina Beach was granted to G.W. Linder. (Messenger, 7-6-1887)

 

July 1, 1887
The hotel and cottages at Carolina Beach are nearing completion. The beach is gaining popularity daily. (Messenger, 7-1-l997)

 

July 1, 1887
The fame of ‘The Rocks’ as a fishing ground goes undisputed, and it is more popular this season than for many previous years. (Messenger, 7-1-1887)

Mr. Bryan, of the Orton Hotel, announces that peculiar circumstances prevent his hotel at the Beach from being opened as was contemplated, but the delay will not be long. He will, however, undoubtedly have the café in fair condition by the 4th. (Messenger, 7-2-1887)

 

July 3, 1887
(advertisement) SURF BATHING ON THE FOURTH OF JULY AT CAROLINA BEACH.
The steamer PASSPORT will run on the following schedule:

  • Leave Wilmington 8:00 a.m.; 11:00 a.m.; 3:00 p.m; 6:00 p.m.
  • Train leaves the Beach 1:00 p.m.; 7:00 p.m.; 10:00 p.m.

FOURTH JULY. Steamer LOUISE will leave her wharf at foot of Market Street, July 4th, at 8:00 a.m. for Rocks, Smithville and the Forts. W.A. Snell, Master

 

July 6, 1887
J. H. Haven, of Federal Point, was serving as a member of the New Hanover County Board of Equalization. J.L. Winner, of Federal Point, had his property value increased from $1,800 to $2,500.

The property of the North Carolina Phosphate Co., of Federal Point, was increased form $10,000 to $15,000. (Messenger, 7-13-1887)

 

July 4, 1887
Owing to the inclement weather on the 4th of July, there was not so large a crowd at the Beach as was expected, but those who went down had a good time. The Oceanic Hotel ‘open house’ and every excursionist paid the generous proprietor a visit. Mr. Bryan will be ready to receive guests in a few days.

The Carolina Beach Club are progressing with their spacious building and are already doing a fair business. We will give a full report of this enterprise in a few days.

John Harr is doing well at the pavilion refreshment counters, and Jim Dray is serving soda water to his visitors over at the sound. Capt. Bache keeps up his earned reputation at the St. Joseph, and everybody is satisfied with the accommodations and the improvements at this favorite resort. (Messenger 7-6-1887

 

July 7, 1887
(advertisement)

  • CAROLINA BEACH THE ATLANTIC CITY OF THE SOUTH – One hour‘s ride from Wilmington, by steamer and rail, brings you directly to the Beach. Excellent Fishing, Boating and Surf Bathing.
  • BRYAN‘S OCEANIC HOTEL – Will be open July 14th, with ample accommodation for all visitors. CAFÉ, RESTAURANT, BILLIARD HALL, Connected with the Hotel

–W.A. BRYAN, Proprietor

 

 

July 7, 1887
With the thermometer at 98 degrees in the Pavilion, a sentimental maiden, inebriated with the exuberance of her imagination and listening with credulity to the whispers of fancy, wrote from Carolina Beach to her ‘appreciator’, not a hundred miles from Clinton, N. C., words to this effect: “The dark Blue ocean, spread out before me, is just as blue and just as ever it was. Since time was young, these waves have rolled to the short—winter and summer, rain or shine, all the same, free as the winds that kiss their liquid lips.”

Here you can sell all styles of dress and fashions – quite different from such secluded spots as the Warm Springs and Kittrells, and -, where people strive to dispense with dress, where gloves are never stained, because they are never worn, and where the chief aim seems to be wear old clothes. Here is not only “stuck- up” Raleigh and meek and lowly Goldsboro, but effete Newbern and sober and dignified Wilmington; not only the bangs and flouncing of the cities, but the combined comeliness of dress and form of the country lassie. Last night was quite cool, and I declare it felt real nice to pull two wraps over the beautiful form of yours truly.” (Messenger, 7-7-1887)

 

July 9, 1887 …. Federal Point
Capt. K.J. Braddy, of Bladen County, was in Wilmington. During the Civil War he bought 300 acres of land adjoining the present Carolina Beach property. At the time he failed to have the deed recorded and it was later stolen by some of Sherman‘s bummers. He was now making arrangements to perfect his title. (Star, 7-9-1887)

 

July 25, 1887
To accommodate the increasing travel to Carolina Beach, a handsome barge was built to seat 150 persons, at Capt. Skinner‘s shipyard at Wilmington. It was named the CAROLINA and was used for the first time today. (Star, 7-22-1887)

The steamer PASSPORT brought up a large load of passengers to Wilmington from Carolina Beach. She did not tow down her barge CAROLINA in the afternoon, there being ample room for all of the steamer. (Messenger, 7-25-1887)

 

July 29, 1887
Sixty-five guests were fed and roomed at the Oceanic Hotel, although not quite completed yet.(Messenger, 7-31-1887)

 

July 29, 1887
Mr. Sidney L. Alderman, a former Wilmington photographer, but now of Greensboro, photographed Carolina Beach. The picture was pronounced very artistic. (Messenger, 7-31-1887)

 

July 29, 1887
So vast was the crowd disporting themselves at Carolina Beach that the steamer PASSPORT was compelled to make two trips to return them to the city. The first load contained 350 passengers, a large number being women and children. Nights are delightful at the beach – blankets being required to cover with.

The moonlight excursions to Carolina Beach were pronounced very enjoyable affairs. The Italian Harpers were in attendance and rendered good music, which gave the young folks an opportunity to indulge in tripping the light fantastic to their heart‘s content. These excursions are well patronized. (Messenger, 7-30-1887)

 

July 30, 1887
(advertisement) R.R. STATION RESTAURANT Carolina Beach Capt. C. Cache, Proprietor
Meals served in the very best style. The best accommodations for excursionists. No disappointment. Always a supply of Pigfish, Oysters, soft-shell crabs, clams, etc. Bathing suits – best quality. (Messenger, 7-30-1887)

 

July 30, 1887
The new Bryan Oceanic House at Carolina Beach was “booming.” It supplied a long-felt want. (Messenger, 7-30-1887)

 

July 31, 1887
Mr. W.W. Harriss, Jr., of Wilmington, was in charge of the office at the Oceanic Hotel. The guests were profuse in their compliments as to his polite attention and good nature. (Messenger, 7-31-1887)

 

July 31, 1887
The cottages being erected at Carolina Beach were nearing completion. They were of a pretty design and very comfortable. (Messenger, 7-31-1887)

 

July 31, 1887
Quite a crowd took dinner at the Railroad Station Restaurant at Carolina Beach last Sunday and everybody was pleased with the manner in which Mrs. Bache served the guests. (Messenger, 8-2-1887)

 

August 1, 1887
Paths of pleasure are not always paths of peace. After a festive party of black excursionists reached Carolina Beach and the “terpsichorean carnival was at its zenith” two of the male excursionists were implicated in a cutting affair. One man was so severely cut in his neck and wounded in his side that he was not able to return to the city.

Affairs of this sort were not permitted to make sad the soul of the average excursionist, and the way back to Wilmington was regaled with music and song that pleasantly floated over the river and was sent back from the river banks. They arrived at the city wharf at 12:20 in the morning. (Messenger, 8-3-1887;  8-7-1887)

 

August 1, 1887
The black excursionists to Carolina Beach filled the steamer PASSPORT and a barge and left a Wilmington dock full for want of room. (Messenger, 8-2-1887)

 

August 6, 1887
A party of six fishermen from Wilmington caught at the Rocks in an hour and a half thirty-eight drum that aggregated 190 pounds – an average of over five pounds each. The Rocks is a paradise for disciples of Sir Isaac Wilton. (Messenger, 8-8-1887)

 

August 7, 1887
Messrs. F.A. Newberry and W.W. Shaw have fitted up comfortable summer homes at Carolina Beach. Mr. J.L. Winner has greatly improved his place. (Messenger, 8-7-1887)

 

August 7, 1887
Chief Justice‖ Freeman opened a law dispensary at Carolina Beach, and he was prepared to issue “writs at living prices. Special attention given to mandamuses, quo warrants, scieri facieses, capiases and respondum, etc. The blind goddess always on hand with scales in good condition.” (Star, 8-7-1887)

 

August 30, 1887
Through the benevolence of Mr. James Sprunt, the inmates of the City Hospital in Wilmington were given a sail down the river to Carolina Beach on the steamer PASSPORT. After they arrived and enjoyed the surf and breezes, a sumptuous banquet was given them by the same kind-hearted gentlemen. Who will follow this worthy example? (Messenger, 8-11-1887)

 

August 16, 1887
Mr. Albert Gause was hired at the Olympic Hotel at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 8-16-1887)

August 17, 1887
The wind blew a perfect gale at Carolina Beach, and at Zeke‘s Island, it was reported the houses were in danger of blowing over. (Messenger, 8-20-1887)

 

August 21, 1887
A fleet of yachts visited Carolina Beach. The yachts IDLER, Capt. Pembroke Jones of Wrightsville; BONNIE LASSIE, Capt. Joe Price of Summer Rest; MADGE, Capt. W.L. Smith; and MARK LILLINGTON, Capt. T.B. Harriss of Masonboro, formed the fleet. The whole distance was sailed in two hours and twenty minutes. The jolly and clever passengers took dinner at the Oceanic Hotel and returning left the beach at 1:30 p.m.. The party spent a delightful day. (Messenger, 8-23-1887)

 

August 23, 1887
The first of a series of pleasant excursions to Carolina Beach was afforded to the poor and needy of Wilmington. Tickets had been issued to 100 adults and some children. The steamer PASSPORT left Wilmington at 9 a.m. and returned about 7:30 p.m.

The menu at Bryan‘s Oceanic Hotel offered clam chowder, chow chow, tomatoes, boiled sheepshead with wine sauce, shrimp, fried pig fish, clam fritters, crabs, potatoes, onions, white bread, corn bread, muffins, watermelon, tea and coffee.
Dinner was served at 2 p.m. and sandwiches were also furnished at 12 noon. There was also ice water provided and there was fresh milk furnished for the more feeble. A committee of Wilmington ladies accompanied the party to see that their comforts were attended to. The Rev. F. W.E. Peschau was to ask the blessing at dinner time. (Messenger, 8-23-1887)

 

August 24, 1887
In contemplation, or in case of heavy storms which are liable to visit the coast during the fall, the proprietors of the Oceanic Hotel at Carolina Beach were tying down the roof with tarred rope, making it secure to the main building – a very good idea and commendable for thought. (Messenger, 8-24-1887)

 

August 30, 1887
Those who wish to visit Carolina Beach and behold the grandeur and beauties of old ocean should not fail to await themselves of the opportunity afforded tonight. Probably this will be the last moonlight excursion for the season. (Messenger, 8-30-1887)

 

September 7, 1887
The Wilmington Baseball Association gave an excursion to Carolina Beach on the steamer PASSPORT for their own benefit. There was a fine band of music along and it was a day replete with enjoyment for all who attended. (Messenger, 9-11-1887)

 

September 11, 1887
(advertisement) ROASTED OYSTERS AT CAROLINA BEACH! The finest of Myrtle Grove oysters will be served at the Oceanic Hotel today. — W. A. Bryan (Messenger, 9-11-1887)

 

September 12, 1887
The dredge boat engaged in twisting obstructions from the river nearly opposite Carolina Beach drew up a large anchor and chain. How it had come there could not be determined. (Messenger, 9-13-1887)

 

September 20, 1887
An excursion to Carolina Beach was given to the old black citizens of Wilmington by Capt. Harper of the steamer PASSPORT and his associates. (Messenger, 9-21-1887)

 

September 29, 1887
The steamer PASSPORT ran her last trip to Carolina Beach. This closed a season of well deserved success at this popular resort. Between 17,000 and 18,000 visitors were at the beach during the summer, of whom 5,000 were surf bathers. No accidents of any kind marred the pleasure of the trips due to the care and vigilance of Captains Harper and Nolan. (Star 9-30-1887)
Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1888

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 12, 1888
Capt. James Wells, who has charge of Messrs. W.F. Davis & Sons fishery on Zeke‘s Island, was seriously wounded while hunting. His gun fell and both barrels were discharged and he was wounded in the left thigh with the flesh torn from the bone. While hunting he was accompanied by Mr. Willie Mayo of the “Rocks”. Capt. Wells was taken to Wilmington on the steamer LOUISE and then taken to his home where he received the necessary surgical attention. (Star 1-13-1888)

 

February 1, 1888
Two cars and a quantity of steel rails were shipped down the river from Wilmington for the Carolina Beach Railway. (Star 2-2-1888)

 

February 2, 1888
Messrs. Burr & Bailey of Wilmington have just completed a new passenger car and also a flat car for freights for the Carolina Beach Railway. (Messenger 2-2-1888)

 

February 3, 1888
In view of the largely increased river travel last season, Capt. Harper and the New Hanover Transit Company was to put another vessel to serve all points on the lower Cape Fear River, in addition to the steamer PASSPORT. Capt. Snell was to take the wheel of the steamer PASSPORT. Capt. John Harper “gives due notice that if any man has red clay on his boots and a blue jeans suit, he will carry him on the steamer for nothing, provided it can be shown clearly after a judicial investigation before ‘Chief Justice’ Freeman that the man has no money and never had any, as the Captain is determined to bring our up-country friends to Wilmington and the nearby beach.” (Star 2-2-1888)

 

April 8, 1888
The Messrs Brown Brothers of the Diamond Saloon in Wilmington rented the Club House at Carolina Beach and will conduct a business there during the coming season. (Messenger 4-8-1888)

 

April 13, 1888
The Charlotte CHRONICLE newspaper in speaking of Carolina Beach said,

“Many of our people will be glad to learn that this season the SYLVAN GROVE, a fine excursion steamer from New York, will ply between Wilmington and Carolina Beach. The SYLVAN GROVE makes 16 miles an hour and was one of the finest boats in New York harbor. She is to be commanded by Capt. J.M. Harper, who was formerly the captain of the steamer PASSPORT. Crowds of Charlotte people will walk the decks of the SYLVAN GROVE this summer.” (Star 4-13-1888)

 

May, 1888
Capt. W.A. Snell, late captain of the MARIE, took charge of the PASSPORT as captain. Tiler Potter was named his mate. Trips from Wilmington to Orton, The Rocks and Southport would continue. VOL.II

 

May, 1888
Capt. John W. Harper purchased the steamer SYLVAN GROVE in New York for the run between Wilmington, Carolina Beach and Southport. She was a double-wheel vessel built in New York in 1858. VOL.II

 

May 5, 1888
Messrs. Burr & Bailey completed a handsome new summer car for the New Hanover Transit Company to be used on the railway from Harper‘s Landing to Carolina Beach. The car was rolled down to the Dock Street wharf where it was loaded on a lighter and shipped to its destination. (Messenger, 5-6-1888; Star, 5-6-1888)

 

May 8, 1888
A license was granted to George H. Brown to sell spirituous liquors at the Club House in Carolina Beach for the season. A license was also granted to A.B. Peterson to retail spirituous liquors in the Mayo House at the ‘Rocks’ for six months. (Messenger, 5-8-1888)

 

May 15, 1888
The Charlotte CHRONICLE newspaper reported, “There is no finer seaside resort along the Atlantic coast than Carolina Beach.” (Star, 5-15-1888)

 

May 17, 1888
A handsome lithograph picture of the popular resort, Carolina Beach, was sent to the Fayetteville JOURNAL. The newspaper commented that “the beach is equal in all respects to the more aristocratic watering places of the North.” (Messenger, 5-18-1888)

 

May 17, 1888
A large party of gentlemen got off the steamer PASSPORT AT “The Rocks” at 6:45 A.M., and they had fine sport catching sheepshead, pig fish and blackfish. Mr. W.E. Mayo had opened the hotel at “The Rocks” and was supplying the guests with all kinds of seafood, soft crabs, fish, clams, etc. “She certainly knows how to make it pleasant for all who pay her a visit.” (Messenger, 5-18-1888)

 

May 21, 1888
The Wilmington Light Infantry held their anniversary celebration at Carolina Beach. (Star, 5-15-1888)

 

June 7, 1888
The hotel at Carolina Beach had been reopened for the season. The building had been repainted and refitted, and it was now under new management. (Star, 6-7-1888)

 

June 7, 1888
C.A. Bache‘s Dining Parlors at Carolina Beach were now furnished with polite and attentive waiters. All patrons would be served promptly and to their satisfaction. The price of meals has been reduced to 35 cents. The price of bathing suits was now 15 cents. “All desiring a nice fish dinner would do well to pay us a visit.” (Messenger, 6-7-1888)

 

June 8, 1888
The Wilmington Light Infantry and the Cornet Band escaped the sweltering weather of the last few days in Wilmington with an excursion to Carolina Beach. The train at the beach had to make two trips to transfer all the passengers on the boat to the ocean. A target match was held and the judges for the match were Col. W.L. DeRosset, Col. W.C. Jones and Mr. L.S. Belden. The scorers were Lieut. George W. Doyle, Sgt. George W. Howey and Mr. Hubbard. There was an exciting contest among Messrs. Walker Taylor, Pen. Boatwright and W. P. Toomer, each one being allowed three shots. Mr. Toomer won a medal for his excellent shooting. Mr. Walker Taylor received a silver pitcher for the second best marksman. The Cornet Concert Band played lively music, and the selections by the Italian Strong Band were both pretty and appropriate. (Star, 6-9-1888)

 

June 21, 1888
A haul of 39 sturgeon was made at the fishery of Mr. W.E. Davis at Zeke‘s Island. This was the largest single catch that had been known for years. (Messenger, 6-22-1888)

 

June 21, 1888
Despite threatening weather, a great many visitors took the pleasant sail down the river and enjoyed the breezes and a refreshing surf bath at the beach. The recently painted hotel looked inviting and cool in its new garb. The celebrated pig-fish was being served at all times, and the charms of music have been added at the hotel. The Italian band plays during the boat trips up and down the river and from the hotel porch during the stay at the beach. (Star, 6-22-1888)

 

June 22, 1888
Two new bathhouses, one for ladies and one for gentlemen, have been built; partitioned off into twenty or more dressing rooms, with bathroom attached to each, so that a visitor after a plunge in the surf may take a fresh water bath in his or her dressing room.

The water for these fresh water baths is conveyed through pipes from reservoirs at the hotel. The supply comes from driven wells sunk on the beach to a depth of 50 feet and furnishing remarkably soft, clear cold water. Bathing suits and an unlimited supply of clean fresh towels, with the services of well-trained attendants, are furnished for a nominal charge at these new baths. The baths are under the control and management of Mr. Robert M. Houston of Wilmington. (Star, 6-22-1888)

 

June 27, 1888
The delegates of the Democratic Convention for the Sixth Congressional District, by invitation of the New Hanover delegates, visited Carolina Beach and were very much pleased with their trip. The SYLVAN GROVE had a large crowd of about 400 passengers on board. (Star, 6-28-1888)

 

June 30, 1888
Another alligator was captured at Carolina Beach. He took refuge in the woods and fought viciously, but after an exciting chase was cornered and had to surrender. Dan Smith, a colored citizen who took a prominent part in the chase, made this philosophical remark: “Talk bout gator can‘t run, Blessed Toney, dey run like a calf.” (Star, 7-1-1888)

 

June 30, 1888
A pair of alligators had been added to the attractions at Carolina Beach. They were about eight feet long and were caught in a net in the fresh water lake close to the beach yesterday morning. Besides these two another was caught but was drowned before the fishermen could extricate it from the net. Captain Harper has had a pen built for the aquatic monsters, and after they are thoroughly tamed will permit visitors to ride them up and down the beach. (Star, 6-30-1888)

 

July 4, 1888
A party of young men fishing at Carolina Beach caught 125 fine fish a short distance from the hotel in less than 2 hours. (Star, 7-6-1888)

 

July 4, 1888
A reunion of Confederate veterans – survivors of the Wilmington Rifle Guards, 18th N.C. Regiment, was held at old Camp Wyatt, near Carolina Beach. (Star, 6-30-1888)

 

July 4, 1888
The Fourth of July holiday was celebrated by hundreds of pleasure seekers at Carolina Beach. Throngs of bathers covered the beach in front of the hotel and a few wrestled with the tireless roaring ocean. Some people not caring for surf bathing roamed along the beach gathering shells and bits of seaweed cast up by the waves.

Others took a drive in the hack that plied hourly between Battery Gatlin on the north and the storm-beaten blockader wrecks on the south. The drive was refreshing, over a firm, smooth beach, and within the sweep of the surf at times. In the evening there was a grand display of fireworks sent off from the bow of the steamer SYLVAN GROVE under Captain Harper‘s direction. The fireworks continued on the river trip from the beach to Wilmington. (Star, 7-6-1888; Messenger, 7-6-1888)

 

July 6, 1888
Along the line of the Carolina Beach railroad (from river to the beach) may be seen huge 100-pound shot. These missiles of war are reminiscences of the attention paid to our coast by the Federal navy during the late unpleasantness. Quite a number of these shot were unearthed during the construction of the railroad. (Messenger, 7-6-1888)

 

July 6, 1888
Captain Harper added a pair of alligators to the attractions at Carolina Beach. He placed them in a special pen, and after they are thoroughly tamed he was planning to permit visitors to ride them up and down the beach. They were about 8 feet long and had been caught in a net in the fresh water lake close to the beach. Another alligator drowned before he could be extricated from the net by the fishermen. (Star, 7-6-1888)

 

July 13, 1888
An immense school of fish made their appearance right in the midst of the surf bathers within a few yards of the store. There were thousands of fish and there was no end to the fun. The bathers caught scores of fish, but they slipped from their hands like eels; and the only successful person was one who procured a basket with which he ‘scooped’ as many as he wanted. These unexpected visitors added much to the sport of the afternoon. (Star, 7-14-1888)

 

July 16, 1888
Between 400 and 500 persons went down to Carolina Beach on the excursion given under the auspices of the Young Catholic Friends Society complimentary to Cardinal Gibbons. The SYLVAN GROVE was decorated for the occasion with flags and bunting, and the band provided sweet strains of music on board the boat.

The trip was enjoyed heartily by all, especially by His Eminence the Cardinal, the Bishops and other clergy. A dinner was tendered their guests by the Society at the Oceanic Hotel, which was very much enjoyed. The dining room was tastily decorated with flowers, and the hotel itself was gay with flags and banners. (Star, 7-14-1888)

 

July 18, 1888
There was a large increase in the number of visitors to Carolina Beach this season over that of the last season. About this time in 1887 the steamer PASSPORT had carried down about 900 visitors, while the steamer SYLVAN GROVE up to this time this season, had already carried down 14,700. This showed an increased attendance of more than 50 per sent. “Under so excellent a management, there is little doubt that Carolina Beach will continue to grow in popularity.” (Messenger, 7-18-1888)

 

July 26, 1888
There were nearly 600 visitors at the beach today, among them a large number of members of the North Carolina State Guard. At 5 p.m. there were nearly 100 bathers in the surf. When Burris‘s fishing boats rode in gracefully over the breakers there was a rush of men, women and children to where they landed to see what luck the fishermen had. It was found that, in two hours, each crew had caught over 300 fish, which included a dozen choice varieties. (Star, 7-27-1888)

 

July 27, 1888
Lieutenant-Colonel Tipton performed on the slack rope again at Carolina Beach. He was to return to his home the next day. (Star, 7-28-1888)

 

August 1, 1888
One of the largest crowds of the season went to Carolina Beach on the steamer SYLVAN GROVE. In addition to the Brooklyn Baptist Church Sunday School, there were several hundred passengers from the city and county. (Star, 8-2-1888)

 

August 2, 1888
The train at Carolina Beach passed within a close gunshot of a bald-headed eagle. He was perched on a dead pine and seemed to understand that none of the passengers had a gun. (Star, 8-3-1888)

 

August 3, 1888
About 300 people went down to Carolina Beach from Wilmington. “The surf bathing was just splendid.” (Star, 8-4-1888)

 

August 8, 1888
About 350 persons went down to Carolina Beach. “They enjoyed the breeze and taking tumble in the surf.” (Star, 8-9-1888)

 

August 14, 1888
Nearly 1,000 persons visited Carolina Beach to hear a lecture by the Adventist Elder Cargyle during the Adventist Conference called to order by Elder Sherrill. During the Conference resolutions were adopted for the establishment of and Advent weekly newspaper. Elder Cargyle‘s lecture was based on the prophecies of Daniel. Elder DuBose concluded the services with prayer, after which the doors of the church were opened and one lady presented herself for baptism. After a short recess for dinner the people assembled at the Sound, near the hotel, where the ordinance of baptism was administered by Elder Cargyle. After this, a delegation from Myrtle Grove church gave Elder Cargyle a pleasant sail around to that place, were he preached that night. The delegates to the Conference deemed the excursion a complete success. Refreshments were furnished by the ladies of the church. (Star, 8-12-1888)

 

August 15, 1888
Bishop Haid, D.D., and Rev. F. Felix visited Carolina Beach. The Bishop and Father Felix left for Greensboro, N.C. the next day, where they were to be entertained by Col. Robert Douglas. Bishop Haid will then return to St. Mary‘s College, Belmont, N.C., his residence, and Father Felix was to visit friends at Raleigh till the opening of the college on September 1st, where he will again assume his duties as Professor of Divinity. (Star, 8-16-1888)

 

August 21, 1888
The old tram road at the Ross rock quarry on the Cape Fear River had been purchased by a Mr. Williams, of Red Springs, N.C. The iron was to be used in building a road from Red Springs to McNeill‘s. All of the wheelbarrows, spades, shovels, drills, etc., were to be sold in a few days at auction. (Messenger, 8-21-1888)

 

August 22, 1888
An excursion for the benefit of the Fifth Street Methodist Church was held on the steamer SYLVAN GROVE to Carolina Beach. Refreshments were served on board the steamer by the ladies of the church. (Star, 8-18-1888)

 

August 22, 1888
Life preservers had been placed along the shore at Carolina Beach so that they could be easily obtained in case of an accident. (Messenger, 8-22-1888)

 

August 28, 1888 …. Federal Point
All the implements from the old Ross rock quarry railroad, viz: 75 wheelbarrows, 20 steel drills, 7 iron bars, 50 drill hammers, 40 pickaxes, 75 shovels, 20 sets of harness, grindstones, and a large quantity of other goods pertaining to railroad building, were to be auctioned at Davis‘ fish house today. (Messenger, 8-26-1888)

 

September 7, 1888
Fireworks and a grand illumination was held at Carolina Beach. The steamer SYLVAN GROVE made two trips to the beach during the day. The last train at the beach was at 9 p.m. (Messenger, 9-5-1888)

 

September 13, 1888
A number of choice building lots were offered at auction at Carolina Beach. The auction was conducted by S.A. Schloss & Company, auctioneers, from Wilmington. “A grand opportunity to secure a seaside home.” (Star, 9-9-1888)

 

September 14, 1888
Several choice lots were offered for sale at St. Joseph‘s, near Carolina Beach by J.L. Winner. This was to be the only sale during the remainder of 1888. (Star, 9-4-1888)

 

September 16, 1888
The beach was still attracting visitors. They were enjoying the many attractions at this favorite resort. (Star, 9-16-1888)

 

1888
A party of gentlemen will go down on the steamer BESSIE, this morning, for a day‘s fishing at Zeke‘s Island. (Messenger, 1888)

 

1889
The delinquent property and taxes due for the year 1888. – FEDERAL POINT TOWNSHIP.

Craig, Heirs of Joseph — 100 acres —— $ 1.70
Davis, Joseph ————– 30 acres ——- $ 4.51
Grissom, Edgar A. ———-  2 acres ——- $ 1.03
Moore Elijah ————— 30 acres ——- $ 3.11
Reynolds, Eliza J. ——– 100 acres ——- $ 2.07
Winner, J. L. ————– 141 acres ——- $ 19.80
Harriss, Wm. J. ———-  80 acres ——– $ 3.20
Mayo, W.E. ————— 400 acres ——- $ 7.70
Wescott, John L. ——— 300 acres ——- $9.20
Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1889

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

February 3, 1889
Capt. J.W. Harper, the general manager of Carolina Beach was advertising cottages for rent at the beach for the coming season. They were to apply to Mr. Joseph D. Smith at the office of Smith & Boatwright at Wilmington. He also offered liberal terms to those who wanted to erect cottages for themselves. (Messenger, 2-3-1889)

 

March 10, 1889
The grading on the new extension of the New Hanover Transit Company‘s railroad was finished. The steel rails were expected from Philadelphia by schooner on April 1st. Work on a new pier had been started by Capt. Skinner, and it was planned that the pier and railroad line would be completed by May 1st. The building of some cottages at the beach was to begin soon. (Star, 3-10-1889)

 

March 14, 1889
The preparation made by the Carolina Beach Company for the transit to and entertainment of guests and excursionists to their resort are not surpassed in completeness on the coast, and they deserve the most liberal patronage on the part of Wilmington people. (Messenger, 3-14-1889)

 

March 22, 1889
The new railroad from near Gander Hall to Carolina Beach was to be completed by the end of the first week in April. The new pier was in the course of construction. It was to be nearly 500 feet in length, and the trains were to run on it out to the river boats. A number of cottages were in the course of construction. (Star, 3-22-1889)

 

March 30, 1889
The iron rails for laying the new railroad track from the Cape Fear River to Carolina Beach arrived in Wilmington. It was to be laid in a short time. (Messenger, 3-30-1889)

 

March 30, 1889
Mr. W.L. Smith, secretary of the New Hanover Transit Company, which owns the famous Carolina Beach, predicted a lively season at the beach. He reported the rebuilding of the railroad from Harper‘s Pier, on the Cape Fear River, to the Beach, and the building of a substantial pier far out into the river to accommodate the landing of the steamer SYLVAN GROVE.

The new pier was three quarters of a mile nearer Wilmington than the old one, and as a consequence the railroad had to be lengthened nearly a mile. The entire trip from the boat leaving Wilmington until the train arrives at the beach required only 45 minutes. Mr. Smith forecasted that Carolina Beach would be in great shape to receive visitors by May 1st. (Messenger, 3-31-1889)

 

April 3, 1889
A fire occurred in the house of Mr. Henry Taylor, the same being occupied by Messrs. Dave Southerland and W. A. Lea. The house and kitchen and smoke house were all destroyed. Both Southerland and Lea lost everything they had except what they had on. The fire occurred about 1 P.M. today. It is not known how the fire got to the house as Mrs. Lea said there had been no fire in the house all day. (Messenger, 4-5-1889)

 

April 10, 1889
The new engine for the New Hanover Transit Company railroad was expected to arrive today. (Messenger, 4-7-1889)

 

April 16, 1889
H.A. Kure was offering the Carolina Beach Club House and its furniture for rent for the season. (Messenger, 4-16-1889)

 

April 17, 1889
The new locomotive arrived at Wilmington for shipment to the New Hanover Transit Company at Carolina Beach. It is brand new and has a pilot on both ends. On the tender in golden letters are the words: “No.2 Carolina Beach Line.” The engine is dummy style and is a beauty. (Messenger, 4-18-1889)

 

April 19, 1889
The new locomotive for the Carolina Beach railroad was taken down to Harper‘s Pier. (Star, 4-18-1889)

 

April 20, 1889
The New Hanover Transit Company has leased Carolina Beach Hotel to Mr. B.L. Perry, of Beaufort, N.C., and he will open it about May 10th for the accommodation of the public.

The Carolina Beach Hotel is being greatly improved, and 50 rooms will be added this season including the cottages adjacent to it. In all there will be 60 rooms embraced in this delightful seaside caravansary.

Mr. Perry I a veteran hotel man and it will be remembered he was the proprietor of the Purcell House in Wilmington in its balmy days. Another attractive feature at Carolina Beach this season will be a hack line to Fort Fisher, five miles away, also to the great fishing grounds at “The Rocks.” (Messenger, 4-20-1889)

 

April 26, 1889
Capt. B. L. Perry, the former proprietor of the Purcell House in Wilmington, and the Atlantic Hotel at Beaufort, N.C., was to take charge of the hotel at Carolina Beach. Twenty rooms were to be added to the hotel, which in addition to the eight cottages being built, would accommodate a large number of visitors. A line of hacks will be established between Carolina Beach and Fort Fisher, a distance of 5 miles, giving ample opportunity to everyone who desired to fish at the “Rocks.” (Star, 4-26-1889)

 

April 30, 1889
The old homestead of the late Henry Davis, in Federal Point Township, was offered for sale. (Messenger, 4-30-1889)

 

May 2, 1889
Messrs. George and Frank Brown leased the hotel saloon at Carolina Beach again for the season about to open. (Messenger, 5-2-1889)

 

May 3, 1889
The construction gang was hard at work on the new railroad, which was to be superior in every respect to the old road. Captain Walter G. McRae, the engineer, has done his work well. It was to be laid with new steel rails throughout, and with the exception of one curve it was almost a straight line. To further add to the safety of the trains they were to be supplied with air brakes. It was noted that the beach was rapidly assuming the proportions of a seaside village. (Star, 5-3-1889)

 

May 12, 1889
The steamer PASSPORT was brought from New York by Capt. John W. Harper to make the run between Wilmington, Carolina Beach, ‘The Rocks’ and Southport for the summer, making two trips daily, and lying at Southport at night. VOL.II

 

May 14, 1889
The New Hanover Transit Company had erected five handsome cottages of four rooms each, and they were to be offered for rent this season. Mr. William A. French had also built a neat and pretty cottage with four rooms and a kitchen with two rooms. (Messenger, 5-14-1889)

 

May 14, 1889
It was announced that the new railroad track to Carolina Beach had been completed. (Star, 5-14-1889)

 

May 16, 1889
Mr. J. W. Branch, of Wilmington, had built a wind-mill which was to be erected soon at Carolina Beach for the purpose of pumping fresh water for the hotel and for other purposes. A large reservoir was to be built for holding the water. (Messenger, 5-16-1889)

 

May 19, 1889
The steamer SYLVAN GROVE made her first trip from Wilmington to Carolina Beach, where the new season opened. The new railroad had been completed and it was 3 1⁄2 miles long. The cars now had new wheels and air brakes.

Capt John W. Harper continued as commander of the steamer SYLVAN GROVE, and Mr. George Crapon was to be his mate. In addition to this steamer, the PASSPORT will also make regular trips to the beach. The work of improving the hotel continued, and in addition to others, twelve sleeping rooms were added, and later the number of rooms went to number twenty-five or more.

The New Hanover Transit Company erected five handsome cottages of four rooms each, and they were offered for rent. Mr. William A. French, of Wilmington, had also built a neat and pretty cottage with four rooms and a kitchen with two rooms. (Messenger, 5-14-1889)

 

May 19, 1889
W.L. Long was offering a Carolina Beach cottage for sale or rent. The cottage was on a nice lot and it had three rooms with a wide piazza. Good bathing water front. (Star, 5-19-1889)

 

May 19, 1889
The Carolina Beach Railway has been improved. The road and trestle were constructed under the supervision of Mr. Walter S. MacRae, a very competent civil engineer, of Wilmington. (Star, 5-19-1889)

 

May 20, 1889
The season at Carolina Beach opened. It was announced that the Goldsboro Italian String Bad would again furnish music aboard the steamer SYLVAN GROVE and at the Beach during the season. (Messenger, 5-19-1889)

 

May 21, 1889
A portion of the skeleton of the whale, which had been stranded off Wrightsville Beach a few weeks earlier, had been washed ashore at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 5-21-1889)

 

May 21, 1889
Messrs. S. A. Schloss & Company, the live crockery dealers, have supplied the Oceanic Hotel, at Carolina Beach, with crockery. (Messenger, 5-21-1889)

 

May 28, 1889
The New Hanover Transit Company has decided not to run the steamers SYLVAN GROVE or the PASSORT to Carolina Beach hereafter on Sundays by order of the President of the Company. (Messenger, 5-28- 1889)

 

May 29, 1889
Monday will again be the “colored people‘s day” at Carolina Beach this season. It is understood that they have chartered the steamer SYLVAN GROVE for every Monday for the next two months. (Messenger, 5-19-1889)

 

May 30, 1889
Martin Newman, Chief of the Fire Department, gave an excursion to Carolina Beach, complimentary to the officers and members of Wilmington Steam Fire Engine Company and the officers of Howard Relief Fire Engine Company and Wilmington Hook and Ladder Company and to the ‘Dennis Family of the Board of Alderman.’ The steamer SYLVAN GROVE left at 3 p.m. with a large crowd aboard. The party took supper at the beach and returned to the city late in the evening. Also among the excursionists were ‘His Honor’ Mayor Fowler and Mr. John G. Oldenbuttel, ex-Chief of the Fire Department. (Messenger, 5-29-1889; 5-31-1889)

 

June 1, 1889
The Blessed Ten of the King‘s Daughters, whose motto is “It is more blessed to give than to receive,” held an excursion to Carolina Beach on the steamer SYLVAN GROVE. Refreshments were served on the steamer by the “Ten.” Other bands of the “King‘s Daughters” went along on the trip. The object of the excursion was to raise funds for the establishment of a “Summer Home,” intended for poor sick children who can be sent there to recuperate, and where they can be properly fed, clothed, nursed and looked after. (Messenger, 5-28-1889)

 

June 4, 1889
A license was granted to the Brown Brothers to sell malt liquors at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 6-4-1889)

 

June 5, 1889
Guests sitting on the porch of the Hotel Oceanic at Carolina Beach saw a rare sight. It was a waterspout which seemed to be about 3 miles off the coast in front of the hotel. It appeared to be several feet in diameter and continued to whirl in the air for 10 to 15 minutes. (Messenger, 6-7-1889)

 

June 9, 1889
(advertisement) – FOR RENT – That attractive Summer Resort “The Rocks.” Nine Cottages, large dining room and kitchen. Good boating, fishing and surf-bathing. Will be rented low to a good tenant. (Messenger, 6-15-1889)

 

June 20, 1889
About 300 excursionists went down to Carolina Beach to attend a picnic given by the Sunday School of St. James Episcopal Church, Wilmington. (Star, 6-21-1889)

 

June 22, 1889
A man-eating shark was seen at Carolina Beach. Mr. A.G. Call spread the word that shark meat was good to eat and the tables may as well be turned. (Messenger, 6-23-1889)

 

June 27, 1889
The excursion of the Howard Relief Fire Engine Company of Wilmington to Carolina Beach was well patronized, despite the bad weather. At the beach there was no rain and the excursionists had a delightful time. In the target shooting the first prize, a gold-headed cane, was won by Mr. C. Richter; the second prize, also a gold-headed cane, was awarded to Mr. M. Rathjen. In the contest for the ladies‘ prize, Miss Mamie Moore made the best shot, and was awarded the prize, a solid silver fruit knife Later another contest was opened for prizes and the first was won by Mr. William Tienken, who made the best shot and was awarded a gold-lined silver cup. The second was won by Mr. J.G. Olderbuttel, who was awarded a silver cup, and the third prize, a gold-lined silver thimble was also won by M. Oldenbuttel. (Star, 6-28-1889)

 

July 4, 1889
D. McEachern was occupying a cottage at Carolina Beach. (Star, 7-7-1889)

 

July 6, 1889
Capt. J. W. Harper, general manager of Carolina Beach, was advertising that the steamers SYLVAN GROVE and PASSPORT left Wilmington daily, except Sundays and Mondays, for Carolina Beach and Southport. He wrote:

  • “Carolina Beach being situated upwards of 10 miles from any channel or inlet calculated to produce dangerous currents, the most experienced can safely enjoy the pleasures of surf-bathing by simply observing the plain rules of prudence and common sense.
  • New still-water bathing houses, supplied with ocean water for ladies and children, were now open, with polite female attendants in waiting.
  • Fresh fish of all kinds could also always be obtained in abundance.” (Star, 7-24-1889)

 

July 6, 1889
Mr. R. W Heide, of Wilmington, is having a handsome cottage erected at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 7-6-1889)

 

July 7, 1889
The Carolina Beach Company was selling lots for nominal prices in order to place summer houses within the reach of desirable residents. A number of these lots had been purchased by Wilmingtonians for residences. Among them were Messrs. W. A. French, H.A. Kure, D. McEachern and W.H. Yopp. These new residents had buildings either completed or in the course of construction. (Star, 7-7-1889)

 

July 10, 1889
Carolina Beach is growing in popularity every day. Every cottage is occupied and every room at the hotel has been engaged. (Star, 7-10-1889)

 

July 11, 1889
The survivors of the Eighteenth Regiment, North Carolina State Troops, CSA, held their reunion at Carolina Beach. Members of this gallant old regiment resided principally along the Carolina Central Railroad and this was their first reunion. (Messenger, 6-23-1889; 4-21-1889; 5-5-1889; Star, 7-11-1889)

 

July 24, 1889
The Germania Cornet Band accepted an invitation to give an open air concert Carolina Beach every Friday afternoon. A music stand was erected for them near the hotel. They are sure to be greeted by a large audience. (Star, 7-24-1889)

 

July 26, 1889
The Germania Cornet Band gave the first concert of a series announced by the management of the Transit Company. The band played from a stand erected in front of the hotel, the performance beginning at 8 p.m. and ending about 9:10 p.m. The crowd showed their appreciation of the music by heartily applauding each piece. (Star, 7-27-1889)

 

July 26, 1889
Three cottages were to be built immediately at Carolina beach by parties who had recently purchased lots. This was to make 15 cottages at the beach. If more cottages are built, it will be necessary soon to have a mayor, board of aldermen, a post office and a daily mail. (Star, 7-26-1889)

 

July 26, 1889
Three more cottages are in course of erection at Carolina beach. There are now about twelve very pretty cottages there, and other lots are being sold readily. Two streets have been laid out, and Capt. Harper has about decided to call one of them Bay View. (Messenger, 7-27-1889)

 

August 1, 1889
The magistrates for Federal Point Township were Henry Taylor, John L. Cantwell, J. P. Montgomery, J.T. Biddle and Jacob Horn.

 

August 2, 1889
The roof of the kitchen of the hotel at Carolina Beach caught on fire from the chimney, but the fire was speedily extinguished by some of the employees at the hotel and the damage was slight. (Star, 8-3-1889)

 

August 10, 1889
The pretty cottage which Mr. Hans A. Kure is building at Carolina Beach is almost completed. (Messenger, 8-10-1889)

 

August 13, 1889
The guests of the hotel and summer residents at Carolina Beach enjoyed a brilliant but impromptu affair, a carnival which took place at the hotel, under the direction of Mrs. Hahn, as mistress of ceremonies and Mrs. W.A. French as musical director.

The costumes were all in good taste and the piazzas and ball room of the hotel presented a beautiful scene with the gay crowd of gorgeously arrayed promenaders marching to the music of the band. The masks were removed at 11:30 aid much merriment.

The characters represented were:

  • Sister of Mercy – Miss Gray;
  • Ancient Maiden Lady – Mrs. Stevenson;
  • Tambourine Girl and Organ Grinder – Mrs. Bates and Miss Newbury;
  • Old Maid – Mrs. Perry;
  • Aunt Dinah – Mrs. Solomon;
  • Spanish Girls – Mrs. Price and Miss Hartsell;
  • Phantom – Miss Hargrave;
  • Ghost –  Miss Nannie Davis;
  • Sailor Boys – Jennie Bates, Etta Perry, Annie Dundan;
  • Giddy School Girl – Mr. Joe Smith;
  • Country School Girls – Mary Bolles, Edith Bolles;
  • James Stevenson – Lee Solomon;
  • Indians – Reston Stevenson, Willie Gordon
  • ‘Chinaman’ – Arthur Myers;
  • Devil – Ike Solomon;
  • Clown – Jack Perry;
  • Commercial Traveler – H. Newberry;
  • Turk – H.E. Newberry.  (Star, 8-15-1889)

 

August 14, 1889
A whale was among the off-shore visitors at Carolina Beach. Capt. Harper reported that it was about a quarter of a mile out. (Star,8-15-1889)

 

August 20, 1889
A masquerade was held at Carolina Beach and was one of the most brilliant successes of the season. About 800 people attended which was one of the largest gatherings ever seen at this popular resort. The hotel was crowded with merry dancers. Feasting, fun and frolic ruled the hour. A magnificent display of fireworks was given by the managers during the evening. (Star, 8-21-1889)

 

August 20, 1889
The locomotive which was used on the Carolina Beach Railroad in 1888, was sold to the Wilmington, Onslow & East Carolina Railroad. It was brought to Wilmington by Messrs. Balden & Rankin and was towed by the E.G. Barker. This locomotive was to be overhauled at the Atlantic Coast Line shops, and will be used on the W.O. & E.C. as a construction engine. (Messenger, 8-21-1889)

 

August 24, 1889
A considerable number of tired Wilmington business men went to Carolina Beach on the evening boat and were to remain there until the next morning. (Star, 8-25-1889)

 

August 31, 1889
A party of fishermen reported great luck at the Corn Cake Rocks and in the vicinity of Federal Point. They camped on the shell banks and caught shrimp in the vicinity to bait with. They caught about two barrels of tine sheepshead and the finest pig fish ever seen on this coast. Many of the sheepshead were so heavy they broke off the hook before they could be gotten to the top. One of the pig fish caught was 12 inches long, and another fisherman landed a rock fish that measured 2 1/2 feet in length.

Pig fish and sheepshead also bit well at New Inlet Rocks. The fishermen while near Buzzard’s Bay obtained some very fine oysters and a royal roast was consequently enjoyed. The oysters of Buzzard’s Bay are large and fat. It was a sure bet that the fishermen would return at an early date. (Messenger, 8-31-1889)

 

September 29, 1889
Archie Freeman hauled in over 2,000 mullets at Carolina Beach. (Star, 9-29-1889)

 

October 27, 1889
Carl A. Bache, of Carolina Beach, was advertising for sale “A charming place at Carolina Beach, containing 22 1/4 acres, Dwelling, Outhouses, etc., together with Furniture, Cattle, Boats, etc. Owners desiring to locate elsewhere. Terms moderate.” (Messenger, 10-29-1889)

 

November 2, 1889
About 50 excursionists went down to Carolina Beach on the steamer PASSPORT. The weather was delightful and the group spent a charming day on the beach. (Star, 11-3-1889)

 

November 20, 1889
Hans A. Kure and a number of other gentlemen went on a hunt at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 11-20-1889)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1890

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

April 11, 1890
The steamer SYLVAN GROVE will come out from her winter quarters on the wharf at Eagles’ Island, opposite Wilmington, and will be given a thorough overhauling and re-painting. She will begin running on the Carolina Beach schedule about May 1st. (Star, 4-11-1890)

 

April 18, 1890
Mrs. W.E. Mayo, who kept the hotel at the “Rocks” for many years, was to have charge of the hotel at Carolina Beach this season. (Star, 4-18-1890)

 

April 21, 1890
The steamer PASSPORT made her first trip for the season to Carolina Beach and carried down quite a number of visitors. (Star, 4-22-1890)

 

June 1, 1890
Nine new cottages were being erected at Carolina Beach where they were to be occupied this summer. (Star, 8-1-1890)

 

June 4, 1890
There were twenty contestants at the target shooting of the Wilmington Light Infantry at Carolina Beach. The first prize was an annual ticket to Carolina beach and the Company Medal, which was won by Capt. W.R. Kenan, by a score of 12 out of a possible 15; distance 200 yards. The second prize, a $5 gold piece, won by Sgt. John Smith, who made a score of 11. The judges were Col. W.C. Jones and Lieut. Patrick, U.S.A. (Star, 6-5-1890)

The W.L.I. had its annual target practice at Carolina Beach in fatigue uniform. Mr. F.A. Newberry offered a $5 gold piece as a prize for the second best shot. (Star, 6-3-1890)

 

June 10, 1890
The Policemen Department was holding their annual excursion to Carolina Beach. A game of baseball and target shooting for a policemen’s belt and club was to be among the attractions. The Committee of Arrangements included R.M. Capps, G.W. Gifford and W.R. Smith. (Star, 6-3-1890)

 

June 10, 1890
An immense crowd went down to Carolina Beach on the policemen’s excursion aboard the steamer SYLVAN GROVE. There was a target practice on the Beach, and the participants included: R.M. Capps, F.T. Skipper, J.D. Orrell, J.L. Salllings, R.L. Dixon, R.H. Moore, J.L. White, W.R. Smith, S.J. Bryan, C.E. Wood, C.W. Kunold, L. Gordon, C.E. Collins, H.W. Howell, G.W. Gafford, J.B. Brinkley, W.W. Mintz, Eleven missed the target entirely. The distance was 50 yards and 38-calibre pistols were used. The prize, a club and belt, was won by Mr. H.W. Howell and was presented by Capt. Harper.

There was also a game of Old Hundred, and the successful nine were presented with a box of cigars by Capt. J.W. Harper. One of the most enjoyable events was a foot race, in which Capt. R.M. Capps was the winner. He received a silk handkerchief from Capt. Harper and a box of cigars from Mr. S.W. Sanders. The men said that Capt. Capps fairly “burnt the wind.”

A nice dinner was prepared for the policemen, and Mrs. Harry Brock and her two daughters were asked to preside. This was a touching tribute to the memory of their beloved chief, Capt. Harry Brock, who died some years earlier. (Star, 6-11-1890)

 

June 17, 1890
The steamer D.MURCHISON brought down from Fayetteville to Wilmington, three ready-framed cottages which are to be erected at Carolina Beach, one for Capt. W.A. Robinson, one for Mr. Walter Watson, and the other for Mr. Robbins, of Fayetteville. Other parties in Fayetteville will put up cottages at the Beach and occupy them this summer. (Star, 6-18-1890)

 

June 20, 1890
The German Cornet Band presented the following program at Carolina Beach:

RESCUE: quick step, by George Southwell.
THE PRETTIEST; gavotte, by J.W. Warren.
PLEASANT DREAMS; serenade, by W..Ripley.
ZELDA; march, by F.J. Keller.
TYRO; march, by R.J. Herndon.
FOREPAUGH’S AGGREGATION; overture, by George Southwell.
OUR BABIES; polka, by O Langley.
DASHING BEAUTY; quick step, by F.J. Keller. (Star, 6-20-1890)

 

June 21, 1890
The Fayetteville OBSERVER newspaper announced that Mr. Walter Watson, of that city, who never does  anything by halves, had purchased a lot at Carolina Beach and was to erect thereon a handsome cottage where he and his family would spend their summers in the future. (Star, 6-21-1890)

 

June 27, 1890
A bear hunt was organized at Carolina Beach with thirty men and a pack of good trained dogs taking part in the campaign against “Bruin.” The leader of the group was Mr. George L. Morton. The bear was first seen on June 22nd by Mr. Hans A. Kure, about 1 1/2 miles below Carolina Beach.

On the 25th a party was organized by Mr. Morton and went to search of the game. They found the bear, a big black fellow, about 10 p.m., near the surf some two miles below Carolina Beach. They got two or three shots at him before he escaped into the woods. (Star, 6-27-1890)

 

June 27, 1890
The Wilmington Steam Fire Engine Company, No. 1 gave one of the largest excursions this season to Carolina Beach. There were between 500 and 600 people who spent the day in singing, dancing, surf bathing and feasting. The steamer SYLVAN GROVE made three trips from Wilmington to carry the crowd down; the steamers PASSPORT and SYLVAN GROVE brought them back to the city arriving about 11 p.m. (Star, 6-28-1890)

 

June 28, 1890
A second attempt to capture and kill the visiting bear at Carolina Beach did not take place. The sportsmen from the city were not “hankering” after the bear. The bear was again seen on the beach but none of the city folks had a gun that was “fixed to kill bear.” (Star, 6-29-1890)

 

July, 1890
The steamer BESSIE had been repaired and she resumed her trips between Wilmington, Carolina Beach and Southport. VOL. II.

 

July 4, 1890
A day of quiet pleasure and enjoyment was offered visitors at Carolina Beach. There was music in the pavilion for those who wished to dance, also surf bathing and fishing. The Germania Cornet Band gave concerts in the afternoon and evening. At dark there was a grand display of fireworks. The steamers SYLVAN GROVE and PASSPORT carried visitors to and from Wilmington. (Star, 7-4-1890)

 

July 4, 1890
The fourth of July was celebrated at Carolina Beach with a programme of concerts by the Germania Band, a bear hunt, boat races, foot races, music and dancing and fireworks. The steamers SYLVAN GROVE and PASSPORT both made extra trips during the day to meet the demand. (Star, 6-29-1890)

 

July 6, 1890
A bear was roaming the sands along the shore at Carolina Beach. Willie Taylor, son of Capt. John Taylor, reported that he had seen bear tracks in the neighborhood of a dense swamp a mile or two below Carolina Beach. (Star, 7-6-1890)

 

July 11, 1890
Editor Roscower, of the Goldsboro HEADLIGHT newspaper, recently visited Wilmington and Carolina Beach, and upon his return home he rote the following account of his trip:

“After dinner we boarded the palatial steamer SYLVAN GROVE, under command of that ever obliging and whole-souled gentleman, Capt. Harper. He has always a ready smile for you and with him ‘on the wheel’ there is no such word as danger. After a delightful sail of a little over an hour (a distance of 15 miles), we were met at the wharf by a train of airy summer cars which conveyed us after a pleasant ride of about 12 minutes to the place of our desires – Carolina Beach.

This ‘Coney Island of North Carolina’ is becoming more popular every day, judging from the large amount of visitors there. The surf-bathing there is just splendid.” (Star, 7-11-1890)

 

July 11, 1890
An entertainment was given by a number of young ladies and young men at the hotel at Carolina Beach. Some of the participants were from Salem, N.C., Magnolia, N.C. and the remainder from Wilmington. The entertainment consisted of songs, recitations, and a farce entitled “The Mouse Trap.” The hotel and private cottages were called upon for curtains, rugs, etc. and the young ladies were enabled to prepare a very creditable stage with the articles that were lent to them. The entertainment opened with a duet entitled “Gypsie Countess,” very pleasantly and forcibly rendered by the Misses Stolter. The next piece was a recitation entitled “Dead Doll Sugar Plum,: by Miss Lina Solomon, a very sweet little Miss of about eight summers, who had a fine delivery for one so young in years.

The next on the program was a duet entitled “Margueretta,” which was well rendered by Misses Billinger and Peschau, and was well received by the audience. The farce was the next thing, and was a lively and mirth- provoking piece. The following was in the cast of characters: Mrs. Summens: Miss G. Jenkins; Mrs. Kerwin: Miss Newbery; Mrs. Agnes Roberts; Miss May O’Connor; Jane: Miss L. Southerland; Mr. Willis Campbell: Mr. G.F.Jenkins.

The visitors to the Beach doubtless felt grateful to the young folks for their contribution to their enjoyment. (Star, 7-12-1890)

 

July 11, 1890
The attractions at Carolina Beach was music by Germania Cornet Band and a vocal concert by some young ladies of Wilmington, Salem and Magnolia.  The musical programme arranged for the band was as follows:

DASHING BEAUTY; quickstep, by Keller.
FOREPAUGH’S AGGREGATION; overture, by Southwell.
PLEASANT DREAMS; serenade, by Ripley.
TYRO QUICKSTEP; by Herndon.
KNIGHT WALTZES; by Knight.
GLADIATOR MARCH; by Sousa.
LOTTA’S LULLABY; by Rollinson.
RESCUE QUICKSTEP. (Star, 7-11-1890)

 

July 20, 1890
A grand excursion to Carolina Beach was held under the auspices of Howard Relief Fire Engine Company No. 1. There was to be refreshments, moonlight music, dancing, foot races, sack races, target shooting and other amusements at the beach. Five prizes will be awarded. The steamer SYLVAN GROVE would leave the city three different times for the Beach. The last train would leave the beach at 9 a.m. The committee of arrangements included P. Fick, chairman, W. Otersen, W. Rivenbark, C. Richter, and W. Bloom. (Messenger, 7-22-1890)

 

July 24, 1890
There were now thirty-two cottages at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 7-24-1890)

 

August 6, l890
As the guests of Clarendon Council, the representatives of the Grand Council Legion of Honor, of North Carolina, recently in session in Wilmington spent a most delightful day at Carolina Beach.

The popular feature of the evening was the elegant supper at the Oceanic Hotel, in the preparation of which Mrs. Mayo, the popular hostess, fairly surpassed herself. An air of neatness and cleanliness that was refreshing pervaded the dining room, the waiters were alert and attentive, and the pigfish, clam firtters and deviled crabs, always the favorite dishes at seaside resorts, were presented in a style that would tempt the appetite of the most accomplished epicure. Mr. Charlie Jacobs did the honors of the office in great shape.
(Star, 8-7-1890)

 

August 8, 1890
A resident of Carolina Beach wrote the following:

“. . . The experiment projected three years ago by the present management of the Wilmington Transit Company has been successful beyond all expectations, and Carolina Beach was fast becoming the most popular seaside resort on the Atlantic coast. There are at present 34 cottages, occupied by many social and nice families, the majority of them being well-to-do citizens of Wilmington. . .

Building lots that were offered last year at 50 cents a foot have readily sold this season for one dollar. . .The managers are not selling off the beach to Tom, Dick or Harry, without regard to the character of the purchasers. . .

Carolina Beach as a healthful resort is superb. The salubrious climate is of itself conductive to the recuperation of a shattered nervous system and the salt water bathing is excellent for many of the diseases peculiar to women. .. .Taken altogether, Carolina Beach, is the cheapest health and pleasure resort to be found either in the mountains or on the seacoast, etc.” (Messenger, 8-8-1890)

 

August 20, 1890
A phonograph was exhibited by Mr. C.I. Comfort at Carolina Beach and it created great excitement. (Star, 8-21-1890)

 

August 29, 1890
The Cherokee Tribe No. 9, Improved Order of Red Men, of Wilmington, gave a family excursion to Carolina Beach. The committee of Arrangements included S.J. Ellis, C.P. Lockey, J.D.H. Klander, W.H. Lane, and Dr. S.P. Wright. (Star, 8-24-1890)

 

September 5, 1890
At Carolina Beach, during the past season, thirteen new and substantial cottages were erected by citizens of Fayetteville, Maxton, Columbia, SC, and other places. Every visitor is charmed with the place. (Star, 9-5-1890)

 

September 9, 1890
Persons from Fayetteville and Winston in the State, and from places in South Carolina recently purchased lots and were to build cottages for the next season at Carolina Beach. It was said that a dozen or more cottages would be erected. (Messenger, 9-9-1890)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1891

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 9, 1891
The steamer SYLVAN GROVE was destroyed by fire at Northrop’s wharf, opposite Wilmington. The vessel belonged to the Southport and Carolina Beach Steamboat Company. A new boat was to be built or a railroad built to Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 1-10-1891; 1-11-1891)

 

January 25, 1891
Surveyors were running a line from Wilmington to Carolina Beach via Masonboro. It was stated that they found the distance from the corner of 9th and Ann Streets to Masonboro Sound, to be 5 1/4 miles. (Star, 1-25-1891)

 

January 31, 1891
Parties interested in the proposed railroad to Carolina Beach and Federal Point, by way of Masonboro Sound, were attempting to secure the right-of-way through the property of some of the citizens who owned land through which it is proposed to run the road. (Messenger, 1-31-1891)

 

January 31, 1891
Parties who were interested in the proposed railroad from Wilmington to Federal Point via Masonboro Sound, were visiting in Southport securing rights of way from owners of property. (Star, 1-31-1891)

 

March 7, 1891
The Fort Fisher Land and Improvement Company had been organized with the Hon. W I. Clopton and Mr. James T. Bradley, of Manchester, Va., and Mr. E.E. Mayo, of Wilmington, as the officers of the company. The company was capitalized with $12,000.

They had already purchased a considerable amount of land around Fort Fisher, and they planed to lay it off into streets and lots to be put on the market as sites of summer residences. Mr. L.G. Cherry, the well- known civil engineer, had prepared an elaborate and handsome topographical and town plot.

The developers plan to erect a handsome and commodious hotel under the walls of the historic old fort. A railway was to be built along the beach from Carolina Beach to the fort. (Messenger, 3-7-1891)

 

March 23, 1891
Mr. W.L. Smith, of the New Hanover Transit Company, departed for the North for the purpose of selecting a boat to run on the line to Carolina Beach. He is looking for a real “hummer.” (Star, 3-22-1891)

 

March 27, 1891
Capt. T.J. Burriss, 75, died near Carolina Beach. He was probably the oldest pilot on the North Carolina coast. During the Civil War he brought in many of the blockade runners loaded with supplies for the Confederate government. Everybody who knew him loved the genial and kindly old pilot. (Star, 4-3-1891)

 

April 12, 1891
Mr. Henry Bacon, Sr. died at his residence in Wilmington. He was born in Natick, Mass, in 1822. His engineering career commenced in New England, and later on he was appointed to the charge of harbor work on the Great Lakes. From there Mr. Bacon came to the Cape Fear River at the request of Col. Craighill in January, l876, just at the commencement of the lower river improvements. For a few years he lived at Smithville, coming to Wilmington about 1889.

For over 15 years he had charge of the Cape Fear River improvements to which he devoted the best years of his life. The work under his charge had been very successful the depth of the river having been increased gradually from 7 1/2 to 12 feet, then to 16 feet, and work had already begun on a depth of 20 feet. He was survived by his widow, two daughters and four sons. Funeral will be held from the First Presbyterian Church in Wilmington. (Star, 4-17-1891)

 

April 24, 1891
The Messrs. Hinton, proprietors of the Purcell House, in Wilmington, leased the hotel at Carolina Beach, with the bathing house and other privileges pertaining thereto. (Star, 4-24-1891)

 

April 24, 1891
Capt. John W. Harper went north a few days earlier to select a steamer to run the summer schedule between Wilmington and Carolina Beach. He purchased a boat admirably suited for the purpose and was to bring it to the Cape Fear area in a few days.

The new steamer was already named WILMINGTON, as it had been used for running as an excursion boat between Philadelphia, Chester and Wilmington, Delaware. It has an iron propeller, 130 feet long, 23 feet 6 inch beam and draws six feet six inches. She had two compound engines, 14 1/2 by 17 and 26 by 17, with a Scotch boiler, and she was in every respect as good as new. She had three decks, with saloons on the main and upper decks. She was able to make between 15 1/2 and 16 miles per hour when desired. She was a steady, excellent sea-going boat. (Star, 4-24-1891)

 

April 25, 1891
Capt John W. Harper and his crew are expected here soon with the new steamer WILMINGTON, which he bought for the Carolina Beach business of the New Hanover Transit Company. The new steamer sailed from Wilmington, Delaware, and it was to come by the inside passage until Ocracoke is reached. (Messenger, 4-25-1891)

 

April 25, 1891
A large map demonstrating the line of the projected railroad from Carolina Beach to Fort Fisher, was drawn for and prepared from an actual and accurate survey made by Capt. L.D. Cherry, civil engineer and surveyor, for the Carolina Beach Land and Development Company. The map is six feet long by three feet wide and was prepared with extreme care and was drawn from an actual and careful survey made by Capt. Cherry. It covers the entire ground between Myrtle Grove Sound and Fort Fisher, and from the Cape Fear River to the Atlantic Ocean, all clearly and intelligently defined. Many hope that Capt. Cherry will make a duplicate and have it framed in glass to hang in our Library room. (Messenger, 4-25-1891)

 

April 29, 1891
The steamer WILMINGTON made her initial trip to Carolina Beach and Southport. Capt. John W. Harper was the owner and master of the vessel, and it was to be operated in connection with the New Hanover Transit Company. (Messenger, 4-30-1891; 5-1-1891)

 

May 1, 1891
The crew of the steamer WILMINGTON, in her trips between Wilmington and Carolina Beach for this season were:

  • Master – Capt. John W. Harper.
  • Mate – Mr. A. Mc. Wilson.
  • Engineer – Mr. Thomas Walton.
  • Steward – Gib Davis, colored.
  • Fireman – Peter Griffin, colored.
  • Deck Hand – Dan Smith, colored. (Messenger, 5-1-1891)

 

May 3, 1891
The carpenters were busy erecting several new houses at Carolina Beach. (Star, 5-3-1891)

 

May 10, 1891
A building was being erected at Carolina Beach for a ten-pin alley for the amusement of the ladies and children during the excursion season. (Star, 5-10-1891)

 

May 11, 1891
Mr. J.H. Hinton took a party of Methodist bishops and clergymen down to Carolina Beach on the steamer WILMINGTON, and left them to camp out for a few days and enjoy the bracing atmosphere of the breezes as they come in from the old ocean. (Messenger, 5-12-1891)

 

May 14, 1891
Professor Miller’s Orchestra was to play at Carolina Beach this season. Another member of the orchestra had just arrived from Baltimore, Md., making five in all. They were to play every day except Sundays and Mondays.

The Germania Cornet Band had also been engaged to give a concert every Friday afternoon. The band was composed of 18 pieces and they were now practicing two or three times a week. They will play the very latest music out.

The music stand is to be placed on the beach in front of the centre of the Hotel Oceanic, and a number of seats are to be erected in front of the hotel for the visitors. Among other improvements is a new platform to get on and off the railroad cars at the hotel.

Messrs. E.L. and J.H. Hinton, lessees of the Hotel Oceanic, plan to formally open the hotel on May 16th. Mr. J.H. Hinton was to be the host at the hotel, Mr. Will Morrison, the clerk, Mr. Chas. W. Williams to be in charge of the saloon. The hotel was to be conspicuous by three large flags that will be floated from the roof. The Messrs. Hinton were also to run the bath houses, and they were having 200 new swim suits made for gentlemen and ladies. A lady will be in charge of the ladies’ bath house and Mr. J.D. Smith will be in charge of the gentlemen’s. (Messenger, 5-14-1891)

 

May 15, 1891
That necessary improvement, dredging out the “cut” to Carolina Beach was going on this week. Wilmington parties had the contract. (Messenger, 5-15-1891)

 

May 17, 1891
The Oceanic Hotel, Carolina Beach, was now open for the accommodation of guests. Dinner was 50 cents. Hotel rates were $2.00 per day. The proprietors were E.L. and J.H. Hinton. (Messenger, 5-30-1891)

 

May 20, 1891
THE DAY WE CELEBRATE – Today was the 116th anniversary of the Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence, and the General Assembly of North Carolina had made it a legal holiday and was generally observed throughout the State. Many business houses, as well as the banks, post offices, etc. were closed all day.

WILMINGTON LIGHT INFANTRY – At the beach the day will be signalized by the annual target shooting of the company, a beautiful sword drill by twelve picked members of the same, a hundred yards running race, etc. The company will be accompanied by the Second Regiment Cornet Band, and Professor Miller’s Orchestra will also go down to furnish music for enjoyment and dancing. (Messenger, 5-20-1891; 5-17-1891)

 

May 20, 1891
Messrs. E.L. and J.H. Hinton, of the Hotel Oceanic, at Carolina Beach, fed about 400 people on the occasion of the Wilmington Light Infantry excursion, and many persons declared that the dinner was the best seashore dinner they ever had. The cooking was splendid and there was an abundance of delicious fish, soft shell crabs, deviled crabs, clams, etc., not to mention regular dishes and condiments, fruits and ice cream. Mr. Will Morrison was in charge of the dining room. He will help to make the Oceanic popular. (Messenger, 5-21-1891)

 

May 20, 1891
The Wilmington Light Infantry celebrated their 38th anniversary at Carolina Beach. They were escorted by the Second Regiment Band aboard the steamer WILMINGTON. Messrs. Peterson Brothers photographed the group at parade rest on the hurricane deck of the steamer. On arrival at Carolina Beach they were ordered to report for target practice at 12 noon, which was held just east of the pavilion. Sgt. Ed. Moore was awarded the first prize, a gold Star, which was presented b ya friend, Mr. J.W. Bolles. The second prize, the company medal, was won by Capt W.R. Kenan. The third prize, a gold-headed cane, by Private Ives.

After the target practice the Company repaired to the Oceanic Hotel and had a most excellent dinner, which was gotten up in a very elaborate style by the Messrs. Hinton Brothers. After dinner some of the men took a dip in the ocean. At 4:30 p.m. sixteen men, under command of Sgt. Moore, fell in at the pavilion and went through a beautiful maneuver, the fancy sword drill. After the drill some of the members of the Company gave an exhibition of fancy bicycle riding, and Cpl. Charlie Grainger was voted by the large crowd as being the most expert.
At 5:30 p.m. six of the athletic members of the Company were on the beach for a 50 yards foot race. The first prize was won by Pvt. J.R. Turrentine, Jr., he making the time in seven seconds.

After this, the call was sounded by the leader of the Second Regiment Band, Mr. Arthur Whiteley, and the band marched up on the porch of the hotel and there they played some sweet music. At 9 p.m. the whistle sounded for the last train. The Company returned to the city at 11 p.m. Thus ended one of the most pleasant days in the history of the Company. the number of passengers was estimated at 800. (Star, 5-21-1891)

 

May 21, 1891
Carolina Beach Items of Interest:

  • Mr. Hans A. Kure had about finished his bowling alley building at the beach
  • Messrs. Hans A. Kure, G. Smith, and Charlie Williams went over on the wreck of the old blockade runner BEAUREGARD and caught seventy-five fine fish in about thirty minutes. In the lot was a sheepshead that weighed fifteen pounds. This big fish was baked and made a meal for nine persons.
  • Messrs. H.C. McQueen and William Struthers were building cottages at Carolina Beach
  • Mr. C.I. Comfort had placed four or five of his musical phonographs at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 5-2-1891)

 

May 23, 1891
Messrs. Hans A. Kure and J.D. Smith, at Carolina Beach, caught 42 sheepshead, beside a large quantity of croakers, bream, sailor’s pride, stone crab and other varieties of salt water fish in the space of three-fourths of an hour. They fished from the old wreck near the Oceanic Hotel, and they were well satisfied with the results. Mr. Kure knows just where the excellent fishing grounds are and just when the fish will bite greedily. (Messenger, 5-26-1891)

 

June 1, 1891
Amos Wallace, of Federal Point Township, was exempted from poll tax and road duty on account of physical disability. (Star, 6-2-1891)

 

June 2, 1891
Professor Miller’s Orchestra began its engagement at Carolina Beach. The following are the performers in the orchestra: Professor John G. Miller, Sr. first violin; Mr. William Smith, second violin; Mr. William Dupreze, basso; Mr. A,C, Miller, clarinet; Mr. John G. Miller, Jr. cornet. The orchestra will play every day during the season, except Sundays and Mondays. (Messenger, 6-3-1891)

 

June 5, 1891
The Germania Cornet Band held their first concert at Carolina Beach. They were to appear every Friday at the beach. The following program of choice music was to be rendered at their concert:

March – WASHINGTON POST, by Sousa.
Cornet Solo – POLKA IMPULSE, by Prof. J.G. Miller, Jr.
Waltz – GONDOLIER, by Otto Roeder.
Overture – LUSTSPIEL, by Keler Bela.
Reverie – WAYSIDE CHAPEL, by D.G. Weber.
Schottische – BEWITCHING EYES, by I.S. Peckham.
Medley Selection – SOUTHERN PLANTATION SONGS, By L. Couterno.
Galop – DAY EXPRESS, by W. P. Chambers.

There are four boats down and four boats back every day. (Messenger, 6-3-1891)

 

June 9, 1891
(adv) Hans A. Kure erected a building at Carolina Beach for amusements, which included a first class bowling alley, billiard and pool tables. The building also included a No.1 family grocery store. Oranges, lemons, bananas, and other fruits always on hand. A full assortment of canned goods. Ice available in any quantity. (Messenger, 6-9-1891)

 

June 11, 1891
Professor Miller’s Orchestra delighted the large excursion party from the Brooklyn Baptist Sunday School, who were there in force, with some of their beautifully sweet strains of music, the selections being mostly of a sacred character. No dancing music was played, but even those present who were fond of dancing, partook of the delight and listened with most pleased and earnest attention.  (Messenger, 6-13-1891)

 

June 11, 1891
Life Saving Arrangements at Carolina Beach:

Mr. J.C. Smith, manager of the bath houses at Carolina Beach, wore one of Messrs. H.H. Munson & Company’s safety bath suits underneath his clothes and was therefore a one man life saving crew. This was done for the protection of bathers, and besides a surf boat was kept on the beach in case of emergency.

Mr. Smith put on the safety suit yesterday and went about a half mile to sea. The suit worked like a charm, and he was enabled to either float without effort or stand in the water and hold both hands out of the water over his head. The safety feature of this bath suit consists in a rubber chamber which can be inflated by blowing through a tube attached for the purpose.(Messenger, 6-11-1891)

 

June 12, 1891
The Germania Cornet Band gave a magnificent concert which charmed the large number of visitors to Carolina Beach. There was lots of music and dancing. The program included:

March – NATIONAL FENCIBLES, by Sousa.
Medley – THE RAGE IN IRELAND, by E. Bayer.
Serenade – PLEASANT DREAMS, by W. S. Ripley.
Waltz – AUF WIEDERSEHN, by E. Hl Bailey (by special request)
Overture – FAUST UP TO DATE, by Wagner.
Schottisch – LITTLE GRACY, by J.O. Casey.
Polka – WEST POINT, by M. Tabney.
March – AMONG COMRADES, by C. Faust. (Messenger, 6-13-1891)

 

June 14, 1891
Carolina Beach Notes:

  • Turtle egg hunting is engaged in by all the residents with much success.Music has been furnished by Professor Miller’s Band and it was judged as the very best. The dancers were just carried away.
  • A special bill of fare was offered all next week at the Oceanic Hotel, and it included soft crabs, deviled crabs shrimp, etc.
  • Messrs. Edgar Hinton and Will Morrison, who have their horses and turnouts on the beach, pronounced the drive on the beach finer than the turnpike. Twelve miles of the finest beach in the South. (Messenger, 6-14-1891)

 

June 15, 1891
A Bear Hunt Near Carolina Beach – Capt. John W. Harper, of the steamer WILMINGTON, reported that a party of men found the track of a bear and its cub entering Hunt Swamp, a mile north of Fort Fisher. Plans were made for a bear hunt, and they firmly believed they could catch the bruin. The largest tracks seen are pretty good sized ones, although the bear seen in the same vicinity last year was a small black bear. There is no hoax, there is certainly a bear wandering around the area. (Messenger, 6-16-1891)

 

June 16, 1891
Professor Miller’s Orchestra rendered a special program at Carolina Beach. It included:

March – MAJESTIC HARMONY, by Richard Wagner.
Overture – MONK OF ST. BERNARD, by Emil Iserman.
Waltzes from the opera THE YOEMAN OF THE GUARD, by Sullivan.
Medley overture – HOME MEMORIES, by E.N Catlin.
Polka – DAINTINESS, by Wohanka.
Selections from the opera BLACK HUSSAR, by Millocker.
NOCTURNE, by Jungman.
Gallop – FUN IN THE SKATING RINK, by Moses Toberni.

 

June 17, 1891
Jim Smith, of the Oceanic Hotel, did some excellent work this evening. The kitchen caught fire when the dining room was filled with guests, but Jim was equal to the emergency. No alarm was given, and with assistance at hand he soon suppressed the flames and then informed the guests. Some of the ladies’ eyes were as large as “saucers’ when they were told about it. (Messenger, 6-19-1891)

 

June 18, 1891
Mr. M.J. Corbett and family had moved to Carolina Beach for the season. Mr. Corbett thought his chances of election as “Mayor of the Beach” were very good. Election was on June 19th. Acting Mayor Nolan, who had been quite sick, was out and able to hold court. (Messenger, 6-18-1891)

 

June 18, 1891
Notes from Carolina Beach:

  • Surf bathing continued to be excellent
  • The Oceanic Hotel was in full blast
  • Will Morrison was the desk clerk at the Oceanic Hotel
  • Capt. J.C. Skinner met with fine luck fishing off the wreck of the VENUS
  • Three hundred and fifty sheepshead had been caught around the wreck in one week
  • James D. Smith was in charge of the Bath House. (Messenger, 6-21-1891; 6-18-1891)

 

June 19, 1891
Carolina Beach held an election. At 6 a.m. acting Mayor Nolan opened the polls and after the judges of election were sworn in, the voting commenced. The old staid and settled citizens were as much interested as the younger ones.

The official count was as follows: Democratic 117; Alliance 119; Republican 111; Independent 128; Greenback 123; Prohibitionist 3. It was pretty evident that the Greenback ticket would be elected.

The residents on the other side of the creek, commonly known as St. Joseph’s, intended to hold an election of their own and none but bonafide residents and visitors will be entitled to vote. Mr. J. Samuel Brown, a resident of that area, intended to make a fight for all it is worth. (Messenger, 6-20-1891)

 

June 19, 1891
Mr. D. McD Grady and family, of Fayetteville, removed to Carolina Beach to spend the summer. They recently spent several days there and were so delighted that they made up their minds to rent a cottage. (Messenger, 6-20-1891)

 

June 20, 1891
A surprise balloon ascension occurred at Carolina Beach at 4 p.m. The aeronaut was Mlle. DeGrace, a very frail looking woman, looking about 18 or 19 years of age, and very pretty. She was assisted by Professor Houston into the balloon car, and the Professor was helped by Messrs. Walton, Webb and others in cutting the line of the mammoth air ship and it started on its graceful journey toward the clouds.

The lady and her balloon soon disappeared from view and a searching party was organized to follow the direction taken by the balloon, and late in the afternoon it was discovered that she had landed safely at Masonboro. She was escorted to the city where she was allowed to rest after the fatigue and excitement of the day. She later received visitors at the Purcell Hotel in Wilmington. (Star, 6-21-1891)

 

June 24, 1891
Mr. Horace Springer, while at Carolina Beach, slew an alligator over on the lake near the hotel. The gator was about five feet in length. (Messenger, 6-25-1891)

 

June 26, 1891
The Germania Band presented the following program at Carolina Beach:

March – FANFANI, by Franz V. Supple.
Conet Solo – ENCHANTMENT, by John Miller, Jr.
Overture – BRUNSWICK, by Linson.
Waltz – LOVE’S DREAM, by O. Roeder.
Baritone Solo – KATHLEEN MAVOUREEN, by Wm. Smith.
Reverie – THE WAYSIDE CHAPEL, by G.D. Wilson.
Selection – GEMS OF GEMANY, by E. Beyer.
Galop – SIVOLI, by Zeckoff. (Messenger, 6-26-1891

 

June 26, 1891
Professor Miller’s Orchestra treated visitors to a delightful concert. The select program included:

PRIEST’S MARCH FROM ATHALIA, by Mendelssohn.
SACRED POTPOURRI, by R. Greenwald.
TWILIGHT SHADOWS, RELIGIOUS REVERIE, by I.A. Snow.
SOFTLY RING THE BELLS OF HEAVEN, by E.N. Catlin.
INUS ANIMUM, from STABET MATER, by Rossini.
IN HEAVEN THERE IS REST, by Weisserborn. (Messenger, 6-25-1891)

 

June 26, 1891
The Sunday School of the Grace M.E. Church held their annual excursion to Carolina Beach. About 700 to 1,000 people frequented the beach and enjoyed the invigorating atmosphere

“There was a westerly wind, which lessened the force of the waves and made it essentially a ‘Ladies’ Surf,’ and many of the fair sex took advantage of such an opportunity for a bath unaccompanied by the usual timidity which a rough sea excites.”

The Oceanic Hotel, with E.L. and J.H. Hinton proprietors, had a rush of patronage but the management was equal to any emergency, and they supplied their guests with all the “delicacies of the sea.” (Star, 6-27-1891)

 

June 27, 1891
Notes from Carolina Beach:

  • Horseback riding on the beach is indulged in by the ladies. Numbers of horses are now kept at the beach.
  • Mr. C. W. Yates, the lucky fisherman, spent the day fishing on the wreck of the VENUS
  • Mr. Marcus Sternhberger was spending a few days at the Oceanic. His health is improving fast.
  • Judging from the way people talk, Carolina Beach is growing in public favor. The young people are lavish in their expressions about it, and the old folks are generous in their praise. Everybody talks about the splendid management of the Oceanic Hotel, and a big hotel will surely have to be built.
  • Mr. Luhr Vollers had a cottage nearly completed at Carolina Beach. Mr. W. L. Smith was also having a fine cottage erected. (Messenger, 6-27-1891)

 

June 29, 1891
A very enjoyable concert was given at Carolina Beach by the well-known and famous Quartette Club composed of Mr. E.L. Hinton, soprano; Mr. James Smith, the man-fish tenor; Mr. Pokey Williams, the famous captain of the Noble Order of Owls, basso profunae. His Honor, Mayor Nolan, sang in a sweet falsetto key which was much admired by those present. Mr. Will Morison, otherwise known as Baron Munchhausen, accompanied the Quartette on his guitar with much credit to himself. At the request of the residents of the delightful resort, the concerts would be repeated nightly with change of programme monthly. (Messenger, 6-30-1891)

 

June 30, 1891
A competitive jig took place at Carolina Beach after the arrival of the 2:30 p.m. boat. Uncle Ned Glavin challenges the world for the dance. There should be lots of fun! (Messenger, 6-30-1891)

 

June 30, 1891
An excursion was given to Carolina Beach for the benefit of the Sisters of Mercy, of the Academy of the Incarnation, Wilmington. This Society had spent thousands of dollars in the education of the poor children of the city, and during the terrible yellow fever epidemic of 1862 they gave of themselves in an unselfish service. This will never be forgotten by Wilmington Citizens. Music was provided all day, and the young ladies of the Academy served a hot dinner at the pavilion. The money that was donated by the pleasure seekers on the excursion was used to further their work within the community. (Messenger, 6-28-1891; 6-30-1891)

 

July 1, 1891
Mr. You Phon Lee, a Chinese Mandarin, graduate of Yale University, delivered a lecture at Carolina Beach in the pavilion building. He appeared in his native costume and told a good deal about China and the people of that country. The lecture was not only interesting and instructive, but portions of it contained a great deal of humor that was refreshing to the audience. At night there was a grand display of fireworks. the last train left at 10 p.m. (Messenger, 6-30-1891; 7-2-1891)

 

July 1, 1891
Mr. Yan Phou Lee, a Chinese Mandarin, delivered a lecture at Carolina Beach. He was a graduate of Yale College and was remarkably proficient in the use of English. His lecture took place in the pavilion shortly after the arrival of the 3 p.m. boat. He appeared in his native dress. (Messenger, 7-1-1891)

 

July 3, 1891
The Germania Cornet Band rendered the following program at Carolina Beach:

March – FORT HENRY, by Brooks.
Overture – LUSPSPIEL, by Keler Bella.
Serenade – PLEASANT DREAMS by Ripley.
Waltz – GONDOLIER, by O. Roeder.
Overture – FAUST UP TO DATE, by R. Wagner.
Gavotte – THE PRETTIEST, by Warren.
Schottische – SOMEBODY’S SWEETHEART, by Moses.
Galop – THROUGH THE SURF, by Robinson. (Messenger, 7-3-1891)

 

July 4, 1891
“There is no miskeeties at this Beach. Plaze attind to ye own business!” was the comment by a lone figure found walking on the beach. Everything was perking early making preparations for the crowds of visitors coming to celebrate the Fourth of July.

The first arrivals sought the surf at once. There was a good sea and the water was pleasant and beautifully blue. By noon the beach was crowded. Dancing began early and the ball room at the hotel was soon thronged with merry dancers who kept time to Miller’s Band or listened with delight to their playing. Everywhere at the Beach one would meet members of the Fayetteville colony who had taken up residence at the beach for the season.

Visitors at the beach were “free from care, light hearted, in the delightful salt air, one could eat the horns off the brass billy goat.” Joe Hinton, of the Oceanic Hotel, said he believed that all of Wilmington was visiting the Beach and all were hungry. From early dinner until late tea and the last train, there was a great deal of interest in the hotel’s dining room. Soft shell crabs, fish and other delightful food was offered. They gave a good dinner, a fine supper, and pleased all.

Fun was going on all day at Kure’s bowling alley. The place was dressed in flags and banners which made it bright and inviting. The afternoon train brought another 500 visitors. There was plenty of dancing, bathing, fishing and eating.

About 1,600 visitors came to the beach and it seemed that one mile of the beach was alive with people and the surf seemed speckled with bathers. The first train home departed at 5:30 p.m., and the last train left at 9 p.m. Carolina Beach closed with increased success and pleasure another Fourth of July for the Beach. (Star, 7-7-1891)

 

July 7, 1891
John W. Riley, while walking over the battleground at Fort Fisher, picked up pieces of shell and a bayonet, mementoes of a memorable contest. (Messenger, 7-8-1891)

 

July 7, 1891
As the train was conveying the passengers from the steamer to Carolina Beach, it was brought almost to a standstill by a lot of cattle who had taken possession of the track, and, although warned by the repeated blasts of the engine whistle, they seemed determined to hold the fort. Among the passengers on the train was Capt. Mayo’s big Newfoundland dog, and the dog along with the passengers stuck their heads out of the window to see what was the matter. The dog at once saw what was the matter and jumping from the train, ran ahead at full speed and drove the cattle from the track so the engine could proceed. Then he trotted peacefully beside the train until it reached the beach. (Messenger, 7-9-1891)

 

July 9, 1891
There was a new wrinkle for fishermen at Carolina Beach. A wire cable an inch in diameter was stretched from the shore to the collection of wrecks of the old blockade-runners that were lying about 200 yards out. A chair or car was to be swung to the cable, in which chair or car any adventurous fisherman could pull himself out to the “old wreck,” and catch sheepshead to his heart’s content without even getting his feet wet. that same “old wreck,” by the way, is said to mark the best fishing found on the South Atlantic coast. (Star, 7-10-1891)

 

July 11, 1891
A rattlesnake was killed under the cottage of Mrs. Robbins, at Carolina Beach. The children were playing under the cottage and were almost on the reptile before it was discovered. The alarm was given and his snakeship dispatched. (Messenger, 7-12-1891)

 

July 10, 1891
The Germania Cornet Band of Wilmington presented a concert of music at Carolina Beach in the afternoon. The program included:

March – MAJOR PERKINS, by Jean M. Mussud.
Cornet Solo – NADIA, by Harry Baxter, played by John G. Miller, Jr.
Gavotte – THE ROSE OF ERIN, by Theo. Moses.
Waltz – (by special request) – LOVE’S DREAMLAND, by Otto Roeder – sung by Male Quartette Medley – THEY’RE AFTER ME, I WAS IN IT, THAT IS LOVE, by H. Prendiville.
Overture – YANKEE TICKLE, by e. Beyer.
Gallop – FAR AND NEAR, by Faust. (Messenger, 7-10-1891)

 

July 12, 1891
The residents at Carolina Beach, feeling the need of Sunday services and having no minister to conduct them, held a meeting looking to supply the want. Upon motion of Oscar Pearsall, J. C. Stevenson was called to preside. It was resolved that some suitable person be appointed to hold such services each Sunday. In accordance with this resolution, J.C. Stevenson was selected to conduct the religious services on this day. (Messenger, 7-12-1891)

 

July 14, 1891
Work on the house at Carolina Beach known as “Smith’s Diagonal,” was progressing. It had been called by many different names, but the architectural reporter of the STAR newspaper said it ought to be called a windmill because it would catch the breeze from every point of the compass. (Star, 7-14-1891)

 

July 15, 1891
Ed. Pemberton and a friend, of Fayetteville, caught 47 large sheepshead from the wreck of the blockade runner BEAUREGARD, sunk off Carolina Beach. The wreck is reached in a basket swung on a wire from the shore. (Messenger, 7-16-1891)

 

July 17,1891
The Germania Cornet Band of Wilmington presented a concert at Carolina Beach. It included:

March – VOLUNTEER , by E. Boetger.
Selection of German Songs – by E. Erserman.
Serenade – DREAM ON, by Ripley
Baritone Solo – KATHLEEN MAVOUREEN, F.N. Crouch, sung by Wm. Smith
Medley March – DOWN ON THE FARM, by Preniville,
Waltz – AUF WEIDERSEHN, by Bailey.
Cornet Solo – ELEANOR POLKA, by Weingard, played by John G. Miller, Jr.
Quick Step – GREAT ATLANTIC, by McCash. (Messenger, 7-17-1891)

 

July 25, 1891
The Germania Cornet Band of Wilmington gave a concert at Carolina Beach. It included:

AMERICAN GUARD MARCH, by Brooks.
Medley Overture – by E. Boetger.
Gavotte – THEPRETTIEST, by Warren
Polka – OUR BABIES, by Langey.
Overture – LUST SPIEL, by Keller and Bell.
Schottische – SOMEBODY’S SWEETHEART, by Moses. Waltz – DREAMLAND, by Roeder.
March – VOLUNTEER, by Boetger. (Messenger, 7-24-1891)

 

July 26, 1891
The Germania Cornet Band of Wilmington gave a sacred music concert. “This excellent band needs no compliment. Their fine music speaks of itself.” A cornet solo by Professor J.G. Miller Jr. was exceedingly fine. (Messenger, 7-26-1891; 7-28-1891)

 

July 28, 1891
The party of Richmond capitalists who comprised the Fort Fisher Land Company were having a fine time catching fish and enjoying themselves generally. The contemplated speedy and substantial improvement of their property. (Messenger, 7-28-1891)

 

August 2, 1891
Professor Miller’s Orchestra, assisted by members of the Germania Cornet Band, rendered a delightful sacred concert. “The genial and chivalric Captain John W. Harper, who commanded the steamer WILMINGTON, left her wharf in the city at 2:30 p.m., and a more delightful sail cannot be conceived than down the rippling Cape Fear on this superb boat.

“Again, no more splendid a beach can be found on the Atlantic coast than the Carolina. The train meets the boat and the engine runs its nozzle right up to the surging billows. No finer water view can be had.

“Music, a boat ride and the swish-swash of the grand waves is a bill of fare to enrapture the soul of a poet.” (Messenger, 8-2-1891)

 

August 4, 1891
Visitors to Carolina Beach were struck with admiration for an exceedingly handsome and unique cottage being erected by Mr. W.L. Smith, and almost completed. The owner set a worthy example in destroying the painful monotony in style of summer cottages. (Messenger, 8-4-1891)

 

August 5, 1891
“A large crowd gazed with admiration of the sylph-like figures of ladies and good-looking boys threading gracefully the German at Carolina Beach.” The dance was led by Rob. Cowen who did it in proper style. ‘Some of the loveliest girls from Wilmington and from all parts of the State, participated with a grace as rare as their faces and forms were radiant. Prof Miller’s Orchestra furnished the music. This was the most successful affair of the season.” (Messenger, 8-5-4891; 8-6-1891)

 

August 7, 1891
A resident of Southport, visiting Fort Fisher last week, reported seeing mosquitoes with stood an inch high when they lighted upon him. Striking them seemed to have no effect, as they could not be crushed with the hand, but flew away when the hand was lifted from the spot. (Messenger, 8-7-1891)

 

August 7, 1891
Mr. H.A. Kure was ordered exempt from tax on pool table and bowling alley at Carolina Beach, on petition of residents of that place. (Star, 8-7-1891)

 

August 14, 1891
At least 2,000 assembled at Carolina Beach to see the balloon ascension by Professor Edward Jewell. About 500 of the spectators repaired to the ground a few hundred yards back of the beach where the airship was to be filled with hot air and from which it was to make the upward bound into the blue ether. Prof. Jewell wore a blue silk shirt with a fancy ruffled front and he was always buoyant with pleasant excitement.

The Professor was carried about 8 or 10 feet up when the “cut-off” attached from the parachute to the balloon broke. Everybody saw that the breaking was accidental. The balloon fell about 300 yards from the starting point. It was a sympathetic crowd and many were to return the next day for the balloon ascension as it should have been. (Messenger, 8-15-1891)

 

August 15, 1891
Professor Edward Jewell, the good-looking young aeronaut, left the earth in his balloon at 6 p.m. and was borne upward into the boundless space on the horizontal bar attached to his big canvas balloon inflated with hot air. He went up to 5,000 feet and came down in the ocean about one mile from shore. About 1,800 people, men and women, old and young, and many children had collected to witness the spectacle.

Bruce and Rowland Freeman with five men each went to Jewell’s rescue with their whale boats. Professor Jewell, when about six feet from the water, sprang into the surf and against the tide and through the breakers swam one mile to the shore, as reckoned by the Freemans. The boats brought in the balloon and all was well. The elegant blue silk shirt and buff silk tights were, of course, dripping as the tired man reached the shore. He was still wearing his brown Derby hat. (Messenger, 6-18-1891)

August 19, 1891
Carpenters are at work at Carolina Beach, enclosing the pavilion to be used as barracks by the visiting military from Fayetteville. (Star, 8-19-1891)

 

August 20, 1891
The Fayetteville Independent Light Infantry Company went into camp at Carolina Beach. Major John B. Broadfoot was commander of the company and there were about 50 men in attendance, besides 20 men of Fayetteville I.L.I. Cornet Band. They were all in uniform. A number of the old veterans of the Company in former days accompanied the Company,” and they had mess with them around the camp fires once again.” (Star, 8-14-1891)

 

August 21, 1891
Professor Ed. Jewell made a successful balloon ascension and parachute drop at Carolina Beach, witnessed by 2,000 people. The balloon was named “La Belle Carolina,” and it ascended to a height of 3,000 feet in the air. Professor Jewell in his blue silk shirt and green tights hung by his toes form under the monster air ship, waved his hat to the spectators, kissed his hand to the girls and did a few trapeze acts in transit.

The parachute was detached and he made a beautiful drop from the 3,000 foot level. He landed on the sound near St. Joseph safely and the balloon fell in the sound and was brought ashore ready for another voyage in the afternoon. The parachute dropped 200 feet before it expanded, and it was a picture of aerial grace and beauty. He repeated this performance a few more times for the ever increasing crowds of spectators. Many boat trips were made from Wilmington for the curious citizens. (Messenger, 8-21-1891; 8-22-1891; 8-23-1891; 8-26-1891)

 

August 25, 1891
A ten-pin tournament was given at Carolina Beach by Mr. Hans A. Kure. The first day was for the ladies and the next day for the men. Handsome prizes were given, which had previously been exhibited at Dinglehoef’s jewelry store in Wilmington. Perfect order was observed at the alleys during the tournament. (Star, 8-21-1891)

 

August 25-26, 1891
The ten-pin tournament at Kure’s place at Carolina Beach promised to be a grand affair and everything was being done to make it pleasant for all who may enter for the prize. There were to be four prizes, and they were not only elegant, but costly. The first day has been set aside for the ladies, and the second day for all who desire to participate in the games. Good order was to be enforced. (Messenger, 8-21-1891)

 

September 2, 1891
The musical event of the season took place in the evening at Carolina Beach, when the combined forces of the Second Regiment Band and the Germania Band performed. The combined band was under the alternate direction of Professor Whiteley, of the Second Regiment Band, and Professor Miller, of the Germania Band. (Messenger, 9-2-1891)

 

September 2, 1891
Professor Miller’s Orchestra gave an excursion to Carolina Beach. There was music galore all day, with a regular concert and dancing in the evening. Prof. Miller wanted it to be a very special day and he added a prize bicycle race on the beach at low tide, when handsome prizes were given for first, second, third and fourth best men, according to their superiority. In addition, Mr. Kure held a ten pin tournament and elegant prizes were awarded to the winners. To accommodate business men who could only attend in the evening, a grand German was given that night. (Messenger, 8-19-1891)

 

October 1, 1891
Beginning today it had been decided to run the Carolina Beach train to connect with the steamer WILMINGTON every Wednesday during the Fall and Winter. (Star, 9-18-1891)

 

December 21, 1891
The Board of County Commissioners ordered that the valuation of the property of Hans A. Kure, in Federal Point Township, be reduced from $2,000 to $1,000, and his personal property from $2635 to $1,350. (Messenger, 12-22-1891)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1892

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

February 5, 1982
The hotel at Carolina Beach was being enlarged by the addition of another story. When completed, the hotel would have a capacity for 150 guests. Other improvements were planned in the future. (Messenger, 2-5-1892)

 

March 8, 1892
It was ordered by the New Hanover County Board of Commissioners that H.A. Colvin be appointed a special surveyor to survey the land of J.N. Burriss in Federal Point Township. (Messenger, 3-8-1892)

 

March 18, 1892
Mr. Phil Wright, the new lessee of the hotel at Carolina Beach, expected to be open for guests by the 1st of May. He was to have accommodation for at least 150 guests. (Messenger, 3-18-1892)

 

March 24, 1892
A COZY COTTAGE FOR COLLEGE FOLKS – Rev. J.H. Clewell, of Salem, N.C., visited Carolina Beach to look for a site for the erection of a cozy cottage for the benefit of the instructors and others of the Salem Female Academy who may desire to spend a portion of their vacation at this beautiful resort. It was also hoped that many pupils, old and new, would seek out this Academy cottage and stay for a visit. (Messenger, 3-26-1892)

 

March 27, 1892
The “Rev. J.H. Clewell leased Hans A. Kure’s splendid cottage at Carolina Beach and was to be known as the “Academy Cottage,” and was to be fitted up for the professors and teachers. Two rooms were to be used as reception rooms, and open house would be held for their friends and visitors. It is understood that all the young ladies from Salem Female Academy will visit the Beach this summer, and this means that there will be “mashes” by the hundred, if the professors won’t be mean. The young ladies and the teachers heretofore spent their summers at Morehead City. (Messenger, 3-27-1892; 6-17-1892)

 

May 6, 1892
A license to retail liquors was granted to J.A. Barnes, at the hotel bar at Carolina Beach. (Star, 5-6-1892; Messenger, 5-3-1892)

 

May 8, 1892
N. Hullen, 4th and Red Cross Streets, was offering for rent a two-room cottage partly furnished with kitchen attached, at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 5-11-1892)

 

May 10, 1892
The season at Carolina Beach opened today. It was celebrated with an excursion on the steamer WILMINGTON to the beach. The boat left the Wilmington wharf at 9:30 a.m. and would return at 5 p.m. the fare was 50 cents for the round trip.

 

May 14, 1892
Captain C. Partrick, one of Clinton’s substantial citizens, was having a cottage built at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 5-14-1892)

 

May 20, l892
The Island Beach Hotel was opened to the public by its owner and manager, Mr. Roder. Many improvements have been made including the dining room. There are handsome lace curtains to every window, a new carpet has been laid the entire length of the room and paint has been freely used on the inside of the building. Servants about the hotel and the waiters in the dining room are polite and attentive. Everything is in though system and “apple-pie order” Mr. Roder gives personal attention to everything. (Messenger, 5-21-1892)

 

May 20, 1892
The Oceanic Hotel at Carolina Beach was opened for the reception of guests. Phil Wright was the proprietor and manager. (Messenger, 5-18-1892; 5-19-1892)

At Carolina Beach, great improvements have been made. Another story had been added to the main hotel building, The Oceanic, and Mr. Phil Wright, formerly a hotelist of Fayetteville, was in charge of the hotel. This is the prettiest beach along the Atlantic coast. It is reached by boat, of which there are four or five a day between the city and the beach. (Messenger, 6-11-1892)

 

May 28, 1892
The contract for furnishing stone for the jetties and other government work on the Cape Fear River, was awarded to the Carolina Brown Stone Company, of Sanford, N.C. (Messenger, 5-29-1892)

 

June 13, 1892
Mr. Willie Taylor found a bottle about 4 miles north of Carolina Beach with a note inside which read: “Matilda Brown died at sea Mach 2nd, 1892”. Signed by Charles Stacen of the S.S. For Get Me Not, and Sarah M. Buelen. Enclosed in the note was a few pressed rose leaves. The bottle which had drifted ashore was kept as a curiosity. (Messenger, 6-25-1892)

 

June 1, 1892
The Lutheran Parochial School held their excursion to Carolina Beach on the steamer WILMINGTON. The day was delightfully spent by quite a number. (Messenger, 6-2-1892)

 

June 3, 1892
A Masonic excursion was given to Carolina Beach, under the auspices of the Wilmington Lodge, No. 319, A.F. & A.M., for the benefit of the Oxford Orphan Asylum. Refreshments were served at city prices. The boat made two trips. W.P. Oldham was chairman of the committee of arrangements. (Messenger, 5-29-1892)

 

June 8, 1892
(adv.) O.A. Robbins, of McColl, SC, was offering his cottage at Carolina Beach for sale. Price Low, Easy Terms. (Messenger, 6-9-1892)

 

June 10, 1892
The season at Carolina Beach had opened much earlier than heretofore. The Hotel Oceanic had 17 boarders – most of them from up-country – and numbers of others were expected soon. (Star, 6-10-1892)

 

June 15, 1892
The police excursion to Carolina Beach was a tremendous success. The policemen, to the number of thirty, accompanied by their families, went down on the steamer WILMINGTON at 9:30 a.m.

Upon arrival at the beach the policemen and spectators repaired to Mr. Hans A. Kure’s rifle range where a target shooting took place. The judges were Messrs. C.F. VonKampen, F.W. Ortmann and Chas Richter and the policemen took five shots each at a target at a distance of 40 yards. The participants in the contest were: Sgt. Capps, Sgt. Skipper, Sgt. Orrell, R.L. Dixon, James Brinkley, J. Murrill, James L. Salling, H.W. Howell, John Meier, S.J. Bryan, H.R. Kuhl, C.E. Wood, R.H. Moore, G.W. Gaford, C.W. Kunold, J.H. Jewell, B.F. Tulington, R. Green, Louis Gordin, G.A. McClamy, John S. Piver, D. Chadwick, W.R. Smith, G.W. Smith, H.H. Woebse, H. Cox, Eben Piner, C.E. Collins, D. Poisson, and Bill Metz,
Officer Brinkley, having made an aggregate score of 12 points, was declared the winner of the first prize, a silver butter dish, presented by Capt. John W. Harper, commander of the steamer WILMINGTON. Officer Brinkley also made a single score of 5 and was declared winner of the prize for best single shot, a silver pickle castor, presented by Mr. George Honnett. Officer G.W. Smith, having made the second best shot, was awarded a white buffalo hat, presented by Mr. B. F. Penny.

At dinner hour it was seen that a great any families carried their baskets and the beach was dotted with dinner parties. The policemen, however, repaired in a body to the Hotel Oceanic where a magnificent dinner was enjoyed by them. The policemen were all seated at a long table in the dining room on the ocean side, with Sgt. R.M. Capps as master of ceremonies. The Rev. G.D. Berrheim D.D. was among the guests and he was requested to give the blessing.

After the dinner, as the officers and their guests filed out of the dining room, boxes of fine Havana cigars were handed to them and they were invited to take a smoke on His Honor Mayor Ricaud, who had generously remembered them. About 2:30 p.m. a foot race was announced and a large crowd gathered on the beach to witness the dash. The distance was 100 yards and here were four entered – Sgt. Capps and officers Piner, Piver, and Havey Cox. The judges were Messrs. C.F. VonKampen, Peter Smith and Wm. Genaust. The race was won by Officer Piner. He was awarded a fine silk umbrella, presented by Polvogt & Rehder. Mr. Cox came in second and was awarded a box of cigars.

The next sport was the bag race which took place also on the beach. The distance was 50 yards and the entries were Harvey Cox, C.W. Kunold, and Walter Yates. The same judges as above were used.

After the sports, the balance of the evening was taken up in surf bathing and others danced in the pavilion until the boats left . Capt. Harper estimated a crowd at the beach at 1,200. (Messenger, 6-16-1892)

 

June 26, l892
Messrs. E.L. Pembleton and Walter Watson and their families, of Fayetteville, moved down to Carolina Beach, and they were to occupy their cottages for the rest of the season. (Messenger, 6-17-1892)

 

June 21, 1892
The Rev. Father Fred Price, of Goldsboro, N.C., was having a neat cottage erected at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 6-21-1892)

 

June 22, 1892
The International Association of Machinists had their second annual excursion to Carolina Beach. There was music for dancing and plenty of refreshments. (Messenger, 6-19-1892; 6-23-1892)

 

June 24, 1892
The band which had been engaged in Fayetteville to play at Carolina Beach during the balance of the season was due here today. (Messenger, 6-22-1892)

 

July 1, 1892
The “Retail Clerks’ Association” held a grand family excursion to Carolina Beach. The fare for the round trip was 25 cents. There was baseball, bicycle racing, running races, fireworks, music and dancing. A late boat was run for those that wanted to stay over and dance at night. The committee of arrangements included Messrs. Sa, Davis, N. Jenkins, J.W. Fleet, P. Heinsberger, Jr., Chas. H. Keen and T.G. Pickett. (Messenger, 6-30-1892)

 

July 7, 1892
The recent storms had washed the sand from the clay banks at Carolina Beach, and a large number of minnie balls have been found in the past few days by the boys and other visitors. The balls are similar to those used by the federals during the civil war, and evidently were dropped there by the soldiers as they landed through the surf to aid in making the land attack on Fort Fisher. The bullets had not been fired. (Messenger, 7-7-1892)

 

July 8, 1892
A match game of baseball was played at Carolina Beach between Lumberton and the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad. (Messenger, 7-6-1892)

 

July 10, 1892
A heavy wind from the southwest struck Carolina Beach about 4 o’clock. The wind wrecked the grand stand at the baseball grounds but they were rebuilt on the 11th, so there would not be any interference with the games. (Messenger, 7-12-1892)

 

July 15, 1892
A large crowd went down to Carolina Beach and witnessed a fine game of baseball between the Atlantics and the Beach Clubs. It was one of the finest games of the season. The Beach Club won by a score of 9 to 4. (Messenger, 7-16-1892)

 

July 22, 1892
The Wilmington and Carolina Beach Baseball Clubs crossed bats at Carolina Beach, the score being 10 to 2 in favor the Beach. The main batters for the Beach were Harper and White, and Stevens and Floyd for the Wilmingtons he features of the game were the first base playing of Beery and a long running catch by Grainger. The game was witnessed by a large crowd. (Messenger, 7-23-1892)

 

August 1, l892
Hans A. Kure made application for a retail liquor license at Carolina Beach, which was granted. (Messenger, 8-2-1892)

 

August 2, 1892
An excursion and a baby show was held at Carolina Beach under the auspices of a number of ladies of Grace M.E. Church, Wilmington. A large number of little children and babies were on hand to compete for the prizes for the “prettiest,” and the following were the winners: First prize, a gold ring, to little Mary Augusta, daughter of Mr. W.L. Jacobs; Second prize gold buttons, to little Fanny May Marine, daughter of Mr. Archie Marine; Third prize, a gold pin, to little Helen Slocumb, daughter of Capt. A.H. Slocumb, of Fayetteville Little Edmund Pemberton of Fayetteville was voted a great beauty by the judges but there was no prize available for him. The first and second prizes (aprons) for the best looking nurses were awarded respectively to Bettie Graham and Bella Brinkley. (Messenger, 88-3-1892)

 

August 5, 1892
The Carolina Sextette Club, composed of Messrs. Frank Meier, James D. Smith, JW. Fleet, W.F. Betts, H.K. Holden and H.J. Gerken gave a concert at the Oceanic Hotel before a large audience. The bass solo by Mr. Holden was loudly applauded, Messrs. Fleet and Betts were the guitar accompaniments. (Messenger, 8-6-1892)

 

August 12, 1892
The Recreation baseball club and the Atlantics No. 2 crossed bats at Carolina Beach, and quite a crowd was present. The game was umpired by Mr. Eugene Beery and the result was a victory for the Recreation club, the score being 14 to 9. The game was called at 4 p.m. (Messenger, 8-13-1892)

 

September 4, 1892
(advertisement) For Sale – a small farm on the Sound, 1 mile from Carolina Beach, of 38 acres, 20 under cultivation. Two houses on the premises. Good landing at any time. For further information apply to W.H. Turley, 1007 North 4th Street, Wilmington. (Messenger, 9-4-1892)

 

November 26, 1892
Mrs. Nolan, wife of Capt. James Nolan, superintendent at Carolina Beach, was terribly burned and it was feared that her injuries would be fatal. Her clothing caught fire from a burning brush heap in the yard, and before the flames were extinguished her garments were almost entirely consumed. Dr. Burbank, of Wilmington, went down to the beach and rendered such assistance as was possible. (Star, 12-2-1892)

 

November 29, 1892
The office of Capt. James Nolan, the superintendent of Carolina Beach was located at No. 410 North Front Street, Wilmington. (Star, 11-29-1892; 11-30-1892; 12-4-1892; 12-23-1892; Messenger, 11-29-2892; 12-3-1892; 12-23-1892; 12-24-1892)

 

December 1892
Mrs. Nolan, wife of Capt. James Nolan, superintendent at Carolina Beach, died at the residence of Mr. P. Donlan from the effects of injuries she received by burning three or four weeks earlier. The funeral of Mrs. Nolan will take place from Mr. P. Donlan’s residence on North Front Street, Wilmington. (Star, 12-30-1892)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1893 – 1894

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

January 12, 1893 … Fort Fisher
The New Hanover Transit Company had leased the well known “Rocks” and proposed to make it both accessible and a pleasant place to visit for all who indulge in the sport of fishing. The “Rocks” had always been a good fishing spot, but hard to reach, and an uncomfortable and dreary place to remain overnight.

Capt. J.W. Harper and his company planned to build a new wharf and open a small but clean and neat house, where good meals would always be served and comfortable quarters found at night. The new house was to be called “Hotel Fisher,” and was to be opened after May 1st. (Messenger, 1-13-1893)

 

January 21, 1893
Capt. John W. Harper, of the steamer WILMINGTON, reported that at Fort Fisher where the river is two miles wide, ice extended from shore to shore. This was the first time since 1857, according to the oldest inhabitants, that the Cape Fear River had frozen over in that vicinity. VOL 11.

 

February 4, 1893
The New Hanover Transit Company was building their dock at the “Rocks,” preparatory for the summer season. Mr. Wesley Corbett had the contract. (Messenger, 2-4-1893)

 

April 1893
The steamer WILMINGTON ran ashore at “The Rocks.” The tugboat ALEXANDER JONES took her passengers off and carried them on to Southport. The WILMINGTON got off without assistance on the high tide. VOL 11.

 

April 6, 1893
The Seaside Baseball Club, of Carolina Beach, was organized in Wilmington. They immediately began to get in shape for the upcoming season that was to open at the seashore in a few weeks. Capt. John W. Harper, of the steamer WILMINGTON, was unanimously elected president. The Seaside Baseball Club was last year’s Recreation Club under a new name, and it was to be the regular club at the beach this season. (Messenger, 4-7-1893)

 

April 9, 1893 … The Rocks
The New Hanover Transit Company completed their new wharf at The Rocks, and everything was now “safe and sound” for all who visited that resort when they pursued their piscatorial pursuits. It was to be remembered that at this resort “the fish were as hungry as wolves, as is shown by their savage manner in which they attack the shrimps and sand-fiddlers.”

The steamer WILMINGTON, with Capt. “Baseball” Harper in command, left Wilmington daily at 9:30 a.m., returning in the afternoon, stopping at The Rocks both ways, and this gave the anglers about five hours for indulging in their great sport.  About May 1st, the overnight accommodations were to be ready for those who wished to spend a night or two at The Rocks. (Star, 4-9-1893)

 

April 12, 1893
Rather than leasing, The New Hanover Transit Company was to “tote their own skillet,” at the Hotel Oceanic this season. Mrs. W.E. Mayo was to be in charge of that important department which supplied the “river men.” Her well known experience and skill as a caterer was a guarantee that all who stopped at the “Oceanic” would be well pleased both as to quantity and quality of the food. (Star, 4-12-1893)

 

April 12, 1893
It was announced that Mrs. W.E. Mayo was to have charge of the hotel at Carolina Beach this summer. She had ample experience in hotel management and she knew how to serve “the delicacies of the sea.” (Messenger, 4-12-1893)

 

April 16 1893
The Hotel Oceanic, at Carolina Beach, was to be opened to the public on May 15th. The building had been thoroughly repaired and supplied with new furniture, bedding and other equipment. The hotel was to be under the general supervision of Mrs. W.E. Mayo.

A band of music had been engaged, the bath houses had been refitted and new bathing suits purchased for rental purposes. Three trips were to be made to the beach daily by the steamers WILMINGTON and CLARENCE.

“For the pulchritudinous prevaricators of piscaorial proclivities,” the steamer CLARENCE would make daily trips to Hotel Fisher at The Rocks, which was soon to be open under the management of Mr. Oscar Sorrensen.

People are looking forward to the “grand opening’ with a degree of pleasure akin to that of the sand-fiddler as he slips into this hole just as the fisherman thinks he has him in his grasp. (Star, 4-16-1893)

 

April 27, l893
A dredge belonging to R.P, Bowdoin & Son, engaged in dredging a “cut” for the steamers at Carolina Beach pier, 12 miles from Wilmington, was burned to the water’s edge about 1 a.m. The fire caught from a stove pipe. Mr. Harry Bowdoin and four men were asleep in the cabin of the dredge and they barely had time to escape in a small boat which they had kept tied to the dredge. They lost all their personal effects. The dredge had just started on the contract, having worked only two days, and in 10 or 12 more days, the work would have been completed on the cut.

She was insured for $2,000 and was valued at $5,000. She was burned to the water’s edge and sunk in about 5 feet of water. Efforts were made to scuttle her but the fire was so hot the men could not get within 20 feet of her to work. Mr. Bowdoin and his crew returned to Wilmington in his yawl. (Messenger, 4-28-1893)

 

April 29, 1893
Mortgagee’s Sale! Power of sale contained in a certain mortgaged deed executed by W.H. Gerken and wife to Jesse W Lewis, the undersigned, Marsden Bellamy & Son, as attorneys for the said Jess W. Lewis, will on Monday, June 5th, 1893, at 12 noon, at the Court House door for the city of Wilmington, sell, by public auction for cash, the lands conveyed in and by said mortgage, situated at Carolina Beach and described as follows: Beginning at the east end of H.A. Kure’s northern line, a stake in the centre of the New Hanover Transit Company’s railroad track at its end and now located between the Hotel and the Ladies Cottage, and thence to the beginning. (Messenger, 5-19-1893)

 

May 8, 1893
Quite a number of Wilmington anglers were sojourning at The Rocks, including the Hon. Alfred Moore Waddell, and his brother, Mr. Hugh Waddell, Capt. James C. Smith, R.M. Houston, and C.M. Harris. The first two or three days the wind was so unfavorable that but little fishing could be done, but the last day was fun with catching sheepshead, pigfish, and other varieties. (Star, 5-14-1893)

 

May 11, 1893
They were “a bittin” at The Rocks. Capt. Jim Smith caught nineteen sheepshead there. There were several fishermen at The Rocks and had been there for two or three days – but their bags had not been filled yet. Charlie Harris and Bob Houston were among them. (Star, 5-12-1893)

 

May 13, 1893
The Carolina Beach Baseball Club was organized. The manager was J.A. Everett, Jr.: the captain was Fred. Hopkins; the secretary was Chas. S. Grainger, and the players were Kenan, Harper, Makepeace, Gore, Allen, Grainger, Robinson, Beery, Munson, Woodward, Cohen, Stevens and Everett. The club was now open to challenges. (Messenger, 5-14-1893)

 

May 15, 1893
The Hotel Oceanic, at Carolina Beach, opened for the entertainment of the public. The building had been thoroughly repaired, and supplied with new furniture, bedding and other necessary equipment. The hotel was under the general supervision of Mrs. W.E. Mayo.

A band of music had been engaged, the bath houses had been refitted and new bathing suits provided. Three trips to the Beach daily was to be made by the steamers WILMINGTON and CLARENCE. The steamer CLARENCE was also to make daily trips to the Hotel Fisher at “The Rocks,” which was soon to open under the management of Mr. Oscar Sorensen. At this fisherman’s paradise a person could spend five hours and return in the afternoon, or one could spend one or more nights with host Sorensen and have time to haul out trout, sheepshead and flounders. (Star, 4-21-1893)

 

May 26, 1893.
Wilmingtonians who have stopped with Mr. Sorrensen, the manager of the Hotel Fisher, at The Rocks, speak in high praise of the “good cheer” he provides for his guests. (Star, 5-26-1893)

 

May 30, 1893
Beginning today, the steamer WILMINGTON was to carry a special mail pouch daily to Carolina Beach and return. This had proved to be a great convenience to the people of both Wilmington and Carolina Beach. Mail for Carolina Beach had to be deposited in Wilmington no later than 8:30 a.m. to insure its prompt delivery. (Star, 5-30-1893)

 

May 31, 1893
The families of Mr. Luhr Vollers and Mr. G. W. Linder had moved from Wilmington to Carolina Beach for the season. (Star, 5-31-1893)

 

June 1, 1893
W.S. Walker, Plumber, of No. 5 South 2nd Street, Wilmington, was now engaged in overhauling and repairing the plumbing at Carolina Beach. The plumbing in most of the cottages needed attention. (Messenger, 6-1-1893)

 

June 4, 1893
The Recreation Base Ball Club, Ed. W. Moore, manager, has accepted a challenge from the Carolina Beach team, manager John. A Everitt, Jr. for a game on June 9th at 4 o’clock, at Carolina Beach. This will open the baseball season at the Beach. (Star, 6-4-1893)

 

June 5, 1893
The trestle at Harper’s Pier took fire from a spark, but it was seen by Mr. Fred Kidder, from the opposite side of the river, who crossed over in his boat and extinguished it without any difficulty. The damage was so slight that it caused no interruption to the passage of the trains. (Star, 6-6-1893.

 

June 6, 1893
An application of J.L. Winner to be appointed surveyor for Federal Point Township, was tabled by the County Commissioners. (Star, 6-6-1893)

 

June 9, l893
Haywood’s Raleigh Band had been engaged for the season at Carolina Beach. They had an excellent orchestra and dance music, and was one of the most attractive features of the resort. They made their first appearance on June 2nd for a family excursion. (Star, 6-9-1893; 6-1-1893)

 

June 8, 1893
The first game of base ball was played at Carolina Beach. They had been practicing every afternoon for some time. The composition of the clubs was as follows: — Carolina Beach Club – Bennett, Stevens, Makepeace, Beery , Gore, Sawyer, Munson, Allen, Grainger. Battery – Bennett, Makepeace and Stevens. Manager, J.A. Everett, Jr. — Recreation Club – Smith, Garrell, Andrews, Moore, Wright, Schutte, Burkheimer, Bray, Tolar. Battery – Smith and Garrell. Manager, Ed. Moore.

Mr. L. Bennett, of Charlotte, who was catcher for the Carolina Beach team, arrived on a train on June 8th. Mr Oscar B. Watson, of Laurinburg, also arrived to play with the Recreation team. Besides the game of ball, there was music and dancing, and Mrs. Mayo of the Hotel Oceanic was prepared to furnish meals to all. (Star, 6-8-1893; 6-9-1893)

 

June 9, 1893
Four boats were run to the pier at Carolina Beach and each one carried a large number of passengers. It was the largest crowd that had visited the beach this season. Hawthorne’s Band discoursed some fine music and a number participated in the dancing. The supper served by Mrs. Mayo at the hotel was very fine and was complimented highly. The baseball game was better than anticipated between the Carolina Beach team and the Recreation team. The Recreation team won by a score of 14 to 4. (Star, 6-10-1893)

 

June 9, 1893
Six men from Greensboro, N.C. arrived in Wilmington by train and went down to “The Rocks” for a day’s sport with rod and real at the now famous fishing resort. (Star, 6-9-1893)

 

June 9, 1893
The first game of baseball was held at Carolina Beach between the Carolina Beach club and the Recreation club at 4 p.m. The Beach club was managed by J..A. Everett, Jr. and the players included Bennett, Stevens, Makepeace, Beery, Gore, Sawyer, Munson, Allen and Grainger. The battery consisted of Bennett, Makepeace and Stevens. The Recreation club was managed by Ed Moore, and the team consisted of Smith, Garrell, Andrews, Moore, Wright, Sheets, Burkheimer, Bray, and Tolar. The battery was Smith and Garrell.  The Carolina club won the game by a score of 14 to 4. Bob Davis was the umpire. Their next game was to be held at Hilton. (Messenger, 6-10-1893)

 

June 14, 1893
The First Baptist Church Sunday School of Wilmington held their excursion to Carolina Beach on the steamer WILMINGTON. They were joined by the Sunday School of the Baptist Church of Fayetteville. One of the special features of the day at the beach was a game of baseball between the two church Sunday Schools. The Wilmington team included W.H. Green, Jr., Thos. C. Orrell, Berry Wilson, Bennie Jackson, J.H. Cowen, R.C. King, E.P. Schullen, Bellamy Harriss, and George James. (Star, 6-14-1893)

 

June 20, 1893
St. Thomas’ Catholic Church held their annual excursion to Carolina Beach. There was a variety of games and other amusements, and a band of music added to the enjoyment of the occasion. The ladies of the church served an excellent dinner in the Pavilion. Transportation was provided aboard the steamer WILMINGTON, which left the Wilmington wharf at 9:30 a.m., 2:30 and 5 p.m. (Star, 6-21-1893)

 

June 22, 1893
Mr. Wade H. Harris, editor of the Charlotte News, who was a frequent visitor to Wilmington, wrote this about Carolina Beach:
“Two elegant steamers ply up and down the river, touching at Carolina Beach, Fort Fisher, and Southport. Carolina Beach is fifteen miles below Wilmington.

The boat lands at a long pier, from which a train carries the visitor swiftly across a narrow strip of country to the beach, where there is a hotel and a mile of handsome cottages, all lined out along the water, so that only a walkway separates them from the ocean.

This is said to be the prettiest beach south of Asbury Park, N.J. At Fort Fisher there is a hotel and a number of cottages.” (Star, 6-22-1893)

 

June 23, 1893
A big crowd went out to Hilton Park to see the tilt between the Recreation Club and Carolina Beach baseball clubs. The grandstand was literally packed with people, and the crowd was enthusiastic from beginning to finish. The Recreation boys “weren’t in it.” They got snowed under to the tune of 19 to 5. The battery for the Recreation club was Smith and Garrell, while Pearsall and Bennett did the grand act for the Beach club. (Messenger, 6-24-1893; 6-23-1893)

 

June 25, 1893
Dr. J.A. Hodges, the physician for Carolina Beach, was located there every night and was staying at the Hotel Oceanic. (Star, 6-25-1893)

 

June 25, 1893
Ex-Mayor John J. Fowler, of Wilmington, had purchased a cottage at Carolina Beach. (Star, 6-25-1893)

 

June 29, 1893
The Wilmington Brass Band, under the leadership of Samuel Miller, composed of gentlemen residing in the southern part of the city, gave a moonlight excursion to Carolina Beach. The band had 14 members and this was to be their first public appearance. The excursion was for the benefit of the band. The steamboat would leave Wilmington at 6 p.m. and return at 12 midnight. The activities at the beach included turtle-egg hunting, dancing, and music by the band. (Star, 6-25-1893)

 

July 4, 1893
About 1,100 people went down to Carolina Beach to celebrate the Fourth of July holiday. Among the amusements was a surf boat race one mile at sea, between the ADDIE, Capt. Tom Morse, and the ORIENTAL, Capt. James Burruss. The ORIENTAL won the prize which was $10 in gold.

In the afternoon the Beach Club tackled the Myrtle Grove baseball club in a game and got the best of them in a score of 13 to 9. There was music and dancing all day, and the crowd was loath to leave when the last boat left to bring them back to the city. (Messenger, 7-6-1893)

 

July 4, 1893
A prize of ten dollars was offered to the winners of the rowing race at Carolina Beach on the Fourth of July. Two crews from Southport arrived and the crews were composed of the following: James Weeks, Newton St. George, Thomas St. George, Ben Newton, Tom Sellers, Crawford Watts, J.A. Burriss, Sam Newton. The manager of the crews was T.M. Morse. (Star, 6-30-1893)

 

July 4, 1893
About 1,200 visitors arrived at Carolina Beach to celebrate the Fourth of July. Among the crowd of people were 100 excursionists from Pollocksville, N.C. The graceful steamer WILMINGTON made many trips to bring visitors to the beach. Excellent music was provided by Haywood’s Raleigh Band. The morning was passed in dancing and surf bathing, and strolling along the white sands of the beach. About 1:30 p.m. Mrs. Mayo served a nicely prepared dinner of sea delicacies which everybody enjoyed. At 3 p.m. a surf race was held. The course was from a point opposite the northern end of Cottage Row, down about three-fourths of a mile around a buoy to a finish opposite the hotel. Only two boats were entered, both from Southport. Around the same time as the boat race, there was a baseball game, both teams were members of the Carolina Beach Base Ball Club. There was a display of fireworks after supper.

Later the waltz was danced until 9 p.m. when the last boat was to depart. Those fortunate to be on the upper deck on the steamer’s return trip enjoyed some fine singing by a number of young men of the Pinafore Glee Club. (Star, 7-6-1893)

 

July 13, 1893
The summer population of Carolina Beach now numbers three hundred at night. Many of these attend to business during the day in Wilmington, but they are always happy to hear the steamer WILMINGTON at 5 p.m. for the trip down river. (Star, 7-13-1893)

 

July 14, 1893
Carolina Beach was thronged with visitors from Wilmington, the steamer WILMINGTON making three trips to accommodate the crowds “seeking relief” at the seaside from the torrid temperature that prevailed in town. The ladies were out in great force. (Star, 7-15-1893)

 

July 16, 1893
The well known evangelist, Rev. J.W. Lee, conducted religious services at Carolina Beach at 11 a.m. The singing was in charge of Mr. Arthur L. Butt. (Star, 7-15-1893)

 

July 21, 1893
The Carolina Beach Base Ball Club, Mr. John A. Everett, Jr., manager, went to Fayetteville to cross bats with the crack team of that city. They chartered a train and it would carry passengers from the Wilmington area for one dollar each for a round trip. (Messenger, 7-13-1893)

 

July 22, 1893
Papers of incorporation were filed in Superior Court for the Carolina Beach Pleasure Club. The corporators were Messrs. Hans A. Kure, E.H. Freeman, J.J; Dray, W.H. Gerken, F. Richter and F.B. Rice. The capital stock was $5,000 and the limit of corporation was 30 years. The general purpose and business of the company was social. (Messenger, 7-23-1893)

 

July 23, 1893
The Rev. J.W. Lee preached at Carolina Beach. The morning service was held in the pavilion and the evening service was held in the hotel dining room. (Messenger, 7-22-1893)

 

July 25, 1893
The Hanover Lodge No. 145, Odd Fellows, celebrated their first anniversary by giving an excursion to Carolina Beach. Refreshments were served at the pavilion and on the boats. (Messenger, 7-25-1893)

 

August 3, 1893
Jacob S. Horne and D. W. Trask began their term of office as magistrates or justices of the peace for the Federal Point Township. (Star, 7-30-1893)

 

August 3, 1893.
An election was held at Carolina Beach for “city officers” with the following result, viz: Mayor – John J. Fowler; Aldermen – H. I. McDuffie, R.H. Grant, M.J. Cobett, H.C. McQueen, W.A. Robeson, J.W. Murchison; Chief of Police – C.A. Patrick; City Attorney – N.A. Sinclair; City Physician – W.A. Hodges; Clark of Market – A,D. Brown; Health Officers – J.W. Cotton and C.G. Southerland; Clerk of Court – D. McEachern; Standard Keeper – J.A. Springer; City Surveyor – W.A Willson; Treasurer – E.H. Sneed; Janitor – Walter Bergen; Supt. Water Works – Bonner Southerland; Supt. Street Carts, D. O’Connor; Captain Police – J.C. Stevenson; Sergeant Police – Fred Hashagen; Policemen – G.W. Linder, Isaac Bates, H.L. Vollers, A.J. Kure, E.P. Bailey, W.L. Smith, C.W. Yates, W.P. Price; Detectives – Chas. Grainger and Bob Collins. (Star, 8-4-1893)

 

August 13, 1893
The hotel this season has been under the control of the company, and under the excellent management of Mrs. Mayo, and there has been not a murmur of complaint. The house is well kept in all departments, the table at all times and under all circumstances has been well supplied with choice, well-served viands, and Mrs Mayo had proved herself equal to every occasion. (Star, 8-13-1893)

 

August 16, 1893
Today was the most perfect day of the season at Carolina Beach. The ocean front for nearly a mile was dotted with bathers, nearly 300 being in the surf at one time. (Star, 8-17-1893)

 

August 28, 1893
A number of residents of Carolina Beach published a resolution in the WILMINGTON MESSENGER newspaper about the gallant and efficient Hans A. Kure. It read in part as follows:

“Before the storm had burst in all its fury, Mr. Hans A. Kure visited the beach, and, going from cottage to cottage, tendered to the inhabitants the hospitality of his residence situated a short distance from the beach. In the midst of impending danger, while the billows were lashing the beach and encircling many of the cottages, Mr. Kure, with the assistance of a number of white fishermen, by Herculean effort, rescued the valuables from the threatened cottages and transported them to a point of safety. His ministration to the needs and comfort of many who sought shelter at his residence elicited the highest praise. To him is justly due and cordially tendered the heartfelt gratitude of all. (Messenger, 9-3-1893)

 

August 28, 1893
During the hurricane there was a high tide at Carolina Beach. It broke over the beach into the sound and washed up the boardwalk in front of the cottages. Some of the fences were blown down, but no other damage was done. Capt. Harper brought his steamer WILMINGTON to the beach to be in readiness to take the people off. They found everything quiet and no one alarmed. Residents in the cottages situated for a mile along the beach preferred to stay in their cottages. Many of the beach visitors wanted the opportunity to see the ocean in all its grandeur, with the wild waves lashing the beach, throwing the surf high in the air. The river was remarkably smooth at the pier, on account of the land-locked situation of the wharf, and no rough water was experienced until later when it returned to Wilmington. (Star, 8-29-1893)

 

September 11, 1893
The last group of the summer residents moved up to Wilmington from Carolina Beach. The lower deck of the steamer WILMINGTON was well filled with a miscellaneous assortment of furniture and baggage. Even a cat, nicely boxed, was included in the variety. (Star, 9-12-1893)

 

October 13, 1893
During the terrible hurricane very minor damage was done to the buildings, bath houses or residences on Carolina Beach, with the exception of fences, which were generally blown down or washed away. A few of the residences had their doors forced open and some panes of glass were blown in. The only damage of consequence was to the railroad track which had been badly washed at several points between the beach and the river. The pier leading out into the river was, however, all gone, except the pilings; the entire superstructure with ties and rails, having been washed away.

The storm raged with great fury at “The Rocks.” Six small cottages were demolished and swept away, the wharf being destroyed, and much damage was done to the fishing boats and nets. Mr. Hans A. Kure lost seines, nets, boats, and other articles belonging to his fishery. (Star, 10-15-1893)

 

October 14, 1893
During the recent terrible storm, fears were entertained for the safety of two men in charge of the Government Wharf at Corncake Inlet. When last seen they were on the wharf and the waves were washing over it. They were surrounded on all sides by water. The men are the watchman, Mr. George W. Hewett, and Nelson McCoy, the colored cook. (Messenger, 10-14-1893)

 

October 15, 1893
Hans A. Kure was advertising that he had lost the following: LOST, during the storm Friday, at “The Rocks,” two large seines, sixteen gill nets forty meshes deep, eight boats and a number of gears belonging to my fishery. Also one “pike” net. (Star, 10-15-1893)

 

1894
Thee Bill Reaves files contained no news articles for Federal Point, Carolina Beach or Kure Beach for the year 1894.

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1895

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

March 26, 1895
There was to be no reopening of Carolina Beach to the public, “and the sad sea waves” will be the only disturbers of the “quiet that now reigns all around” that once popular resort. (Star, 3-26-1895)

 

May 18, 1895
Carolina Beach was to be opened again. For nearly two years it had been in the hands of Junius Davis, Esq., receiver of the Bank of New Hanover, who bid on the property at the foreclosure sale. Capt. S.W. Skinner purchased Carolina Beach at private sale from Receiver Davis.

The purchase included the entire property, including the river pier, the railway, the locomotive, the cars, the hotel and cottages of the company, the pavilions, the bar-room, the bath houses, the lands on the beach front, the rights and franchises and all property belonging to the Carolina Beach Company and lately owned by the suspended Bank of New Hanover.

The sale was outright but the terms were private. Capt. Skinner announced that the beach was to be opened this season. He was to get busy repairing and renovating in preparation for crowds of visitors again. (Messenger, 5-19-1895)

 

May 31, 1895
A wharf was to be erected at the “Rocks” in place of the old one which was carried away in a recent storm. (Star, 5-31-1895)

 

May 31, 1895
It was announced that a new wharf was to be erected at the “Rocks” in place of the old one that was carried away. The wharf was needed by the steamer WILMINGTON to land fishing parties and to facilitate the government work on that part of the river. (Star, 5-31-1895)

 

June 1, 1895
The cottagers at Carolina Beach are busy getting their cottages in order and a number of whom will move down next week. Major O’Connor rented a cottage recently to Dr. Lee, of Missouri, and he will soon occupy it with his family. The hotel and bath houses were being put in readiness. (Messenger, 6-1-1895)

 

June 2, 1895
(advertisement) Mr. and Mrs. Hans A. Kure were now to be found at their “Big Cottage on the Beach”, with a first-class boarding house at Carolina Beach. Meals and lunch could be had at all hours. Rooms were for rent, furnished or unfurnished, by day, week or season. Mr. Kure was to have charge of the Carolina Beach Club, about two squares from the Cottage. (Star, 6-2-1895)

 

June 3, 1895
The steamer WILMINGTON commenced her regular trips to Carolina Beach. The cottagers were busy getting their cottages in order and a number of them were ready to move down. Major O’Connor rented a cottage to Dr. Lee, of Missouri, who was to occupy it with his family. The railroad track and the cars had been put in order for the season, and the hotel and bath houses were being put in readiness. (Messenger, 6-1-1895)

 

June 4, 1895
Capt. John L. Boatwright had leased the Hotel Oceanic, at Carolina Beach, and was to open it for the season soon. He was to have an experienced manager at the hotel. The tables will be supplied with “the delicacies of the sea’ and the best that Wilmington markets afforded. (Messenger, 6-4-1895)

 

June 13, 1895
The Sunday school of the Chapel of the Good Shepherd, on 6th and Queen Streets, held a picnic at Carolina Beach. About 200 attended. (Messenger, 6-15-1895)

 

June 14, 1895
A grand excursion was given to Carolina Beacon, Southport and out to sea on the steamer WILMINGTON under the auspices of the Knights of Pythias Drum Corps. The fare was 50 cents for adults and 25 cents for children, and refreshments were served at city prices. There was music for dancing. The proceeds from the excursion were to be used for the uniform fund of the Drum Corps. The committee of arrangements consisted of Messr. E.C. Warren, F.P. Turrentine, H.G. Springer, W.P. Platt and James H. Cowen. (Messenger, 6-13-1895)

 

June 14, 1895
The families of Mr. H.L. Cook and Mr. Walter Watson, of Fayetteville, were planning to spend the season at Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 6-14-1895)

 

June 18, 1895
Capt. S.W. Skinner, who recently purchased the Carolina Beach resort, organized a joint stock company which was named THE CAROLINA BEACH COMPANY. The following officers were appointed: S.W. Skinner, President; D. O’Connor, Vice President; J.C Stevenson, Secretary and Treasurer; Louis H. Skinner, General Manager; J.C. Stevenson, S.W. Skinner, D. O’Connor, L.H. Skinner and H.C. McQueen, Directors.

The company had arranged for the steamers WILMINGTON and ITALIAN to make regular trips to the Beach. (Messenger, 6-25-1895)

 

June 18, 1895
Mr. Fred Bolles took charge of the bath houses at Carolina Beach and was to keep them open for the remainder of the summer. (Star, 6-18-1895)

 

June 19, 1895
The Cedar Hill Dairy of 160l Market Street was advertising and promising the morning’s milk delivered to parties at Carolina Beach at Wilmington prices, namely 14 quarts or 27 pints for $1.00.  (Messenger, 6-19-1895)

 

June 19, l895
The hotel and cottages at Carolina Beach were filling up rapidly, and there were now eleven excursions booked and more expected. Capt. S.W. Skinner, the proprietor of the beach, had bought the steamer ITALIAN and he was to begin a daily schedule with this boat on or about June 20th. The steamer WILMINGTON was to continue her regular schedule, thus giving Carolina Beach three boats daily each way. (Star, 6-19-1895)

 

June 20, 1895
About 350 persons went to Carolina Beach on the excursion of the Bladen Street M.E. Church on the steamer WILMINGTON. The Sunday School of Grace M.E. Church held their excursion on the next day. (Messenger, 6-21-1895)

 

June 24, 1895
The Charlotte NEWS reported that there was a general exodus for Carolina Beach, which seemed to be the favorite point this season with Charlotte folks. Mr. J.C. Burroughs and family, and Dr. M.A. Bland and daughter left on June 26th. Mrs. W.R. Taliaferro and children and Mrs. T.S. Clakson were preparing to leave for the beach soon. (Messenger, 6-26-1895)

 

July 4, 1895
A large number of people visited Carolina Beach and spent a quiet, pleasant day. There was music for dancing all day, which was taken advantage of by a large number. Several fishing parties went out in the afternoon. the surf bathers were on hand in large numbers. Mrs. Mayo and Mrs. Kure had all they could do serving guests with sea delicacies. The last boat to Wilmington returned at 9:30 p.m. and the ride on the river was delightful. (Star, 7-6-1895)

 

July 4, 1895
The Carolina Beach Company planned to have a game of baseball played on their diamond on the Fourth of July by the younger set. The teams were the “Athletics, “Capt. C.P. Lockey, Jr. and the “Little Giants,” Capt. R. Sellers.

The players on the “Athletics” team were: Farrow, catch; Zellers, pitch; Fales, first base; Mann, second base; Grant, third base; Parker, short stop; Lockey, left field; Pitman, centre field; Ramsey, right field.

The players on the “Little Giants” team were: Ellis, catch; Litjen, pitch; Barlow, first base; Kure, second base; Smith, third base; Motte, short stop; Sellars, left field; Capps, centre field; Batson, right field. (Star, 7-2-1895)

 

August 2, 1895
St. Paul’s Lutheran Sunday School held their excursion to Carolina Beach. (Messenger, 7-31-1895)

 

November 21, 1895
Mr. James Nolan, of Wilmington, died in Baltimore, Md. He was 63 years of age and had resided in Wilmington since his boyhood. He was for several years superintendent of the Carolina Beach Railway, and he was its builder. The funeral was held at St. Thomas’ Catholic Church, of which he was a member. The internment was in Oakdale Cemetery, Wilmington. (Messenger, 11-22-1895)

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

News Articles – 1896

Federal Point, Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Fort Fisher
– from the Wilmington Star, Wilmington News, Wilmington Post, Wilmington Dispatch, Wilmington Messenger

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994

 

March 3, 1896
The appropriation for a public road in Federal and Masonboro Townships was reconsidered, and on motion $500 was appropriated for the road known as the “New Federal Point and Masonboro Road.” W.D. Rhodes was appointed to supervise work on the new road. (Dispatch, 3-3-1896)

 

March 29, 1896
Carolina Beach was not to be open as a public resort during the present year. Whether or not any of those who own cottages will spend the summer there has not yet transpired, but it hardly seemed likely that they will, as there will be no railroad communication between the pier and the beach, and it is a long drive from Wilmington over the county road.

Capt. S.W. Skinner is now sole owner of all that part of Carolina Beach heretofore used as a public resort, including the railroad and pier. It was hoped by many that the popular seaside retreat will be reopened next year. (Star, 3-29-1896)

 

May, 1896
About 50 feet of sand at the upper end of the breakwater dam closing New Inlet had washed out. The break was being repaired by filling in with bags of sand. VOL II

 

May 5, 1896 …. Federal Point
New Hanover County Commissioner Montford, who had been appointed to examine the work done on the new public road called the “New Federal Point Road”, reported that the work had been done well under the supervision of Mr. D.S. Rhodes. Seven miles of the road had been beautifully graded and only about a mile remains to be completed. (Messenger, 5-5-1896)

 

May 14, 1896
Capt. S.W. Skinner gave notice at the office of Messrs. Cronly & Morris, auctioneers, 120 Princess Street, that he will sell the property and effects, real and personal of the New Hanover Transit Company, including the railroad, cars, engine, wharf, hotel, buildings, lands, etc. subject to a mortgage to Junius Davis, receiver of the Bank of New Hanover. (Messenger, 5-14-1896)

 

May 14, 1896
The property and franchise of the New Hanover Transit Company, including Carolina Beach, the railroad, cars, engine, pier, hotel, etc. During the auction, the property was knocked down to Major D. O’Connor, who purchased it for himself, Capt. John W. Harper, and other associates at a bid of $3,600. A company is to be organized and the resort will remain open as heretofore. (Messenger, 5-15-1896)

 

May 17, 1896
(advertisement) For Rent – At Carolina Beach, a cottage, known as Kure’s Cottage, and also the Store with Bar and Fixtures, Ten Pin Alley, Billiard Room attached and base Ball Grand Stand. (Messenger, 5-19-1896)

 

May 24, 1896
LETTER TO THE EDITOR OF THE MORNING STAR:
It is now assured that Carolina Beach will be operated this year, and it is very gratifying to know that it will be a permanent enterprise. All financial arrangements are made and everything looks bright for this popular resort.

It would have been a great loss to Wilmington had this place been abandoned. The trip there is one of the best and cheapest rides I know of. Just think. You can ride 26 miles on a nice boat, 6 miles by rail, and use a bath house, all for 25 cents. (Star, 5-24-1896)

 

May 28, 1896
The Hibernian Benevolent Society had its 31st annual family excursion to Carolina Beach on the steamer WILMINGTON. The boat made three trips. A large crowd went down on each trip. On arriving at the Beach the Committee of Arrangements, Dr. T.B. Carroll (chairman), Thomas Torpy, Jr., Willie P. Torpy, Willie J. Furlong, Timothy Donlan, James Madden, Wm. Sheehan, Jr., F.P. Donlan, Frank Eagen, John Furlong, and Martin O”Brien, president of the society, secured the use of the hotel, where they, assisted by the ladies, served a regular old fashioned Hibernian dinner and other refreshments, which were highly enjoyed.

On the spacious veranda of the hotel the Foster String Band offered sweet music for the dance, which was continued until the whistle blew at 11 p.m. for the return to Wilmington by the light of the moon.

During their stay on the beach some were fishing, some bathing, some spinning yarns, some dancing, some promenading the beach, and everybody having a good time generally. Of course, nothing was expected on a Hibernian family excursion but a good time, and this, possibly, was the most enjoyable they have ever had.
A special feature of this occasion was the kindness of Capt. Harper in opening the hotel, bath house, dining rooms, dancing hall, etc. to the free use and full enjoyment of the excursionists. (Star, 5-29-1896)

 

June 4, 1896
The Sunday School children of the First Baptist Church, Wilmington, had their annual excursion and picnic at Carolina Beach. The steamer WILMINGTON made two trips – at 9:30 a.m. and 3 p.m. The musical programme was in charge of Miss Henrietta Shepard with mandolin, as leader, assisted by Miss Nora Foster, violin; Mr. W.J. Taylor, violin; Miss Louise Corbett, violin; Miss Mary Shepard, guitar; Miss Bessie Burt, guitar; and Mr. Robert D. Wescott, guitar. The performances by this string band were excellent.

Capt. John W. Harper opened the hotel for the use of the excursionists where they passed the day happily with the children playing blind-fold, Chase the Duck, and other amusing plays. The Rev. Will B. Oliver shared the fun with the children.

At dinner time, the baskets were opened and the refreshments spread upon the tables in the spacious dining room of the hotel. Mr. G.E. Leftwich, the Sunday School Superintendent, with his corps of teachers dished out lemonade to everybody free of charge. After dinner the children resumed their playing, while the old people looked on with joy.

The day was so inclement and the old ocean so boisterous until there could be but little bathing or outdoor sports. At 5:30 p.m. the train left for home. The boat reached Wilmington at 7 p.m. and discharged the passengers amid the applause of all on board for Capt. Harper and Carolina Beach. (Star, 6-5-1896)

 

June 8, 1896
The Kure Restaurant, known as the “Club House” at Carolina Beach was now under the proprietorship of W.D. Rhodes. The patronage of the public was respectfully solicited. (Dispatch, 6-7-1896)

 

June 11, 1896
Professor Cammeiro’s Italian Band was to furnish the music on the steamer WILMINGTON and at Carolina Beach every Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. (Star, 6-11-1896)

 

June 16, 1896
The opening ball at the Hotel Oceanic, at Carolina Beach was held and it attracted a large number of people to that delightful resort. The steamer WILMINGTON made two trips down last evening. Mr. R.A. Jenkins, the clever proprietor of the hotel, served a very special supper. Later in the evening there was music and dancing, surf-bathing and beach promenading, and the time was spent most enjoyably by all who went down. . . The last boat left the beach at 11 p.m. (Messenger, 6-17-1896)

 

June 22, 1896
Mr. McSween, engineer on the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, caught a large turtle near the hotel and presented it to the guests of the Hotel Oceanic. The turtle weighed about 400 pounds and measured 5 feet by 3 1/2 feet. It was to be served on Friday at 5 p.m. (Messenger, 6-24-1896)

 

June 23, 1896
The John L. Boatwright Company has opened a grocery store at Kure’s old stand on Carolina Beach. This company will inaugurate a delivery system on the beach which will prove of vast convenience to the cottagers. (Dispatch, 6-23-1896)

 

June 24, 1896
The John L. Boatwright Company, of Wilmington, advertised that they had opened a Grocery Store at Kure’s old stand at Carolina Beach. They were to have a full line of choice groceries there, and they promised to furnish the residents at city prices. They promised to call at each cottage every morning and make prompt delivery of every order they receive. They could also furnish ice and bread. (Messenger, 6-24-1896)

 

July 4, 1896
The Wilmington baseball team took on the Southport Team on the Fourth of July at Carolina Beach. It was a fine game. (Messenger, 6-26-1896.; 6-24-1896)

 

 

July 19, 1896
Rev. F.S. Stickney, rector of the Monumental Episcopal Church of Richmond, Va., held services at the Hotel Oceanic at 11 a.m. today. He was sending a few days with his family at Carolina Beach. (Star, 7-18-1896.

 

Source:
Bill Reaves files: Federal Point/Carolina Beach/Kure Beach/Fort Fisher 1725-1994